We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Deal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Old Historic Creole Inn
Ranked #29 of 140 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
oakland, ca
1 review
“Great Deal”
Reviewed November 4, 2009

The best thing about it, in my opinion, was the price and location. I loved the neighborhood (the Marigny) and the bars and restaurants around it. 15 min to the Quarter, so that was good too. If you just want to be out and about, this is the place. The rooms aren't fancy, but they are nice enough. Very nice lady running it. If you're looking to lay in the lap of luxury and spend time in your room, go elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ftheporkchop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    87
    13
    10
    9
See reviews for
65
119
29
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
memphis tennesssee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2009

We truly enjoyed our stay and the freindly neighborhood. We really liked the relaxed atmosephere with the convienient coffee houses, grocery stores and bars within walking distance of the French Quarter & The French Market. You definately can't beat the price of The Inn and we will definately recommend it to our friends & family.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerrvilletwh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2009

After giving my credit card number and reserving four nights, I was treated like a diva for calling repeatedly to request a reservation confirmation that included dates. I called three times and was repeatedly told that because the guy who answered the phone said I had a reservation, I should just assume it was done.
I emailed several times, and emails were bounced back as undeliverable.
Finally not feeling too good about the situation, I emailed again to cancel; and immediately got a Blackberry-written response "so sorry, we never had a reservation for you!".
My immediate complaint got me one last response - essentially saying that because the owners are in Iraq, fighting for my freedom, confusion happens and I shouldn't be mad.
Unreal. The website says no high-maintenance travelers - apparently wanting a legitimate reservation qualifies.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SacMama347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreoleInn, Owner at Old Historic Creole Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2009
As an Inn we remain professional and courteous to our guests and bend over backwards to assist them with their stay. That is important to us as well as hosting guests who are respectful to others. Our staff was harrassed by this guest and they determined that the guest should not stay with us due to unprofessional and disrespectful behavior. Being disrespectful to our employees and to our troops and country as referenced in this review is inappropriate. We host all types of wonderful diverse people that have many different views to include activists, Europeans, Amercians, Anti-Americans, artists, and all who embrace democracy or not. The one thing guests have in common that stay here is respect for others while staying here and engaging with our staff and wonderful community. We are very sorry this event happened but we stand by our policy of accepting guests that have respect for others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile AL
2 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2009

We just got back last night from a weekend stay (9/25-9/27) at the creole inn. We went to NOLA for the weekend for our friends's 30th birthday. We arrive in NOLA friday afternoon and got to the inn about 130pm and was able to get into our room early not lke a conventional hotel where you have to wait till check in time which is usually 4pm. We got a 2br/1ba room for $134 the whole weekend which made us really happy we would have spent triple that staying at a hotel We got all out stuff into the room and didn't have to leave it in the car which was really nice. The room we got is named "cowboy" it has a queen bed in the front room and a twin/full bunkbed in the 2nd room. The rooms were small but it didn't matter we were only there to sleep and shower. The inn is very quite we saw one of neighbors the first day but then didnt hear or see them after that we heard 2 women in the hallway but thats it so if you want peace and quite this is the place you want to stay at. You really feel like you are at home. If you like alot of pillows you may want to bring your own the pillows aren't very fluffy but when i called to see if we could get more pillows we got them. Chris and his wife are very accommodating they are very nice and welcoming. The free wi-fi was great to have since everyone who went was addictted to facebook and after partying on bourbon st all night we get back to the house around 230ish maybe and get online but the signal is set pretty low so the back bedroom didn't have a great signal so they had to come to front room and use their laptops ot go down stairs but thats ok at least we didnt have to pay $10 a day for internet like we usually do another word of advise though....we were told we could park anywhere but my friend on his birthday got a parking ticket for parking too close to a fire hydrant make sure you bring a tape measure so you are 15 feet away. The little Indian restaurant around the corner is a great place to eat a must to try for anyone We are definitely planning on staying here again

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreoleInn, Owner at Old Historic Creole Inn, responded to this review, November 17, 2009
Dear Guest

We appreciate your kind words and are so happy you enjoyed your stay! We have bought 15 new pillows for the Inn so this won't be a problem anymore :) We love our reviews and will respond to our guest's needs! For all other coming just let us know if there is something we can do for you! We would be happy to make your stay more comfy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2009

We stayed for three days at the Creole Inn and we really loved the welcoming atmosphere. Chris and Jen were very helpful with explaining us everything on the map of New Orleans.
The room was clean and the whole stay excellent - fresh coffee in the morning and internet access in the guesthouse! It is in walking distance (10-15 min) to the French Quarter. We highly recommend the quiete, friendly, clean guesthouse in New Orleans!!!Thanks!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alohanyc19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2009

If you want to feel like the locals feel, you don't want to miss the Creole Inn in the Faubourg Marigny district!!! The owners, Ray and Silas, really know how to make you feel at home, and the inn is located in the most amazing area with delicious food, fun neighborhood bars and clubs all within a few blocks! The Quarter is also within walking distance, but who needs to go there? We absolutely loved it and will recommend it to everyone we know. It's got that down-home feeling, not pretentious, not fancy, but comfortable (great beds) and welcoming. You feel like you're one of the locals when you stay there and all the folks there are extremely helpful. Enjoy! Laissez les bon temps roulez!

Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank getupandgoCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2009

During the weekend of November 7, 2008, I had the privilege to stay at The Creole Inn and Suites. I arrived early on a Friday morning, and was immediately greeted with warmth and hospitality. Diana was so kind and gracious as we visited in her lovely backyard garden while listening to traditional New Orleans jazz from her CD collection. Soon it began to rain, so Diana invited me in her kitchen where we continued our visit. I was most impressed with this gesture because Diana spoke as if she had known me for years, and I had never knew her a day in my life! Later I met her husband Glenn, and he was wonderful too!

The rooms in this bed and breakfast are very cozy and extremely comfortable! A wonderful and restful sleep was received each night, which my body appreciated after walking all day and every day in New Orleans!

I was so impressed by the warm and gracious hospitality of the Creole Inn staff that I have decided to make the Creole Inn my home away from home whenever I am visiting in New Orleans. This is definitely a bed and breakfast I highly recommend to all who read this review. The Creole Inn is also very affordable!

I look forward to many future visits at the Creole Inn and Suites!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jokes107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
The W.G. Creole House 1850
#55 of 140 in New Orleans
9 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
#49 of 140 in New Orleans
232 reviews
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Elysian Fields Inn
Elysian Fields Inn
#5 of 140 in New Orleans
458 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Barracks Guest House
Royal Barracks Guest House
#34 of 140 in New Orleans
168 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
R&B Bed and Breakfast
R&B Bed and Breakfast
#8 of 140 in New Orleans
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Historic Creole Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Historic Creole Inn

Property: Old Historic Creole Inn
Address: 2471 Dauphine St, New Orleans, LA 70117-7848
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Historic Creole Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old Historic Creole Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Historic Creole Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing