We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place close to where you want to be”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Old Historic Creole Inn
Ranked #31 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2013

What a great find! The price was an initial attraction for the overnight, but we did not expect such a great, clean, homey place, and with Kim and Charlie so helpful for any need you could imagine! These folks have heart and knowledge. Frenchman St with music and food is really "happening" and very nearby...such a better spot than Bourbon St, but that is nearby too. This is not a B&B, just the bed, but you don't want the breakfast part of a B&B in New Orleans...b/c the food for breakfast you can get in NOLA is SO good and not expensive. Two great spots are mere steps away! Do the Cruiser Bike tour if you get the time...too fun. I wasn't sure when I made the reservation but so glad we stayed there. Wished it had been longer than 2 days!

Room Tip: We stayed in Memories and it was sweet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (354)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 354 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2013

My group of 6 had a great time at this Inn. 2 couple used the Cowboy room and two singles used another bedroom. The furnishings are slightly old but still clean.
The distance is a touch far from the French Quarter and other areas of NO but we just took a cab back at the end of the night when we were tired of walking.
I would definitely stay there again but pan better again by carrying a small backpack with a jacket or to hold souvenirs.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

part of me wants to say terrible things about this place so we can keep it a secret and allow us to keep on booking the inn year after year, but kim and charlie are by far two of the best people we've met in a long time and of course i couldn't actually do that after all the hard work they've done to make the place such a warm and welcoming experience.

they've done a fantastic job of turning this place into a home away from home. the rooms are still a bit worn and torn, but that's on the owner and not them. they do a great job at keeping it very clean and we had such a great time we're planning a trip back there for an even longer stay next year.

we stayed in the plantation room which met our needs perfectly. the vanity in the bathroom was gorgeous and the shower was more than enough room to be comfortable for even someone of my boyfriend's stature (5'10 and thin), but i could see how it could cause problems for someone 6 feet or over since even i, at 5'7 had to duck my head to wash my hair under the shower head. didn't bother us, but it might be an issue for some so i thought i'd give it a mention.

the bed was comfortable and smelled like the sheets had just been washed and out of the dryer. the floors were nice and clean too and a really pretty old hard wood.

i'm also really not a person with a lot of tact and i read reviews on trip advisor before i book, so i did awkwardly ask about the cockroach someone mentioned seeing in the room before we went upstair.

kim explained to me that occasionally when it rains for long periods of time one will make it's way up the drain pipes and find it's way into the bathroom but we stayed there for almost a week when it rained twice. JESS APPROVED. NO COCKROACHES DURING OUR WEEKLONG STAY.:)

although... if you hate canadians, you probably won't like this place. at one point there was practically one from every province! we had infested the inn! hehe

the area was incredible. location, location location! kim made some great suggestions for restaurants and bars in the area. it's the perfect place if you want to be near the bywater and french quarter. we walked to both which were about 10-15 minutes away. frenchmen street is even closer and throughout the trip we both kept on remarking on how great it was to stay so close to everything. we also kept on calling it home when we'd walk back to the inn.

i've always liked the places we've stayed in but we've never been comfortable enough in a location to refer to it as such....and repeatedly at that:)

i will say that this place is not for everyone, i'm a talker and although my boyfriend is a little more shy, he's also social. one of my favorite parts of this place was my morning talks with kim over the free coffee when i'd come down in the morning for a cigarette:) we talked (ok i talked) to just about everyone at the inn who stayed there at least once or twice and it was so great sharing our experiences of the city.

it's also possibly haunted, but i won't get into that... it'll give you a reason to talk to the lovely lady who will show you to your room and start up a conversation.

the pictures of our room on the website were relatively accurate but it's starting to show a little wear and tear of an old building... we would love to see a little money put into the place by the owners without too much of a rate hike so we can still afford to stay here...

let me tell you, 59$ a night is a steal...and probably one of the best spots to stay if you want to live like a local. we even got to watch walking dead while eating yummy dumplings at lost love lounge sunday night where it's a weekly event.littlerally a hop skip and a jump away... and really... it's an event. i have never enjoyed walking dead as much as i did at that bar, and i'm an absolute nut over the show.

so in conclusion: very clean rooms, fantastic inn keepers, an amazing location, i'd go as far as call this place a hidden gem...and yes...possibly a ghost in the cowboy room. they don't bill as a haunted inn, but i think they should:) wait til kim tells you some of the stories! we got a first hand account from one of the couples staying in the room who had their own little run in. bonus!!

one thing i want to make clear: READ THE WEBSITE THOROUGHLY BEFORE BOOKING. THE WELCOME PAGE IS THERE FOR A REASON. it's not for everyone, but it's definitely our home away from home when we come to new orleans. see you guys next year! until then, we'll be in touch!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessicat48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Wonderful rooms, nice landlords and a great back yard. Very quiet and close to the french quarter. I recomend this place highly. Good breakfast place is 2 blocks away. Nice sitting room to get to talk with the other guests.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeHarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed here with friends for a few days leading up to Mardi Gras. We booked fairly late, so we were happy to find lodging near the French Quarter. Overall, our experience was quite positive.

As so many other reviews say, Kim and Charlie certainly enhance the experience. They are warm, down-to-earth people who bend over backwards to welcome their guests. They are also reliable guides to the city, despite their living in NOLA less than a year. It sounds like they've made some real improvements since coming aboard, including to the comfortable courtyard in the back.

Rooms are for the most part well-appointed, though a bit inconsistent (from very good to OK, nothing bad). Don't come here expecting total luxury, though. It's very nice, but the building shows its age a bit. Old plumbing and showerheads that trickle water make showers a challenge. There are some lingering water stained ceilings, and I know it's not a full service hotel, but one or two amenities in the bathrooms would be a great touch.

In the minority regarding convenience. So many other reviewers touted the proximity to everything. I need to disagree. We felt we were walking distances to get to everything, and our group is not out of shape by any means. If you have any limited mobility, plan to call ahead for cabs.

Bottom line: fun place to stay if you can go with the flow, can't give adequate kudos to Kim and Charlie - great job

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyTheTraveller61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed at the Historic Creole Inn in January of 2013, the first weekend of Mardi Gras and I absolutely loved it! My family was visiting from Brazil and Ms. Kim and Mr. Charley provided us an unforgettable experience! They were amazing, always helpful and we felt like at home! The Inn is very well kept, clean, beautiful... Simply wonderful! Free Wi-Fi provided, free parking on the street, there is a lock code on the front door which made us feel really safe! It's in a great location, just a couple of blocks away from Washington Sq. Park, Frenchmen St and the French Quarter. I would definitely recommend the Historic Creole Inn to anyone and I cannot wait to be back! Thank you Ms. Kim and Mr. Charley for everything and I hope to see you guys soon!!!

Room Tip: We stayed at the Cowboy room. There are two bedrooms with one queen size bed in each room, a shared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vitor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

we stayed at the inn for four night and it was wonderful. the innkeepers Kim and Charlie made our stay great and were soooo helpful in directing us to everything we wanted to see in new Orleans. the accommodation was cozy and clean. I would recommend to anyone heading from Canada to Louisiana. Thanks again Kim and \charlie!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paltiels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
The W.G. Creole House 1850
#52 of 142 in New Orleans
12 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lookout Inn of New Orleans
Lookout Inn of New Orleans
#20 of 142 in New Orleans
138 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Barracks Guest House
Royal Barracks Guest House
#35 of 142 in New Orleans
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast
Lakeview
Rose Manor Bed and Breakfast
Rose Manor Bed and Breakfast
#18 of 142 in New Orleans
221 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Elysian Fields Inn
Elysian Fields Inn
#5 of 142 in New Orleans
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Historic Creole Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Historic Creole Inn

Address: 2471 Dauphine St, New Orleans, LA 70117-7848
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $76 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Historic Creole Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Old Historic Creole Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Historic Creole Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing