We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great music, great staff”
Review of Blue Nile

Blue Nile
Ranked #28 of 237 Nightlife in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great music, great staff”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Wandered up Frenchmen to get out of the tourist hype to a more local scene. Found this spot because of the low-key bluesy music coming from inside. Great band that evening (I prefer slower, laid-back blues to big-band jazz), and the bar tender was awesome. Very friendly and helpful in selecting a beer, and had a good conversation about the kids playing music in the street. A must for a more relaxed evening!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    42
    4
    3
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
291 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great music, slow bar staff”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We paid $10 each to see local jazz trumpeter, Kermit Ruffins and the Barbeque Swingers, last night, He always puts on a great show! Drinks were a little expensive and the two bar staff were not in a rush to serve anyone. If it wasn't for Kermit, it would not have been a good experience.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank cockney007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
532 reviews
179 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
“Our First Visit ... and It Won't Be Out Last!”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We've been to New Orleans a few times now, but first time we made it to Frenchmen Street in the evening. Stopped in to the Blue Nile to hear Kermit Ruffins. $10 cover was reasonable, we thought.

Grabbed a standing spot right near the stage.

He and the band were fabulous! Terrific New Orleans jazz. Trumpet, guitar, keyboard, electric bass, drums.

At one point called all the women up on stage to dance.

Only minor criticism is they could have used a couple more bartenders ... took forever to get a drink.

Stopped in to a couple of other clubs after he finished his first set.

Then swung back in to hear the end of his last set. Including the theme from Treme.

We'll definitely be back.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TO_Trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metairie, Louisiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I was born and raised in New Orleans and took a friend to the Blue Nile Friday night to hear Kermit. We had a good time and Kermitt put on a decent show, however he started an hour late. That is kind of Kermit's thing and I get it, but it's a little annoying. The seating is really bad and the drinks are expensive. The second act of the night was the brass-a-holics and we were both really looking forward to seeing them. However, after watching an hour of sound check we left without hearing them play a single song. With so much great live music in the city its frustrating to stand around and listen to a sound check or wait for a performance. Both Kermit and the Brass-a-holics are great acts but need to get it together a little and be on time.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank 314Pye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Saw the Kermit Ruffins show on a Friday night”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Saw the Kermit Ruffins show on a Friday night. Start time was officially 7pm and the first notes were played around 8pm. I hate that, but it is typical for NOLA. Overall- good acoustics and sound, but little or no seating (if that is important to you).

If you like great local music (traditional New Orleans trumpet with great piano and jazz guitar backing) and don’t mind standing, this show is a great way to start a weekend.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank PairOBears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Nile also viewed

New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Blue Nile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing