We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Famous Door New Orleans

Famous Door New Orleans
Book In Advance
More Info
$20.00*
and up
Songe Music Tours
Ranked #29 of 235 Nightlife in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Eagle, Idaho
Level Contributor
441 reviews
170 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Some places in New Orleans have service issues , that's ok it's the big EZ !
But , as a business owner when the help is more interested in getting drunk than helping customers that's an issue .
Stopped in the door yesterday as we love classic rock , the gal working the bar was more worried about doing shots with here bros at the bar than service us a cold beer , Ok relax it's the big EZ,
One beer we hit the road ,
Band was great , help sucked !
Will not be back !
Mike

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    56
    8
    8
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
182 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best Hurricanes in New Orleans....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

The bands are great! The patrons were awesome! The service was cool! Nuh..uh...no "premix" Hurricanes here....all top shelf liquor.....
Definitely need to stop HERE when on Bourbon Street.
I will go back again on my next visit to the Big Easy.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
85 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“My first bar in Nawlins!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

I got to Nawlins and headed to Bourbon St, I walked by the famous door and hear the band, stopped in for a good rock band and a hurricane. The staff were nice, the bar isn't much, could use a little improvement on the looks.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravellingUnic0rN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
305 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“A great bar to listen to music and dance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

My wife and i just went here the past 3 nights and had a fun time! The bands and dj were great and they played good party dance music from all eras and genres. Before about 10 pm the beers are two for one too and very good hurricanes!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank brentsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raceland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ughhgghhh”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

What not to love about $7 beers and watered down drinks or $3 for a bottle of water?
Let’s talk about Nightmoves, the band……. They had 6 members, A broke down Chaka Khan look-a-like singer singing Grease songs (I think). A keyboard player that looks like a statue, the bass player checking text messages back in the corner while playing, an out of tune guitar player that missed every 5th note. The male singer was good and the drummer was good as well.
Let's talk the shot girls....... if you going to have shot girls at least have PRETTY SHOT GIRLS. I don't want a 4'-2" tall pigmy that hasn't washed her hair in a week begging me to do shots every 5 minutes. I also don't like when someone does do a shot the shot girls spit the shot tubes out of their mouth and liquor goes on all the patrons in a 5' radius. Let’s not talk about the shot girls that make patrons get on their knees and slap them in the face when they paying to do shots. If I want a shot I'm going to bar, I can hold the glass myself.
Bathroom was clean, they even had bathroom attendant handing out soap and paper towels selling shots of cologne as well keeping the bathroom clean, that was the one bright spot.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank SaltMeatHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Famous Door New Orleans also viewed

 

Been to Famous Door New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing