We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too many good things too say.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Auberge NOLA Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2014

I had a great time in New Orleans and it was great to stay in such a good hostel. The place was very clean, beds were comfortable enough, the rooms have lockers if you require them (even though I just left my stuff out and nothing got stolen) and it also has fantastic Air Conditioning in all rooms and the main area in the hostel, which is the best thing when you have been out in the humidity of New Orleans.
All staff were very friendly and helpful regarding directions or queries and are very easy to contact if you need help.
Auberge has a relaxed vibe about it, so its easy to get chatting to other people staying there which only adds to the positive experience.
The hostel is located in a great area, it takes about 25 minutes to walk to the French quarter and a short distance to the Garden district or 2 minutes to the Streetcar which will take you further afield in the city - One of my favourite places is New Orleans City Park.

I highly recommend this hostel for groups of friends or solo travellers.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawrence M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

196 - 202 of 259 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2014

That's a vera good place, friendly staff, clean, secure. I's just 1 block from st. charles streetcar with easy acess to French quarter and Garden distric. Strongly recomend. Laissez lês bons temps roulex...

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

For much of my 3 month US trip I've had most of my accommodation already booked, but for New Orleans I needed to find somewhere sort of at the last minute (although knowing I was heading there and having trouble finding somewhere) and Auberge was able to provide me with a safe, secure, and cheap place for my 3 night stay in NOLA - also eternally grateful that I was able to leave my bags on my fourth day and then kill time in the evening while I wait for my 11:30pm bus to Memphis.

If you're not into walking 20 mins to the French Quarter where pretty much everything is happening (which I did 95% of the time), there is the Streetcar to take on St Charles Ave - though walking I found was somewhat faster if there was no streetcar there. It is also within walking distance to the Garden District if you're into nice, grand houses and architecture.

As Auberge feels more like a home you do meet people more than you would at a simple hostel, which for me made it a good place to be staying at.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Braiden A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

Excellent accommodation, it is just outside of the French quarter, there is a street car that picks you up just down the road and takes you into town. The owner Rob is easy going and happy to help. If you're looking to kill some time I'd suggest doing the VIP bus tour, they take you through the main attractions in the city, well worth the few hours!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
Thank Josh E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Great value for what you pay, friendly staff, secure premises, plus its in a beautiful Victorian era house. The rooms are spacious and offer loots of places to charge your devices. Equipped with AC, so you wont be feeling the New Orleans heat. About one block from the St. Charles Streetcar which will take you to the French Quarter.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank demolitionrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

This hostel is a good option if you're trying to save some money but still want to stay somewhere decent and close to the city center. You can walk to the French Quarter from here (20 min. walk) or take the streetcar, and you're one block away from Saint Charles Avenue, where you can find anything you could need (bars, restaurants, grocery stores, laundry, etc.).

The hostel is pretty small but it looks nice. You get a light breakfast every morning.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SebHoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

The hostel is more of a home from home. It felt like I was staying at a friends' place - personal and very relaxed. Location is brilliant - it is only a short ride away from Bourbon or the Garden District, there are lovely local restaurants nearby and a chemist, if you need them. It is secure - you need pin numbers to get in and have lockers in the rooms if you need them. And best of all you have a great host who made sure that your needs were answered - from booking a taxi to recommending places and generally just having a chat. I would stay here again if I make to NO again.

Room Tip: i stayed in both all female and mixed rooms - it doesn't really matter. The rooms inside the hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
The Quisby
#2 of 39 in New Orleans
216 reviews
French Quarter
IHSP French Quarter House
IHSP French Quarter House
#8 of 39 in New Orleans
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Madame Isabelle's House In New Orleans
Mid-City
Site 61 Hostel
Site 61 Hostel
#9 of 39 in New Orleans
83 reviews
Mid-City
India House Hostel
India House Hostel
#11 of 39 in New Orleans
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge NOLA Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge NOLA Hostel

Address: 1628 Carondelet Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-4454
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 Specialty Lodging in New Orleans
Price Range: $32 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Auberge NOLA Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auberge Nouvelle Orleans or Auberge NOLA is a great new "Boutique Social Accommodation". We are located one block off of St. Charles Avenue at the edge of the Lower Garden District. We are in an amazing location. Within a 4 block radius you have access to over 15 restaurants and bars several of which are 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Auberge NOLA Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing