We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will definitely be back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Historic Creole Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Historic Creole Inn
Ranked #31 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lakeland, Florida
1 review
“Will definitely be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

The Creole Inn met our expectations and needs perfectly! Great value for the money. What we saved in lodging we spent enjoying a mix of wonderful places to eat. Just the right distance from Frenchman St and the French Quarter we were able to walk back and forth and enjoy the area both during the day and night. Always able to get a good nights sleep in the quite and relaxing atmosphere. Gayl the Inn Keeper was always gracious and helpful from checking to make sure we weren't lost when we didn't arrive several hours after planned to answering any questions while staying. Just found my favorite place to stay while in NOLA can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michel34373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    82
    12
    10
    9
See reviews for
64
115
29
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

My husband and I love NOLA and wanted to take my sister in law and her husband to experience the amazing city and all it has to offer. We were on a budget and wanted something close to the French Market but at a good price. The Creole Inn was just that and the innkeeper Gayle made our stay even more amazing. If you are looking for a comfortable place, at an affordable price, with genuine Creole hospitality you have come to the right place!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

The Creole Inn is truly a gem! My two best friends and I took our first trip to NOLA in August 2011 and we stayed in the Old Europe room and it was perfect for us. The room was clean, spacious, comfortable and very much what we expected. If you read the website you know that you aren't staying at a 5 star hotel and that was perfectly fine with us. Even so, Gayl, the inn keeper, welcomed us in with a smile and was nothing but helpful and accommodating. We wanted an affordable and convenient place to stay and that’s exactly what you will get with The Creole Inn. It’s close enough to walk to French Quarter and other attractions and if you’re not up for the walk you can catch the bus almost right outside the inn. The bus system was easy and convenient once we figured it out (with the help of Gayl). The three of us are planning another trip to NOLA in less than a month and there is nowhere else we would stay other than the Creole Inn. So if you want to enjoy all NOLA has to offer without spending all your money on lodging then staying at the Creole is the way to go. Unless you expect the red carpet to be rolled out in front of you, I promise you won't be sorry you booked the Creole Inn!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kendra3401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

I travel to New Orleans often, and it is the Creole Inn that I stay upon every trip!

I have lodged at this very cozy establishment since 2008. Because of multiple visits, this place has not only become a home, the staff has also become a family! This is very important when making trips to a city that I love so much.

My room has always been clean without fail. Gayl, the innkeeper makes a great effort to ensure that all guests are comfortable. The beds are wonderful, and the facility if extremely affordable! I love the neighborhood! Very old and beautiful New Orleans architecture – delightful walks to the French Quarter. The owner has been most gracious.

I am thankful and feel so blessed to have discovered the Creole Inn. There were be many more trips to New Orleans, and the Creole Inn is where I will always be!

Room Tip: I usually stay in the Memories Suite. The bed there is to die for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

We enjoyed a 7 night stay in the Historic Creole Inn staying in the Cowboy Suite.

Our rooms were pleasant, with the shared bathroom clean and functional. This inn provided value for money - similar facilities to the motel we stayed in in Memphis with a little more space.

As the week went on we relaxed into treating the suite as home, and we enjoyed toasting our wedding with Gayl and the guests from the neighbouring suite (hello if you read this!!).

The area is great - lots of quirky shops, cafes and bars. New Orleans is an amazing place and we loved our stay in the city!

Notes **Once you check in you are given privacy, so if you want anyone to come in and check or clean your room during your stay you will need to request this. The air conditioning developed a fault during our stay - and the engineer was unable to come out due to the French Quarter Festival affecting the sleep quality rating**

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChesneyBHumperdinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

I've been staying at the Creole Inn now for over 3 years now, and it epitomizes the New Orleans experience. I consider it one of the best hidden gems in New Orleans. It is consistently one of the best Inns in New Orleans for comfort and relaxation. The Inn is well maintained, clean, and comfortable. The Inn is located on a relatively quiet street and is actually a comfortable walking distance from neighborhood restaurants, cafes and coffee shops. Overall this Inn has a nice residential feel (as if you are part of the neighborhood).
The rooms are not big but are comfortable and intimate. The Inn is over hundred years old and is historic, but it adds to the charm of the place. The lobby decor is absolutely beautiful and the patio is a nice place to get away from it all. It was really a wonderful experience and the best was really the outstanding Innkeeper who was pleasant and very helpful.
Another reason that I love the Creole Inn is the value you receive. There is free wireless internet throughout the Inn. The Inn also has a computer with printer free of use if you need to print out anything. There is fridge in every room, and there is free parking out on the street where most hotels charge $30 and above per night. If you are looking for a great place to stay, comfortable and with value, then I cannot recommend any better than the Creole Inn.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

I can't find one good thing to say about this place. The entry way is cramped, dark and depressing...And that's the good news. We thought we knew what we were getting into. Didn't expect any luggage help or anything fancy. The stairs to the room are very steep and claustrophobic. The Memories room, is a dump. Grimy, flaking walls, grimy bathroom mats. Coffin sized shower. Limp, dank bedding. No closet room due to a rollaway bed in closet. No blinds on windows to stop the street light glaring in all night. Or any privacy. Due to a transom above the door that is open this isn't a "couples" friendly place. I'm not sure why they stress they are military. There was nothing "ship shape or squared away" about this place. I don't think anyone in a supervisory capacity has been up those stairs in a good while. The "stairs to the garden area" are steep and rotting, the "alley" is almost blocked by a crumbling fence and watch out for the nails. The back area could have been nice at one time but is overgrown, moldy, weedy. The house view at the back is of crumbling doors and steps. Wait, to be fair there is a nice table and chairs. But watch for the deadly caterpillars. Warned of anaphylactic shock. Not conducive to relaxing. To show how bad it is we stayed one night and walked away from $800.00 that we couldn't really afford.

How many places require a signed waiver before you arrive and after you arrive? Does that tell you something? Be careful.

Room Tip: There is no good room to choose. All are equally grimy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank florida1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
#34 of 138 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
B&W Courtyards
B&W Courtyards
#10 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Blue60 Guest House
Blue60 Guest House
#19 of 138 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Olde Town Inn
Olde Town Inn
#65 of 138 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
The W.G. Creole House 1850
#57 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Barracks Guest House
Royal Barracks Guest House
#35 of 138 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Historic Creole Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Historic Creole Inn

Property: Old Historic Creole Inn
Address: 2471 Dauphine St, New Orleans, LA 70117-7848
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Historic Creole Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Old Historic Creole Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Historic Creole Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing