We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bachelor Party” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kerlerec House

The Kerlerec House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Kerlerec House
Save
You added The Kerlerec House to your Saves list
Ranked #64 of 140 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bachelor Party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

14 of my friends and I rented out the whole Kerlerec Complex for 3 nights last week for my bachelor party and really enjoyed it. It was a very large complex with a great location. The houses were clean and stocked with plenty of clean towels, clean sheets, and all of the essentials (cups, silverware, etc…). The air conditioner in the cottage house broke during our stay, but Scott, the owner of the house, was very responsive and bought a new one and installed it the same day we made him aware of the issue. I would definitely stay there again and would recommend it to friends heading down to New Orleans.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    18
    2
    2
    8
See reviews for
14
14
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Did a bachelor party here and it was perfect. Tons of room, lots of beds and a hot tub. Highly recommend this place. We had one small problem with an AC unit, but the owner came over and fixed it immediately.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anton R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The property was an awesome place to stay. Great location, great ownership. Would stay again. The place beats staying in a hotel and it is in safe walking distance from the French quarter.. If you plan on using the courtyard don't forget your mosquito spray.
The place is a nice cozy and quitE place to stay. With the kitchen, meals can be prepared in the well equipped kitchen. Although seldom used, the units feature a TV. Also, easy wireless access for those who need to stay connected

Room Tip: Don't forget the mosquito spray if you plan on enjoying the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

After reading Kerlerec House reviews on TripAdvisor, I thought it would be perfect for my quasi-bachelorette party, and I was right. 15 friends/family members rented the entire compound last weekend, and we had a blast. It's within easy walking distance of just about everything in the French Quarter and was just quirky enough to add to an unforgettable trip to New Orleans. I wouldn't try to fit many more than 15 people unless you're still in the "I'll sleep anywhere on anything" (futons, air mattresses, etc.) stage of your life, but there were no complaints about sleeping arrangements from my group. We also loved having the big central kitchen in the main house where we could all cram in for drinks, meals and planning each day's adventures. Much better (and actually cheaper) than renting X hotel rooms and meeting in the lobby. You obviously won't be getting a 5 star hotel in a 100+ year old house, but if you're heading to New Orleans expecting new/fancy/shiny anything, you've chosen the wrong city. However, if you're heading to New Orleans with a large group that is just looking to have a good time and enjoy the sights/sounds of the French Quarter, Kerlerec House is perfect.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I was with the group with Cinful65, who is my daughter, and I am the one who needed the mobility scooter to go to Jazzfest and so much that is in walking distance of Kerlerec House. Scott worked with me on details of the shipment of the scooter and seeing that it was brought over to Kerlec House and also on insuring that it was picked up and taped and ready for shipment back to the vendor. He was a pleasure to deal with. He assured me that everything on his end would be taken care of just like I asked him to do and it was! You were more kind and helpful than the scooter vendor. Although I must say the scooter worked wonderfully for my needs.

I along with my Aunt and a cousin stayed in the French Quarter Suite and we just loved it. You get all the amenities you would get at a hotel but not the atmosphere you have while staying here at Kerlerec House. We could imagine living back in that era especially after taking a customized Bloody Mary's Ghost Tour and a 3 hour bus tour that were both so informative of the history of New Orleans. That made staying at Kerelec House especially nice because you were living in that historic old house in a residential neighborhood where you felt secure and not a cold impersonal hotel room. Kerlerec House is especially great for large groups because if you're skillful enough you can give everyone their own privacy and you have the kitchen, dining area, hot tubs and courtyards for gathering and sharing your day's adventures. How great is that!!! Even if you're not part of a large gouup I think Kerlerec House would be a great place to stay for all of the reasons just mentioned. Definitely would stay here again!!! And Scott, though I've said it to you on the phone I would like to thank you one more time for all your help in the arrangements for my getting and returning the mobility scooter. It made my first visit to New Orleans one I will never forget!!!

Room Tip: French Quarter Suite was excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbarasne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, OH
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My group of 20 family and friends enjoyed the entire Kerlerec House for the first week of Jazzfest 2013. What a wonderful way to enjoy New Orleans. The charm of each room was fantastic. Upon arrival everyone had to take a look around at each room. All are unique. The main kitchen and dining area was a perfect gathering spot and the stained glass and rustic antique décor was fabulous. All our guests felt like they were getting a true taste of New Orleans and not just some generic hotel.
The location was terrific being right next the French Quarter and Frenchman Street. The bus line within 2 blocks took us right to Jazzfest in minutes.
I cannot say enough about the Owner and his staff - we had several issues with some of our guests mobility and needed to make special arrangements for a mobility scooter. Scott, Thank you so much for assisting in this endeavor. You were very patient with us and our special needs. Even when things didn't go as planned you were full of helpful suggestions and assistance. I was so appreciated.
We spent several evenings after Jazzfest soaking up the bubbles of the hot tub and hearing everyones adventures on Bourbon Street. The nearby corner store made a little fortune while we were there selling us everything from alcohol to snacks and lunch items. All was within our reach at the Kerlerec House. Everyone had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: The French quarter Suite is lovely and has a large King Size bed. The Garden Cottage is private and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cinful65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Such an incredible, cozy, and quaint place to stay as we celebrated John's superbowl birthday! Fabulous location being within close proximity to the various activites during the superbowl weekend. The house was very clean,with an old traditional, but yet classic flair.The overall experience was exceptional ...starting from reservation, arrival to departure working with Wendy, manager of house. She was very helpful and informative which made our stay very comfortable and memorable! Will definitely stay again on next visit to New Orleans.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PDB0823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#24 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,381 reviews
Treme
French Quarter Suites Hotel
French Quarter Suites Hotel
#79 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#9 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,691 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 5,856 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
R&B Bed and Breakfast
R&B Bed and Breakfast
#8 of 140 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kerlerec House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kerlerec House

Property: The Kerlerec House
Address: 928 Kerlerec Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleeps 1 to 32, Bachelor & Bachelorette Parties, Family Reunions, Etc. The Kerlerec House is conveniently located one short block from the French Quarter and only one block from world famous Bourbon Street. It is located at the center of all New Orleans has to offer, the local scene on Frenchman Street, as well as all the amazing tourist attractions. You will be staying just a short walk to some of the most famous restaurants in the world. Experience New Orleans day or night as a local would in one of the oldest neighborhoods in the city. Enjoy three wonderfully lush courtyards and other sitting areas or relax in our Jacuzzi hot tub. Other Activities: Audobon; Aquarium, Isectarium, Zoo & Park. Carriage rides, Tours; Historic homes, Cemetary, Ghost, Vampire, Haunted history, Swamp, Plantation. Excellent: for Bachelors, Large Groups, 16 separate sleeping spaces. Sleeps 1 to 26 Max. of 32 guests, for Ultimate Privacy rent the entire property. You and your group will have the entire property to yourselves. Including; Hot Tub, Courtyards, all other spaces. Great for large groups, Bachelor Party & Ette wanting privacy & luxury. Furnished with beautiful Antiques & Original Historic Architectural details, stained glass, beamed ceilings plus a 42' Plasma flat screen TV in the Main House & a 32' Plasma flat Screen TV in the Mardi Gras apt. DVD,VCR & Stereos and all the conveniences of home & Hot Tub.. The Kerlerec House is available nightly with a 3 night minimum. A 4 night min, for special events. The Kerlerec House is located one short block from the French Quarter and one block from world famous Bourbon Street. It is located at the center of all New Orleans has to offer, the local scene on Frenchman Street, as well as all the amazing tourist attractions. You will be staying just a short walk to some of the most famous restaurants in the world. Experience New Orleans day or night as a local would in one of the oldest neighborhoods in the city. Or enjoy 1 of our 3 Lush Court Yards. You can rent our entire Property for only $1,500.00 to $1,900.00 (depending on season & special events) For the utmost in privacy and comfort. History of property.: Experience all of wonderful New Orleans while staying in one of the oldest Creole Cottages in the city. This home was built circa. 1808 and has some of the finest examples of architecture and details fashionable in the late 1700’s and early 1800’s. You will be staying one short block from the French Quarter and one block from Bourbon Street. Our cottage is luxuriously furnished and elegantly decorated, having antiques from the mid to late 1800’s. THE HISTORY OF THIS AMAZING HOME This elegantly decorated Creole Cottage built, “of columbage and bricked between post” circa. 1808, is one of the rarest examples of early Creole cottage architecture remaining to date. This home is in the first subdivision of New Orleans named Faubourg Marigny. The plantation was subdivided in March 16 1806. This home retains almost all of its original architectural features including; its rare Ram’s horn hinges and original latches on the French glass doors. More history of property.: There are also very outstanding long latches which were used to open and close the doors. The ceilings are original and are “dressed and beaded” which are rare to find intact to day. The mantels are the most distinguishing interior elements in Creole domestic architecture. Two of the mantels are box mantels in the style dating from the late 1700’s to 1810 with columns supporting a frieze having strong horizontal moldings. The floors are beautiful large plank and the original moldings are intact. This property was sold to one of the first women of color to purchase property in the United States. Madame Magdalene Baure’ purchased three lots which now form the sites of 1426 and 1434 Burgundy and of 928, 930 and 934 Kerlerec. This property now has 4 other cottages, two of which were believed to be very early barge board cottages from the early 1800’s most likely moved here at a later date. Rental polices: Deposit & Cancellation Policy; Prices are subject to Change Until the Deposit is received. 50% Deposit required upon booking, Bookings are only confirmed when the deposit is received and approved by our Credit Card Prioress or a Pay-paw is deposited. Rates Vary with Out Notice prior to receiving the Deposit. Balance required 15 days prior to arrival. Balance required 90 days prior to arrival during 'Special Events' Cancellation 30 days prior to arrival, & 90 day for Special Events. * 30 Days notice required for 50% refund of deposit (minus 4% fee). * Less than 30 days notice, no refund. * 90 days notice required for Refund during 'Special Events' and Holidays. * Force Majeure Event. * 4% processing fee retained for all cancellations. Cancellation refunds may take up to 30 days to process. “Special event” dates include, but are not limited to: New Year, Sugar Bowl, Super Bowl, Final Four, Mardi Gras, French Quarter Fest, Easter, St. Patrick’s Day, Jazz Fest (last weekend of April and first weekend of May), July 4th (Essence Festival), Labor Day, Sou ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Kerlerec House Hotel New Orleans
The Kerlerec Hotel
Kerlerec Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing