We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B in the French Quarter”
Review of Gentry House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gentry House
Ranked #62 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 7, 2009

The Gentry House is a delightful place to stay, in the French Quarter, but far enough away from Bourbon Street to make for restful nights. We stayed in the St. Ann suite and were greeted by a spacious, colorful suite of rooms, including a full kitchen, with microwave, oven, refrigerator containing coffee, orange juice, milk, cereal and fresh fruit, coffee pot, dishes, etc.; two large bedrooms with comfortable beds, clock radios (listen to WWOZ to hear the New Orleans sound) a sitting room with futon, dining table, cable TV, stocked bookshelves. Every morning Brian brought us fresh hot croissants to enjoy with our coffee. Charlotte and Brian, the owners, are happy to tell you about the happenings around town, you can sit out back in the courtyard enjoying their company, and the company of fellow guests, while sipping on a cold beverage (I'd recommend Abita Amber). I cannot wait to return!

3  Thank PegGrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 91 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2009

There were 6 of us in the #1 unit and we had plenty of space. We could have used an extra bathroom with 4 teeneagers, though! Brian and Charlotte were warm, friendly and helpful. The beds were great, and the croissants were delicious! The neighborhood was a little dicey at night, but it was OK because we were in a large group when we walked home. I would recommed Gentry House to people who want a cozy and historic, but if you are looking for fancy, this is not the place. It is homey, friendly and cheerful, and it was perfect for our family vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sciteach65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2009

My best friends and I had not visited New Orleans before, so we wanted to stay somewhere right in the heart of New Orleans, and that is exactly what we got! Talking to Brian and Charlotte on the phone prior to our arrival was helpful. They gave us a hint on where to park (suggest the parking garage a few blocks down, walking distance) since there is no parking at the Gentry House. Very close to Bourbon Street (just a couple blocks) and everywhere we needed and wanted to go. We did not need our vehicle the entire stay. Area was very safe, we didn't feel unsafe at any point. Croissants being delivered to your room each morning was wonderful and they were delicious. The courtyard was beautiful and very cozy! Brian and Charlotte were wonderful hosts!

We can wait till our next visit! We will definitley being staying here again when we come back to visit!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billthestud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2009

I stayed at the Gentry House over Mardi Gras with three other girlfriends in the St Ann suite. The description says it sleeps four, but we could have easily slept five. There are two daybeds, a futon, and a queen bed.

The stocked fridge was nice, and so was waking up every morning to Brian or Charlotte bringing us delicious filled croissants. We sparred over the chocolate ones! The entire property was rented by friends of ours, and Charlotte & Brian were very accomodating of our potluck party in the beautiful courtyard.

The property is located quite near the corner of St Ann and Rampart Street. The entrance to Armstrong Park is directly across Rampart, which made it easy to find walking home late at night. Sometimes a sketchy area, I wouldn't walk alone, but at no point during this trip did I feel unsafe. Security is paramount with Charlotte & Brian.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2007

We stayed at Gentry house over Thanksgiving weekend. Each room is slightly different, and all are well described on their website [--]. The bedroom was very nice size with two closets, a storage area and a couple chairs. We would get up each morning and enjoy coffee, fruit, juice, milk and (best of all) hot flaky croissants delivered to our door. We could sit on the couch in the living/kitchenette area and watch the owners' two very sweet dachshunds play in the courtyard.

The hosts were absolutely the best! Bayou Classic was that weekend, so there was a TON of traffic. The host "talked us in" on the best route to their location around all the mess, reserved us a gated parking area nearby, and helped us deal with a rather major rental car issue as well. They were very interesting to talk with, and had lots of stories and information about the area. And did i mention the hot flaky croissants they brought each morning? They get them from a bakery they said made them "The most like the ones we got in France", and they crisp them up just before delivery to your door at your choice of time. They were fantastic.

The location on St Ann Street is just 2 blocks from Bourbon Street, but it's very quiet. A short walk to the corner of Rampart Street and you have Donna's Bar and Grill. It was closed over Thanksgiving but it has great JAZZ and BBQ reviews from locals and travel sites.. Upscale restauant - Paristyle at Rampart and Dumaine. We found it by accident (rather literally), loved it, and it's listed as one of the top restaurants in New Orleans. Groceries - go to Matassas Market on Dauphine. It's PACKED with stuff, and quite reasonable for the area. Good deli too. Gumbo and Muffaletta - you pretty much can't go wrong anywhere. Zydeco BBQ - awesome.

We highly recommend Gentry House and will be looking for them the next time we go to New Orleans!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank LisaLisa58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2007

Gentry House is a quaint B&B located inside the French Quarter just a couple of blocks from Bourbon Street. We were very happy with the size
and cleanliness of our room and appreciated the stocked fridge (cereal, milk, OJ and sodas). A quiet courtyard right outside our door
made it a peaceful atmosphere. The owners were extremely helpful with information of the area and the croissants they brought to our door each morning were amazing!!!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank megboire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2006

My daughter and I stayed at Gentry House for Halloween and we loved it! Live like a local at this clean and comfy bed & breakfast. The property is very safe, close to everything but quiet and the owners are friendly and knowledgeable. Unbelieveably delicious croissants delivered to your door every morning and a charming courtyard to relax in. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#17 of 166 in New Orleans
2,730 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#31 of 166 in New Orleans
2,341 reviews
Central Business District
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
#88 of 166 in New Orleans
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
7,698 reviews
French Quarter
Bienville House
Bienville House
#54 of 166 in New Orleans
1,624 reviews
Central Business District
Quarter House Resort
Quarter House Resort
#12 of 166 in New Orleans
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gentry House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gentry House

Address: 1031 St. Ann, New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Gentry House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing