We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
New Orleans
Post
Inbox
Search

“Always good food and service!”

The Original French Market Restaurant and Bar
Reserve a Table
2
Mon, 2/24
8:00 PM
OR
Order Online
Ranked #232 of 2,163 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Description: Our story begins in the early 1940s when Sicilian immigrants Anthony Marullo Sr. and his wife Annie opened their first restaurant in Grand Isle, Louisiana, serving fish, crabs, shrimp, and oysters caught daily in the Gulf of Mexico. It was here that Anthony Marullo Jr. was born, and taught how to fish the waters that surrounded their barrier reef home. By 1965, the family was selling their fresh caught seafood in the French Market of New Orleans, and Anthony JR and his wife Barbara decided it was time to introduce Mamma Annie's dishes to the "Big Easy". Their Creole-style seafood and spicy dishes quickly gained popularity with locals and travelers alike and by 1975 had become a popular mainstay of New Orleans cuisine. Today, brothers, Jude & Anthony Marullo III continue the tradition of serving millions of people from around the world the same from scratch recipes that Annie and Anthony Sr. created almost 80 years ago.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visit New Orleans at least once a year and tis restaurant is always on our list and never disappointing. I'm not a fan of NO seafood so I always look for something on the menu that is different. Usually it's a burger (always excellent), but this time I ordered the pasta and veggies. (Pasta Primavera is the Italian name for it.). Sandy ordered the Crawfish boat. Photos of both dishes are posted. Don't miss this place when in NO. Also, they have some hand-crafter beers on tap that are very good.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank V1052VNjoeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OFMR, Marketing at The Original French Market Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks so much, Joe, for making us a regular part of your New Orleans visit. We are so happy to hear it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,513)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 1,513 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Hubby & I were visiting French Quarter for the first time. We picked this restaurant for lunch solely based on the fact that it had upstairs outside seating. The food was good, I had jambalaya & hubby had red beans with rice with the fried catfish. Both were very good, very well seasoned, we both really liked the catfish, the crust was light & crispy not heavy like so much of fried catfish is. Portions were just right. Loved being able to watch the crowd from the balcony. We would both recommend.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Caligurrl61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OFMR, Marketing at The Original French Market Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

There is nothing like a great balcony in the French Quarter. We're so happy to hear you enjoyed our cooking too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2020 via mobile

I had red beans and catfish and husband had catfish platter and both were excellent. Really good service too!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank landladytina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OFMR, Marketing at The Original French Market Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

So happy to hear it. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2020 via mobile

The grilled oysters were divine! Must try them! Ariel our server was amazing and so helpful with suggestions! Shrimp po boy was great and the crab and shrimp salad was amazing!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank E4092MZsusanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OFMR, Marketing at The Original French Market Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks so much for the review. Ariel will and her manager will be so happy to hear she impressed you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2020

We where walking in the French market and the smell from this place was amazing! We went in and ordered the crawfish they are amazing! Told my wife I want to go back before we leave to go back home!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank spare28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OFMR, Marketing at The Original French Market Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the review. We hope you did get to come back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Original French Market Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Original French Market Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing