We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Place to Stay In Nola!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kerlerec House

The Kerlerec House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Kerlerec House
Save
You added The Kerlerec House to your Saves list
Ranked #65 of 140 New Orleans B&B and Inns
1 review
“Great Place to Stay In Nola!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The Kerlerec House is a great place to stay for a large group! . I booked it for a bachelor party and with 18 other guys there was more than enough room for everyone. The grounds were great as there is plenty of common space for everyone to hang out. It is a very easy walk to either Burbon or Frenchman streets which was very convenient.

Scott and Trinna could not have been nicer and made the whole booking/checking in process easy. If I ever make a return trip to NOLA I will be trying to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    18
    2
    2
    8
See reviews for
14
14
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This place was terrible. It was filthy and in need of major repairs. We had coackroachs and mice as guests. The furniture was old and dirty. We had major rain on the evening before I left. The rain was coming through the ceiling and the walls and carpets were soaked. So just imagine the mold behind the walls. This is the worst place I ever stayed.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dbgirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Thinking of staying at the Kerlerec House? Look no further. This place is truly amazing...so much so that I don't even really know where to begin.

Okay, here goes. This past May (May 14-18) my now wife and I got married down in New Orleans. Seeing as how the city has something huge going on each and every weekend in May, the hotels were undeniably pricey. We were looking for an alternative to the typical wedding blocks, one that would allow us, our entire wedding party and their plus ones (20 people) and a few other select guests to all stay together. My wife and I are from Denver so we couldn't really put in the time on the ground researching locations, but we happened to stumble upon the Kerlerec House.

Upon arriving in New Orleans for the wedding week/weekend we were a bit apprehensive seeing as how we had never actually laid eyes on this property...all we knew is that all of us friends would be together. To be honest, I thought this place would be nice, historic, and simply FUNCTIONAL. Boy were we wrong!! The Kerlerec House is nothing short of AMAZING!!! First off, the pictures DO NOT do this place justice. We ended up having 28 people stay in this house (or actually, these 3 houses) and every single person said it was amazing and incredibly comfortable. Each room was quaint, clean, and well stocked with everything from towels, irons, bathroom products, stereos, and more.
The Kerlerec is actually comprised of 3 separate "houses" adjoined by a magnificent courtyard. The kitchen in the main house is large enough for almost our entire party to congregate and enjoy meals with each other. The entire house has splendid character, wonderful architecture, and tons of class.
Next came the courtyard, including the gigantic hot tub! The courtyard can be described as "cute", "spacious", "hidden", "lush", "peaceful", "serene", and quite possibly "PERFECT"! We actually held our wedding rehearsal dinner (Thank you goes out to Avery's Po-Boys for an amazing crawfish boil) in the courtyard and had over 35 guests join us. The hot tub was great, worked very well, and is very easy to control.

Want a few more awesome details? The owner of the property (Thank you again Scott) had 16 sets of keys for our group. The main wooden door to the property locks automatically every time it is closed so one could actually be locked inside or outside of the property. Needless to say, there was never a single moment where we felt unsafe or potentially intruded upon.
Also, you simply cannot beat the location. Nestled snugly onto Kerlerec St. we were mere blocks from Frenchman Street...one of our favorite places in New Orleans (I think we went there 3 or 4 times throughout our stay). The house is also one block on the other side of Rue Esplanade from the French Quarter, at Dauphine Street. The Kerlerec House puts you right in the middle of everything without it feeling really touristy or hectic.

In the end, yes the wedding was phenomenal (please be on the lookout for the rest of our reviews from this weekend...we have NOTHING but good things to say for every single element of our wedding experience) but the Kerlerec House was perhaps the most pleasant surprise and the one place I will always want to return to if the event calls for it. I would very much recommend this place to anyone who asks.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

I stayed at the Kerlerec house with a large group of 20ish people; we rented out the entire complex for just under a week. It was the perfect place for our large group and we really enjoyed all the amenities the place had to offer. The hot tub was perfect on the cooler days, and relaxing on the many patios with a drink was always a good time. The location of the place is terrific; the Port of Call restaurant was right around the corner and a hit with our group. There is a convenience store right across the street from Port of Call as well. The place was a short walk to Bourbon street and an even shorter walk to Frenchman, where we spent most of our nights listening to great live music and enjoying good food. The number of beds and bathrooms was great and there were many areas in the house large enough for our big group to congregate. Scott was a great host to us as well, and I'd definitely return to the Kerlerec house for my next visit!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cgemulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Texas, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Good facility for a large group. Great furnishings, Comfortable beds and kitchen is stocked with utensils so cooking is easy but great restaurants are close. Easy safe walk to Frenchman street live music. .Neighborhood as well as other tenants quiet. One maintenance issue dealt with quickly and efficiently by managers with no inconvenience to us.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I had my bachelor party here over a four day period and I have to say that it was everything we could have asked for. Having 16 people and try to stay at a brand hotel would have been tough. Everyone had a comfortable place to sleep. And we had plenty of room to all gather and laugh and have a good time.
As far as the location. I couldn't have gotten better. You are so close to all of the nightlife and restaurants. Just a short walk from bourbon and Frenchman streets as well as the quarter.
I truly appreciated Scott the owner. He was real and understood what we were there for and asked that we just take care of the house as we would our own.
Thanks for everything. It was a great long weekend enjoyed by all.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Casey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

To put it simply the place it great. Scott , the owner , came to meet us and talked to the group about the place; it's history, location, etc. . He gave us great tips on what to do and where to go in the Quarter. Is it a palace? No, BUT it is a very , very, very comfortable "home away from home." Kerlerec House is in walking distance from everything fun in NOLA, not to mention local markets , neighborhood hangouts, and local nightlife.

If you are looking for comfort, "put the feet up," relaxing place after a long period of time in the Quarter this is where to stay.

J.J

Room Tip: No Pool- No Fitness center. Who Cares? You are walking most of the time anyway. Besides Kerlerec Hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbj691970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Treme
French Quarter Suites Hotel
French Quarter Suites Hotel
#92 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 352 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 406 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Royal Street Inn and R Bar
Royal Street Inn and R Bar
#46 of 140 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Melrose Mansion
Melrose Mansion
#27 of 140 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 204 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
R&B Bed and Breakfast
R&B Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 140 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Madame Isabelle's House In New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kerlerec House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kerlerec House

Property: The Kerlerec House
Address: 928 Kerlerec St, New Orleans, LA 70116-1929
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleeps 1 to 32, Bachelor & Bachelorette Parties, Family Reunions, Etc. The Kerlerec House is conveniently located one short block from the French Quarter and only one block from world famous Bourbon Street. It is located at the center of all New Orleans has to offer, the local scene on Frenchman Street, as well as all the amazing tourist attractions. You will be staying just a short walk to some of the most famous restaurants in the world. Experience New Orleans day or night as a local would in one of the oldest neighborhoods in the city. Enjoy three wonderfully lush courtyards and other sitting areas or relax in our Jacuzzi hot tub. Other Activities: Audobon; Aquarium, Isectarium, Zoo & Park. Carriage rides, Tours; Historic homes, Cemetary, Ghost, Vampire, Haunted history, Swamp, Plantation. Excellent: for Bachelors, Large Groups, 16 separate sleeping spaces. Sleeps 1 to 26 Max. of 32 guests, for Ultimate Privacy rent the entire property. You and your group will have the entire property to yourselves. Including; Hot Tub, Courtyards, all other spaces. Great for large groups, Bachelor Party & Ette wanting privacy & luxury. Furnished with beautiful Antiques & Original Historic Architectural details, stained glass, beamed ceilings plus a 42' Plasma flat screen TV in the Main House & a 32' Plasma flat Screen TV in the Mardi Gras apt. DVD,VCR & Stereos and all the conveniences of home & Hot Tub.. The Kerlerec House is available nightly with a 3 night minimum. A 4 night min, for special events. The Kerlerec House is located one short block from the French Quarter and one block from world famous Bourbon Street. It is located at the center of all New Orleans has to offer, the local scene on Frenchman Street, as well as all the amazing tourist attractions. You will be staying just a short walk to some of the most famous restaurants in the world. Experience New Orleans day or night as a local would in one of the oldest neighborhoods in the city. Or enjoy 1 of our 3 Lush Court Yards. You can rent our entire Property for only $1,500.00 to $1,900.00 (depending on season & special events) For the utmost in privacy and comfort. History of property.: Experience all of wonderful New Orleans while staying in one of the oldest Creole Cottages in the city. This home was built circa. 1808 and has some of the finest examples of architecture and details fashionable in the late 1700’s and early 1800’s. You will be staying one short block from the French Quarter and one block from Bourbon Street. Our cottage is luxuriously furnished and elegantly decorated, having antiques from the mid to late 1800’s. THE HISTORY OF THIS AMAZING HOME This elegantly decorated Creole Cottage built, “of columbage and bricked between post” circa. 1808, is one of the rarest examples of early Creole cottage architecture remaining to date. This home is in the first subdivision of New Orleans named Faubourg Marigny. The plantation was subdivided in March 16 1806. This home retains almost all of its original architectural features including; its rare Ram’s horn hinges and original latches on the French glass doors. More history of property.: There are also very outstanding long latches which were used to open and close the doors. The ceilings are original and are “dressed and beaded” which are rare to find intact to day. The mantels are the most distinguishing interior elements in Creole domestic architecture. Two of the mantels are box mantels in the style dating from the late 1700’s to 1810 with columns supporting a frieze having strong horizontal moldings. The floors are beautiful large plank and the original moldings are intact. This property was sold to one of the first women of color to purchase property in the United States. Madame Magdalene Baure’ purchased three lots which now form the sites of 1426 and 1434 Burgundy and of 928, 930 and 934 Kerlerec. This property now has 4 other cottages, two of which were believed to be very early barge board cottages from the early 1800’s most likely moved here at a later date. Rental polices: Deposit & Cancellation Policy; Prices are subject to Change Until the Deposit is received. 50% Deposit required upon booking, Bookings are only confirmed when the deposit is received and approved by our Credit Card Prioress or a Pay-paw is deposited. Rates Vary with Out Notice prior to receiving the Deposit. Balance required 15 days prior to arrival. Balance required 90 days prior to arrival during 'Special Events' Cancellation 30 days prior to arrival, & 90 day for Special Events. * 30 Days notice required for 50% refund of deposit (minus 4% fee). * Less than 30 days notice, no refund. * 90 days notice required for Refund during 'Special Events' and Holidays. * Force Majeure Event. * 4% processing fee retained for all cancellations. Cancellation refunds may take up to 30 days to process. “Special event” dates include, but are not limited to: New Year, Sugar Bowl, Super Bowl, Final Four, Mardi Gras, French Quarter Fest, Easter, St. Patrick’s Day, Jazz Fest (last weekend of April and first weekend of May), July 4th (Essence Festival), Labor Day, Sou ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Kerlerec House Hotel New Orleans
The Kerlerec Hotel
Kerlerec Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing