We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Gentry House is a gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gentry House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gentry House
Ranked #59 of 139 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gentry House is a gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

We just returned home from New Orleans yesterday and were very sad to leave Gentry House. Every time we've been to New Orleans we've stayed at a big fancy hotel and regret not stumbling upon this place sooner. It is so charming. There's a private courtyard to hang out in and the rooms are like apartments. Everything is beautiful. It's also on a quiet side street so your sleep won't be interrupted. It's a close walk to Bourbon street and Jackson Square and everything else is easily accessible. The owners bike every day to get fresh croissants for the guests. Best croissants I've ever had. I didn't get to meet Charlotte but Brian and a woman that works there named Angel are incredible, kind people. Hang out in the courtyard and talk to them about anything. I don't have any complaints, and I plan to stay at Gentry House on my many subsequent trips to New Orleans.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mattie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    32
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
15
24
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oksboel, Denmark
Level Contributor
694 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 681 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

We have visited New Orleans twice, and we love the French Quarter.
Gentry House is a cosy old house in a quiet part of the French Quarter, but near Bourbon and Royal Street.
We have stayed at Gentry House both times. First in room Dumaine ground-floor, and second in room Saint Louis upstairs. Cosy spacious rooms. It was perfect for us.
The hosts, Charlotte and Brian, are very nice and friendly and helpful.
You shall not choose Gentry House, if you want luxury standard.
You can choose Gentry House, if you prefer staying in the French Quarter, and if you like old cosy houses, where you can stay under proper circumstance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LN1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri City, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

We love B & B's and this one was great overall. Each room has an entrance to the courtyard (so you don't feel like you're really in someone's house). The hosts were great to work with getting the reservation. The price was very reasonable considering it's only a few blocks from all the action in New Orleans (whether it's Bourbon Street, Frenchman Street or the Square). The croissants they brought each morning were amazing! Plus, they had milk, juice, fruit, sodas and coffee stocked up in the kitchen (these are more like tiny apartments). Our only complaint is that it's old - but hey, it's an authentic older house in New Orleans! We felt like we were going to break the bed (some of the furnishings were a bit on the older side too). :/ Good value, awesome location, nice people, what else do you need!?

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank journ2train
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed in the dumaine appart. For 4 nights. We enjoyed our stay, owners are very helpful and nice. Angel who cleans the premises is also very sweet. This is not a hotel, so don't expect your room to be clean every day. We enjoyed having a kitchen area since we came in December. Every night we would have diner inside after a tiring day walking everywhere. The croissants are really good. All breakfast items are in the fridge-tea, coffee, milk, juice etc....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloKnoxville_TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Location is good. Accommodations are serviceable but not at all luxurious. Everything is quite rustic. Good if you are not expecting hotel quality which we understood from the beginning. Great croissants in the a.m. and nice owners.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Family581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed here (Toulouse room) for 4 nights last month. It was an incredible value as the space is a very nice-sized 1 BR apartment. The experience may not be for everyone (shower is weak and the narrow indoor and outdoor stairwells may be a challenge) but staying at a homey apartment in the French Quarter made my trip extra special. The eat-in kitchen was stocked with fruit, cereal, milk, juice, coffee, tea, soda and bottled water. Breakfast is brought to your door from Croissant D'or Patisserie (I highly recommend the almond croissant!). I felt safe although St. Ann tends to be quite dark. Thankfully, the Louis Armstrong park sign (across the street on North Rampart) is brightly lit during the evening.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Remorca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Hot off the plane from the best trip yet to New Orleans. We stayed once again at the Gentry House on St. Ann. Brian and Charlotte where at the gate to meet us with amazing smiles and warm hospitality. It’s like coming home from a long trip and feeling welcome even though you’ve just arrived as a guest.
Everything was as it should be with a few additions here and there. I appreciated the new lights up the stairwell and the new wall art. Thank you for picking up the few items we requested for the fridge. It was a huge help. The full kitchen came in very handy for warming up the remaining exploits of our day.
The Gentry House is a quite, stately home. There’s no fuss here. You can mix with the other guests if you want or stay to yourself. If you need something, ask- no worries. I love that I’m not surrounded by antiques or proper flatware, its charm comes from the mix of furniture that’s careworn with age. I got to relax and not worry about scuffing the dollies.
Out of the way enough to be quiet and comfortable, close enough for an easy walk anywhere in the Quarter and downtown. Next trip I’ll bring my boys. They need to see the place where we come to relax and enjoy a magnificent city.

Room Tip: I prefer to be upstairs as there is foot traffic most of the night - nothing sinsiter, just lively a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Inn on St Ann
Inn on St Ann
#33 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
French Quarter
Nine-O-Five Royal Hotel
Nine-O-Five Royal Hotel
#136 of 161 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on St. Peter
Inn on St. Peter
#32 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel St. Pierre
Hotel St. Pierre
#76 of 161 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#29 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gentry House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gentry House

Property: Gentry House
Address: 1031 St. Ann, New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Gentry House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing