We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Variety”
Review of Desire Oyster Bar

Desire Oyster Bar
Ranked #61 of 1,945 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Description: The design of this upbeat and casual dining venue tastefully blends traditional with contemporary. Desire features a raw oyster bar where expert shuckers prepare fresh Gulf oysters any way you like them - chargrilled, on the half shell and more. Our Executive Chef is excited for you to try the extensive menu including signature dishes like our Shrimp & Grits, the "Creole Trio" (jambalaya, red beans and rice, and gumbo), po'boys, and the Crawfish and Fried Green Tomato Benedict. Come for oysters, stay for the menu! Open Daily for Breakfast 6:30 a.m.-11:00 a.m., Lunch and Dinner from 11:30 a.m. - 'til. Happy Hour Monday-Friday 3-6pm $1 oysters & more!
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Variety”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We ate here as a group (10 of us) and there was something for everyone on the menu. The oysters were very fresh and everything else was cooked to perfection. Our waitress was very attentive and the pricing was very reasonable for the amount of food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    764
    489
    140
    54
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Bern
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“good food, great staff, great location”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

to begin I must acknowledge all the waite staff for their service,advice,info about the town and just plane nice people to talk to and be around.
the food good and in some cases very good.
location the best on bourbon st
broiled oysters are a knockout.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank peterkut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Steaks!”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This placed looked like a simple diner at first but when we arrived, we were immediatey greeted and seated at by the open windows! This was great because during our meal, they closed down Bourbon Street with a rally cool marching band and lots of activity! We loved the food and the atmosphere!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank burkesh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Oysters, Interesting Menu”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Sat at the part of the bar here where they shuck the oysters, and the guys shucking them were great. The oysters were fantastic. I was waffling between a few things on the menu, and at the recommendation of my server, I went with something a little different - pasta with alligator meatballs. Really, really good. One of the things to like about this restaurant is that it has entrees on the menu that are different that the standard "Cajun" dishes. I appreciate that a lot more than just the standard po'boys and fried fish that you see quite a bit in other places. Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chcgo32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Everyone was Satisfied!”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

While on business travel in Gulfport, MS I was able to make my way to NOLA for dinner with some other business travelers. I'm not sure how we decided to have dinner at Desire Oyster Bar, but we were happy we made the decision once we got our meals. I had the jambalaya, and it was delicious. Others at my table ordered the gumbo and oysters, and they enjoyed each of those meals. Our server was wonderful - fun and friendly - she talked to everyone like we were her family and she wanted to take good care of us. During our meal, a parade came by the restaurant, which really made us feel like we got a real NOLA dining experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MDRoadWarriors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Desire Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Desire Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing