We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, romantic atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Amelie

Cafe Amelie
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Amelie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #75 of 1,918 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Cross street: Between Dumaine St. & St. Philip St.
Transit: Cafe Amelie is accessible by the RTA’s redline streetcars that run along the river; the nearest stop is Dumaine Street, then Cafe Amelie is a short 4-block walk from the river.
Description: Please note that the courtyard is seated on a first come, first serve basis. A reservation does not guarantee seating in the courtyard but we will have a table available inside our beautiful, historic carriage house. We normally allow reservation space for only 50% of the dining room to accommodate walk-ins. Additionally, in order to accommodate all of our guests who are waiting to be seated, we are only able to seat your party once everyone has arrived. Nestled in the historic 150-year-old Princess of Monaco Courtyard and Carriage House on Royal Street in the French Quarter, Cafe Amelie is a rare combination of superb Louisiana fare served in a lush, enchanting New Orleans courtyard setting. Cafe Amelie has a full bar offering an array of signature cocktail creations. Cafe Amelie and the accompanying Princess of Monaco Courtyard are also available for private parties, weddings and receptions.
Toronto
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food, romantic atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

Came for dinner on a Friday night with no reservations. We were seated indoors immediately, having walked through a lovely courtyard dining area lit by strings of lights.
The fireball mozzarella was a good start, but what stood out was the freshness, sweetness, and juiciness of the tomatoes in this appetizer. The beet salad must have contained two whole beets, and the goat cheese was the creamiest: do try this salad whether or not you're a fan of beets! I had the seared ahi tuna, which was so thick and juicy that it was almost like steak. It was great. My companion had the shrimp pasta, which was also fantastic. Unfortunately, we didn't have any room for dessert.
I would definitely return.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travelincoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    590
    309
    86
    29
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best dinner in NOLA, hands down”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

This was one of the best dinner experiences I've ever had, in New Orleans or anywhere else. To start with, the atmosphere is really romantic; we were seated in the courtyard out front, where there were umbrellas to keep it cool and lots of string lights and tiki torches, plus some very lush gardens. Our waiter, Adam, was just responsive, attentive, and friendly; he had some fantastic recommendations that we took him up on and were not disappointed. We tried a few drinks, our favorite being The Scalawag, and we were blown away by the mozzarella salad, the seared tuna (the sauce was incredible), and the pork chop (the maque choux does not disappoint). We had an off-the-menu dessert, a sorbet with champagne poured over it, that was light and refreshing. We spent over two and a half hours there and didn't once feel rushed out. Romantic, delicious, and fantastic service. Not to miss!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A MUST try”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

This cafe is nothing short of absolutely amazing. We had Kate as our waitress and she was incredible, very patient and kind. The jumbo crab cake here was the best one I have ever had. I had the beet salad and it was also very good. My boyfriend had a chicken gumbo and it was good as well. I cannot wait to go back. Make sure you make a reservation or go early to get on the waitlist.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank jackie89Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
91 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful outdoor area & carriage house and great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

We wanted to go somewhere for brunch, and have always wondered about the food at this beautiful café. We've passed it many times and admired the beautiful courtyard. We were extremely happy with our experience. This was my husband's birthday weekend, too. The service was good. We wanted to sit outside in the courtyard till we realized it was a bit too humid. We were then seated inside the carriage house, no problem. We got a table for 2 with plush chairs and a great view of the courtyard. The bar area is cool, too. This not a huge restaurant, but is very quaint and romantic. In fact, we've seen several weddings taking place here in the past. We had a pot of hot tea, a mimosa, a breakfast sandwich with the lightest freshest bread, shrimp & grits, which was all wonderful.
We'll definitely be back for the food, the view, and the ambience!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hetherspierce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Moldy Wall”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

The food was okay, but honestly the mold on the wall ruined the whole experience for me. We were seated inside the carriage house, a quaint setting. However, we waited an extremely long time before our server came to introduce herself. She was very polite and accommodating, but the wait was unreasonable. While we sat wondering if we had a server, I had plenty of time to notice the disgusting black mold stains surrounding the air vents above a painting hung on the wall to the right of the bar. I am not nitpicking -- they were in plain sight. Truthfully, we should have walked out because, in my mind, I questioned the overall sanitation of the place as I ate.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank bettyboop1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Amelie also viewed

New Orleans, LA
New Orleans, LA
 
New Orleans, LA
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Cafe Amelie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing