We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homey, comfortable, and affordable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Old Historic Creole Inn
Ranked #28 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Homey, comfortable, and affordable”
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Highly recommended. For 50 bux a night, this is, by far, the best room I have ever had. This place is great! Good location. Kim is very friendly. And the bed was super comfortable. Little perks like a full size hair dryer and a ride to the airport make this a place I will definitely return too.
The location is walkable to the french quarter, but even better it's very close to Frenchman street with all the little jazz clubs.
We had previously stayed in the garden district for 4x the price and we liked this inn the best!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    87
    13
    10
    9
See reviews for
65
118
29
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stayed here with My Family for 5 days. The inn keepers Kim and Charlie were great. They were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and comfortable. We felt very much at home. Staying in a neighborhood was much more relaxing than the hustle of a Hotel. Many things within walking distance and felt very safe even walking at night. We will definitely stay there again. Awesome Place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heide K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

The place is perfect distance from the craziness but also close enough to everything. I highly suggest this place to anyone! They have coffee and tea out for the mornings. They also have a really nice back yard and had no problem with any of the noise we produced throughout the night.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jgeetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I met the Milwaukee couple from 2 reviews down, and I agree with their glowing reviews. After Charlie gave me the grand tour of Memories, I settled in for 7 nights, starting January 25.

As I do not like the tall office buildings and busy tourist areas of the CBD, the Marigny neighborhood delivered a more authentic New Orleans experience. This is definitely a residential neighborhood, with a few rehabs taking place throughout the many streets.

The Memories room has recently been painted pea green, and the bed was super comfy. Red sheets!

The washroom was well stocked with plush towels and wide vanity. Though the shower stall was a tad small for my 6'4" height, the hot water was ample.

Blissfully quiet each night! Small 50-channel TV. Widest closet space EVER. Stocked the room fridge with Winn-Dixie breakfast foods.

A very good value.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LodgerFromChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Warm, friendly, helpful hosts Charlie & Kim
Small but clean and comfortable rooms.
Convenient location within walking distance to the French Quarter and the trolley system.
Charming Marigny neighborhood worth exploring for its delightful,colorful homes.
Good restaurants right nearby.
And Creole Inn is the most affordable accommodation in NOLA.
DON'T PASS IT BY.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Frankandmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Historic Creole Inn! We were there for 5 nights and were pleased with our stay. Make sure you read the web-site if you are a fussy traveler. They deliver what they promise: a safe, quiet and hospitable place to stay. What it may lack in amenities, Kim and Charley balance the equation with their friendliness and helpfulness! It was a pleasure to meet them both and we look forward to seeing them again. Kim, we will bring Ring Balogna and Cheese Curds for sure!
The neighborhood is great. Make sure you treat yourself to dinner at Feelings Cafe!
The location is outstanding....an easy walk to Frenchman Street!
Best place for breakfast..Who Dat? Cafe!
There were many cool cafes and bars in the immediate area. Take your time and check em out!
The New Orleans Food Co-op is just blocks away...Great!
Also...just about a mile or so away in Bywater, Bacchanal and Vaughns...don't miss em!
We miss NOLA and the Historic Creole Inn already!

Room Tip: The best mattress we had was in Plantation, the best room we had was Memories. We like to have fresh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarrett L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

When I visit New Orleans I spend little time in the room. Just need quiet, comfort, and the basics. This place was just right. Two rooms with a bath between made it very easy to share with a fellow companion and very affordable. Secure with lots of great places to eat and a store/deli in short walking distance. Plus very close to Frenchmen. And, plenty of coffee each morning. They can even provide a ride back to the airport.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DWK44535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
The W.G. Creole House 1850
#56 of 138 in New Orleans
8 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lookout Inn of New Orleans
Lookout Inn of New Orleans
#20 of 138 in New Orleans
132 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Blue60 Guest House
Blue60 Guest House
#15 of 138 in New Orleans
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
#35 of 138 in New Orleans
231 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Barracks Guest House
Royal Barracks Guest House
#34 of 138 in New Orleans
165 reviews
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Historic Creole Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Historic Creole Inn

Property: Old Historic Creole Inn
Address: 2471 Dauphine St, New Orleans, LA 70117-7848
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Historic Creole Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and HostelWorld so you can book your Old Historic Creole Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Historic Creole Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing