We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Medium size cozy theater”

The Mahalia Jackson Theater of the Performing Arts
Ranked #165 of 364 things to do in New Orleans
Attraction details
New Iberia, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Medium size cozy theater”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Every seat is a good seat, bathroom are very well maintained, quick access to refreshments, easy access in and out.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank italiancajun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    17
    10
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Venue”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

This is a beautiful new venue. The facility and the sound and parking are great. It's a very nice place to see a concert or performance.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Nora S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Every seat is a great seat”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I've been here for many occasions. The last time was to see Trombone Shorty. I love the set up of the theater. Every seat offers a great view of the stage, from front row to back balcony.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank skyebreaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
344 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Nice venue, too bad you can't hear anything clearly.”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We had balcony seats and had to leave at intermission because the sound system was so bad or maybe it is the acoustics. This is after driving 3 hours to get to the theater, yes it was THAT bad. Like listening with a slightly deaf uncle....what did they say? Huh? When I called the theater the next day I was told I should have said something then, no one else complained. Too bad, too late. We will never go there again.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank TheMaven2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slidell, Louisiana, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Lion King”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I thought it was a great performance and I felt comfortable with the area. It was easy to get to and the people were very friendly

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Daniele L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mahalia Jackson Theater of the Performing Arts also viewed

 

Been to The Mahalia Jackson Theater of the Performing Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing