We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and a beautiful home!”
Review of The Kerlerec House

The Kerlerec House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Kerlerec House
Ranked #65 of 140 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location and a beautiful home!”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

A group of 10 of us stayed at the fantastic Kerlerec house last year for the Final Four and we couldn't have been happier. The owners were so helpful- they even provided a newspaper for us and suggestions on some activities we could do while in New Orleans. The location was close enough to the French Quarter that we could walk, but it was far enough away so that we weren't right in the middle of the craziness. I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bri4882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    18
    2
    2
    8
See reviews for
15
14
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I organized to New Orleans for a large group of guys for a bachelor party and The Kerlerec House fit the bill better than I could have hoped for. The location was perfect, a short walk from bourbon street or a very cheap can anywhere. Despite being in a large group everything we wanted to do was easy because it was so close. The house had a unique New Orleans feel to it and accommodated 15 guys with ease. I had a remarkable

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TexasGabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Last week my wife and I and her sister and husband spent 5 wonderful days in New Orleans at the Kerlerec House. This restored guest house is located in the historic Marigny neighborhood, home to renovated Creole cottages, cool restaurants, and funky bars. The location of the Kerlerec House is as good as it gets, a short 3 block walk from Frenchmen St. (Bourbon St. for real people!) and 2 blocks from the French Quarter. The French Market is 5 blocks away. Our first 4 nights were in the Kerlerec House's "Mardi Gras" cottage, a beautiful 3 room suite consisting of 2 bedrooms, a large living room/common area, bathroom, and small but well-equipped kitchen. One of the bedrooms has a double sleeping loft, allowing this cottage to sleep 6 comfortably. The secluded back garden area, shaded by well-tended local flora, is comfortable, relaxing, and quiet, and includes a hot tub (which we skipped because of the 90+ degree heat!) and laundry facilities. Our hostess Wendy could not have been more welcoming and attentive to our needs! It's easy to see that this property is professionally run and managed! Our last night was spent at the "overflow" location on Royal St. If this is the only option available to you, don't despair! The rooms here are as nice as at the main location.

When traveling to New Orleans, location is everything. The Kerlerec House's strategic location, plus the comfortable rooms and Wendy's hospitality and managerial expertise put this guest house at the top of my list of places to stay in New Orleans!

And by the way, when you're there, skip the over-priced tourist eateries in the French Quarter and check out Satsuma, Maurepas Foods, Elizabeth's, and Bacchanal in the Marigny and adjacent Bywater neighborhood for wonderful local food at reasonable prices!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Clyde S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Just got back from a 5-day stay, and loved it. 9 guys and we rented the entire complex, so each had his own room and bathroom. Courtyard was perfect for hanging in the day, and proximity to French Quarter and Frenchmens Street is brilliant. Frenchmens Street is the place to be for music for sure.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shanebyron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

we stayed here last weekend with a group of 15 people for my friend's bachelor party and had an absolute blast. the houses were all beautiful. the location was perfect -- right between the french quarter and frenchmen street. plenty of room for everybody. awesome little patio and hot tub out in the back, surrounded by trees. neighborhood was actually very quiet (mainly because the bachelor party didn't spend much time at house during our "louder hours") so if you're looking for a quieter scene between the hustle and bustle of frenchmen and the french quarter, this is absolutely a great spot.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloxi, Mississippi, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

My husband and I, along with our daughter and my Mom, stayed in two overflow rooms for a week while my husband attended a conference. The main house was rented out for part of the time b/c of the Jazz fest, but we LOVED the overflow rooms just the same! They were absolutely beautiful and quite comfortable! The Scotts, Wendy, Trina, and Sharon made us feel right at home!! My daughter just loved them all(that matters to us)!! We loved the area, it was close to everything....just a short walk to the Riverside Trolley car stops and a quick walk to the French Quarter, too! A Coffee shop, cafes, and a market are within walking distance for any amenities you need! Great place, I think we've found the place we'll always stay!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shingle Springs, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Bob and I arrived on Tuesday, April 10 and had the choice of the 3 smaller units to choose from before the rest of our family and friends arrived on Wednesday. We chose the Mardi Gras room so Bob could cook up his morning breakfast in the kitchen for the group and we could have our honeymoon suite in the beautiful bedroom with the king size bed. Pots and pans were not the best but I figured if they were, they might show up missing some day. If you plan to do some real cooking, bring your own pans.

Yes, Wendy was so very accomodating and so nice. We had a mix up with the rentals, with so many people coming in on different days. But they completely went out of their way to fix it to what I thought was correct. I really appreciated the extra effort on their part to help us out. I felt like we were friends and look forward to being there again next year.

The hot tub was state of the art and fit all 8 or so friends. The garden area is private and beautiful.

The walk to French Quarter was easy and we loved being a little off the path in the residential neighborhood.

I would definitely go to the same place again year after year. We love the place and love New Orleans!

Bob and Sonia

Room Tip: Large party, get the big house. Parties who want some privacy yet want to be a part of the group, re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Treme
French Quarter Suites Hotel
French Quarter Suites Hotel
#98 of 164 in New Orleans
376 reviews
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#55 of 164 in New Orleans
2,316 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lamothe House Hotel
Lamothe House Hotel
#26 of 164 in New Orleans
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Melrose Mansion
Melrose Mansion
#16 of 140 in New Orleans
308 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Royal Street Inn and R Bar
Royal Street Inn and R Bar
#47 of 140 in New Orleans
59 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Jean Lafitte House
Jean Lafitte House
#85 of 140 in New Orleans
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kerlerec House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kerlerec House

Property: The Kerlerec House
Address: 928 Kerlerec St, New Orleans, LA 70116-1929
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleeps 1 to 32, Bachelor & Bachelorette Parties, Family Reunions, Etc. The Kerlerec House is conveniently located one short block from the French Quarter and only one block from world famous Bourbon Street. It is located at the center of all New Orleans has to offer, the local scene on Frenchman Street, as well as all the amazing tourist attractions. You will be staying just a short walk to some of the most famous restaurants in the world. Experience New Orleans day or night as a local would in one of the oldest neighborhoods in the city. Enjoy three wonderfully lush courtyards and other sitting areas or relax in our Jacuzzi hot tub. Other Activities: Audobon; Aquarium, Isectarium, Zoo & Park. Carriage rides, Tours; Historic homes, Cemetary, Ghost, Vampire, Haunted history, Swamp, Plantation. Excellent: for Bachelors, Large Groups, 16 separate sleeping spaces. Sleeps 1 to 26 Max. of 32 guests, for Ultimate Privacy rent the entire property. You and your group will have the entire property to yourselves. Including; Hot Tub, Courtyards, all other spaces. Great for large groups, Bachelor Party & Ette wanting privacy & luxury. Furnished with beautiful Antiques & Original Historic Architectural details, stained glass, beamed ceilings plus a 42' Plasma flat screen TV in the Main House & a 32' Plasma flat Screen TV in the Mardi Gras apt. DVD,VCR & Stereos and all the conveniences of home & Hot Tub.. The Kerlerec House is available nightly with a 3 night minimum. A 4 night min, for special events. The Kerlerec House is located one short block from the French Quarter and one block from world famous Bourbon Street. It is located at the center of all New Orleans has to offer, the local scene on Frenchman Street, as well as all the amazing tourist attractions. You will be staying just a short walk to some of the most famous restaurants in the world. Experience New Orleans day or night as a local would in one of the oldest neighborhoods in the city. Or enjoy 1 of our 3 Lush Court Yards. You can rent our entire Property for only $1,500.00 to $1,900.00 (depending on season & special events) For the utmost in privacy and comfort. History of property.: Experience all of wonderful New Orleans while staying in one of the oldest Creole Cottages in the city. This home was built circa. 1808 and has some of the finest examples of architecture and details fashionable in the late 1700’s and early 1800’s. You will be staying one short block from the French Quarter and one block from Bourbon Street. Our cottage is luxuriously furnished and elegantly decorated, having antiques from the mid to late 1800’s. THE HISTORY OF THIS AMAZING HOME This elegantly decorated Creole Cottage built, “of columbage and bricked between post” circa. 1808, is one of the rarest examples of early Creole cottage architecture remaining to date. This home is in the first subdivision of New Orleans named Faubourg Marigny. The plantation was subdivided in March 16 1806. This home retains almost all of its original architectural features including; its rare Ram’s horn hinges and original latches on the French glass doors. More history of property.: There are also very outstanding long latches which were used to open and close the doors. The ceilings are original and are “dressed and beaded” which are rare to find intact to day. The mantels are the most distinguishing interior elements in Creole domestic architecture. Two of the mantels are box mantels in the style dating from the late 1700’s to 1810 with columns supporting a frieze having strong horizontal moldings. The floors are beautiful large plank and the original moldings are intact. This property was sold to one of the first women of color to purchase property in the United States. Madame Magdalene Baure’ purchased three lots which now form the sites of 1426 and 1434 Burgundy and of 928, 930 and 934 Kerlerec. This property now has 4 other cottages, two of which were believed to be very early barge board cottages from the early 1800’s most likely moved here at a later date. Rental polices: Deposit & Cancellation Policy; Prices are subject to Change Until the Deposit is received. 50% Deposit required upon booking, Bookings are only confirmed when the deposit is received and approved by our Credit Card Prioress or a Pay-paw is deposited. Rates Vary with Out Notice prior to receiving the Deposit. Balance required 15 days prior to arrival. Balance required 90 days prior to arrival during 'Special Events' Cancellation 30 days prior to arrival, & 90 day for Special Events. * 30 Days notice required for 50% refund of deposit (minus 4% fee). * Less than 30 days notice, no refund. * 90 days notice required for Refund during 'Special Events' and Holidays. * Force Majeure Event. * 4% processing fee retained for all cancellations. Cancellation refunds may take up to 30 days to process. “Special event” dates include, but are not limited to: New Year, Sugar Bowl, Super Bowl, Final Four, Mardi Gras, French Quarter Fest, Easter, St. Patrick’s Day, Jazz Fest (last weekend of April and first weekend of May), July 4th (Essence Festival), Labor Day, Sou ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Kerlerec House Hotel New Orleans
The Kerlerec Hotel
Kerlerec Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing