We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”
Review of Maison DuBois

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maison DuBois
Ranked #62 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Toronto
Level Contributor
111 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Was in NOLA for 4 nights in December and wanted a place close to both Bourbon and Frenchman St. but also closer to the local culture than a chain hotel but with some elegance and a pool. Maison Dubois exceeded on all counts. The building itself is an experience with its high ceilings and antique carpentry. The pool and backyard is a quiet oasis. The location is perfect for walking anywhere and Tom and Gary were charming, fun and interesting. I can't imagine what happened with another reviewer to create any friction with Tom because he seemed to be nothing but charming and accommodating in every way. Morning coffee on the front porch was one of the highlights of the trip!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank torontoeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    14
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
39
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

My wife and I really enjoy Maison DuBois Bed and Breakfast. From the moment we arrived Tom helped us with out bags, showed us a large room with a private sitting room and balcony overlooking the pool and palm trees. Everything was very clean and the house is full or beautiful antiques.
The B&B location was perfect. Very safe neighborhood walkable to everything in the french quarter as well as Frenchmen street (the music was great at the clubs here). We got great recommendations on places to visit as well as eat from both Tom & Gary that we would not have found without a local recommendation.
Our experience was far better than I could have ever expected. We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Orleans room and love it. Large room, balcony, large sitting area. http://maisondu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank milwaukeegeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We rented out the entire property for a bachelorette weekend for our friend. There were about 10 of us, in our 30s, 25% of us were pregnant so it wasn't like it was "Girls Gone Wild" or anything, it was a fairly subdued girls' getaway. We loved the property and the rooms and were enjoying the pool on the first day when Gary, the owner, came outside and accused us of breaking the plaster fleur de lis pool decoration. He went on to accuse us of hanging on it. We all stared at him like he was crazy because we had no idea what he was talking about since none of us had been hanging on it and we certainly hadn't broken it. Then he stormed out and said we'd have to pay for it when we settled our final bill.

Throughout the rest of the weekend, Gary made us all extremely uncomfortable by cornering anyone he could and harassing them about how they would have to pay for the fleur de lis. We all calmly told him over and over we hadn't broken it, we weren't paying for it, and he could take the issue up with the maid of honor who was coordinating the weekend, yet he persisted. Then upon check out, when we went to take photos of the fleur de lis, lest he try to charge our credit card for it, he confronted us again and said he was going to seek legal action against us if we didn't pay for it. We again calmly explained to him that we had not damaged it and that we would not be paying for it. Then as we were getting our luggage to leave, Gary confronted us AGAIN and said that he couldn't believe that we were making Tom pay for the fleur de lis out of his paycheck because we had allegedly damaged it. So let me get this straight, he's going to pursue legal action against us AND take the money out of Tom's paycheck? Doesn't seem ethical does it?

Gary's behavior towards us was disrespectful and unprofessional and his constant harassment made for a very uncomfortable weekend for people who had paid a lot of money to rent out EVERY ROOM in his B&B. Do yourself a favor and don't stay here, because Gary might find something else that is damaged and try and pin it on you and the next thing you know, you're going to have his "legal team" coming after you for allegedly breaking a $30 pool decoration instead of coming away with warm vacation memories. AVOID THIS PROPERTY!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank longhornkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western,MD
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2011

Loved this B and B. Went to New Orleans with my 21 year old and 8 year old daughter. Stayed in Dauphine Suite, Had a very comfortable Q bed and 2 twins. All areas were nicely furnished, bathroom had thick plush towels, pool area was a small piece of paradise. We enjoyed the hot tub nightly. Tom was very helpful in guiding us where we wanted to go! Loved it and would stay there again. Great location.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tony20fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2011

No words can describe the hospitality we have received over the years from this exceptional B&B! We are always welcomed like family (the kind you're glad to see!) The comfortable rooms are magazine perfect in decor and immaculately maintained. No need is left unattended here. It's in a great location, just a few yards from the French Quarter, yet far enough from the "maddening crowd". Plenty of privacy. The pool is welcomed respite from the tropical New Orleans heat...and the jacuzzi is a cozy meeting spot for relaxing after dinner. We love this place so much, we held our wedding here almost two years ago. Our hosts worked tirelessly to make it a perfect memory. These guys are long time/lifetime residents of the city and know all the greatest spots...get the inside scoop from locals! Come for a visit and you'll make it your New Oleans home as well!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Victoria_Rodon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2010

We just got back from our holiday in New Orleans. We stayed at the Maison, what lovely guys that run this place, very clean and homey.The pool was an added bonus after a hot day out. Breakfast is more than enough to kick your day of adventure off.Beautiful quaint house.This house is one block from the action of burbon street(a small block), but still far enough away to be a quiet and peacfull location.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dipster3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

My wife was on a short business trip to New Orleans and I decided to fly down at the end of it for a quick weekend there. We settled on Maison DuBois based on its reviews here and could not have been happier. We stayed in the Esplanade Suite which was a beautiful room with a balcony overlooking the pool area. The pool is small, but very private and is an ESSENTIAL amenity for escaping the heat and humidity of July. Tom was a great host and his property is picturesque. The location is great - a little bit of a stroll from the heart of the Quarter, but that distance is actually a nice benefit to escape the mad tourist zone!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ecd211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lamothe House Hotel
Lamothe House Hotel
#27 of 162 in New Orleans
983 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
#36 of 138 in New Orleans
231 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Jean Lafitte House
Jean Lafitte House
#71 of 138 in New Orleans
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Melrose Mansion
Melrose Mansion
#17 of 138 in New Orleans
292 reviews
Rathbone Mansions
#49 of 138 in New Orleans
356 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
R&B Bed and Breakfast
R&B Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 138 in New Orleans
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison DuBois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison DuBois

Property: Maison DuBois
Address: 1419 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70116-1924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location! Location! Location! Nowhere is this more important than the French Quarter where the sights, sounds and adventures are unlimited. Maison DuBois will beckon and entice you with an ambiance unmistakably New Orleans. First time visitors are struck by the lush tropical foliage of hibiscus, banana trees, jasmine and queen palms that line the courtyard while the fountain splashes playfully into the pool's waters. Each guestroom is uniquely decorated to enhance their comfort and appeal. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maison Dubois Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing