We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and Vibe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Auberge NOLA Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Great location and Vibe”
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

Excellent accommodation, it is just outside of the French quarter, there is a street car that picks you up just down the road and takes you into town. The owner Rob is easy going and happy to help. If you're looking to kill some time I'd suggest doing the VIP bus tour, they take you through the main attractions in the city, well worth the few hours!

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Josh E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    23
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
7
129
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
196 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Great value for what you pay, friendly staff, secure premises, plus its in a beautiful Victorian era house. The rooms are spacious and offer loots of places to charge your devices. Equipped with AC, so you wont be feeling the New Orleans heat. About one block from the St. Charles Streetcar which will take you to the French Quarter.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank demolitionrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

This hostel is a good option if you're trying to save some money but still want to stay somewhere decent and close to the city center. You can walk to the French Quarter from here (20 min. walk) or take the streetcar, and you're one block away from Saint Charles Avenue, where you can find anything you could need (bars, restaurants, grocery stores, laundry, etc.).

The hostel is pretty small but it looks nice. You get a light breakfast every morning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SebHoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

The hostel is more of a home from home. It felt like I was staying at a friends' place - personal and very relaxed. Location is brilliant - it is only a short ride away from Bourbon or the Garden District, there are lovely local restaurants nearby and a chemist, if you need them. It is secure - you need pin numbers to get in and have lockers in the rooms if you need them. And best of all you have a great host who made sure that your needs were answered - from booking a taxi to recommending places and generally just having a chat. I would stay here again if I make to NO again.

Room Tip: i stayed in both all female and mixed rooms - it doesn't really matter. The rooms inside the hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
138 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

I've been here 6 nights, attending a conference in NOLA. I take my hat off to Rob the owner very hands on, always eager to assist. Beds & bathrooms are clean, free coffee and bread in the morning. Great location just 1 block from streetcar and many eating options around- walking distance, plus a 24hrs walgreens. I also met some really cool people here. Plenty of chilling out options here if you just want to stay in read a book. Awesome for the single female traveller safe place. Everyone gets a key and main door access.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kudzai M. M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We loved this hostel! I highly recommend staying here, it is super clean, comfortable, the building itself is beautiful, and it has a relaxed energy that feels very homey. The owner is very friendly & you can tell he really cares about maintaining a great place. We met some really cool people staying here, it was very easy to find parking, the location is great (it's quiet, just a block off St. Charles, & really easy to get to anywhere you want to go.) My sister & I felt totally safe here, & had an incredible time in this amazing city!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I stayed here for a night and was extremely impressed by how clean the hostel was.Like other reviewers have said, the owner takes great pride in ensuring that the hostel is neat.I stayed in a co-ed dorm and made fast friends with my room mates.The location is great too, as it is just a block or so away from the street car.I felt safe and absolutely enjoyed my stay here.I would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_LuvBug138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
239 reviews
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
7,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
512 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4,219 reviews
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge NOLA Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge NOLA Hostel

Property: Auberge NOLA Hostel
Address: 1628 Carondelet Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-4454
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 Specialty Lodging in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Auberge NOLA Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auberge Nouvelle Orleans or Auberge NOLA is a great new "Boutique Social Accommodation". We are located one block off of St. Charles Avenue at the edge of the Lower Garden District. We are in an amazing location. Within a 4 block radius you have access to over 15 restaurants and bars several of which are 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Auberge NOLA Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing