We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the cruise terminal, excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center
Ranked #43 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Close to the cruise terminal, excellent staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed here one night before going on a cruise because it’s right across from the cruise terminal and it was an easy walk if you have luggage with wheels. I usually stay right in the heart of the French Quarter whenever I’m in NOLA but I liked this place so much that I might consider staying here again even though it’s not right in the Quarter where I prefer to be.

The rooms were very clean and the service was excellent. Our room faced the river and the convention center and I could actually see our ship pulling in to port from our room. I actually was more impressed with the hotel restaurant more than anything else.

We went for breakfast and you could either order off the menu or choose the buffet for around $20. Our server was excellent and I forgot his name but if you are a manager reading this, he was the only male server working around 9:00 am on Sunday 11/10/13. Top notch service from him. He stayed on top of pouring our juice and coffee and I can’t say enough about how great he was.

We took his advice to get the buffet instead of ordering off the menu because they can make anything for you that’s on the menu as part of the buffet price. I wanted the Ragin’ Cajun’ omelette and it was incredible. It’s basically crawfish etouffee in an omelette but loaded with crawfish and all the goodies. Not skimpy in the least. The chef making the omelettes was very nice and friendly as well.

At around $20 this buffet breakfast was a bargain. Quality thick cut bacon, all the orange juice you could drink, and everything else you could want for breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    302
    95
    32
    20
See reviews for
127
149
40
359
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macon, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
197 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

The Marriott New Orleans Downtown is conveniently located on Canal and Decatur Streets. The very friendly staff remembered my name were welcoming and helpful. The room was slightly small but efficiently arranged, spotless, quiet and comfortable. The Concierge lounge was not open after noon on Friday until Sunday at 5pm. Excellent, included breakfast was there weekdays; and a larger buffet was downstairs in the 5Fifty5 Restaurant on the weekend. Comfort: 5 Staff: 5
Location: 5 Value: 4.5. This was my third visit in two years. Would I return? Definitely!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank H S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Marriott for a conference. Everything was just ok -- service, rooms, beds, common areas. Nothing really good or bad; it was just ok. I moved to the W New Orleans - French Quarter after a couple nights, and was glad a made the move. The W is a much nicer hotel and was less expensive.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Tal99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed at the Marriott for a conference, the room rate went from $209 to $420, at best the Hotel is a 3 star. Very disappointed with SPG.COM for showing the lower rate.

Checking in was poor, the young lady was surly and disorganized. The first room looked at a wall on the concierge level. Went to change room then was given a room with to connecting doors, which were very noisy. As there is a bar/club at the back of the hotel again the room was noisy. No view disappointing.

Not impressed with the hotel, cost or location.

The good point about the hotel is the staff, with the exception of the checking person. The bar staff, door staff and concierge staff are fantastic, young guy in the concierge lounge should be front of house, fantastic passion and willingness to help everyone.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel and check your rate as mine changed 3 times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrDyslexia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
176 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Stayed here for a combination convention/vacation. The property is clean and well-appointed, but it was the staff that was outstanding. Every request was met with a smile and helpfulness. Am giving four stars due to noise issues between rooms. We could hear everything, literally, that was happening in our neighbor's bathroom. A brisk fifteen minute walk gets you easily to the French Quarter, but there are great restaurants much closer. The WWII, Civil War and modern art museums are also in walking distance. We have stayed in the French Quarter before, but would not do it again after staying here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed in a standard room prior to a cruise. From the valet who helped with out bags to checkin to the pool- everything was lovely. The bistro in the lobby has really good breakfast sandwiches and Starbucks coffee. The hotel is within walking distance to several really good restaurants and a couple blocks from Canal St and the French Quarter. The hotel itself is modern and airy. It was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danifisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colton, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

I would like to thank the entire staff of this wonderful hotel. Also a special shout out to Paul Riggeo Director of Operations to Executive Chef Chad Rollin. I've traveled to numerous places all over the world and have never seen a more warm and caring staff. During my stay there was an NFL team staying at the hotel. This team was my reason for my trip. Lucky me!! This was purely an accident. The hotel staff insured that the guest where fed and had access to beverages by having a free tailgate party. I guess the bottom line is normally a hotel would not do this but this is not a ordinary hotel. Thank You Marriott convention center for a great stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BEN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
SpringHill Suites New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Property: New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center
Address: 859 Convention Center Blvd, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#40 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#54 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a riverfront New Orleans Hotel in the energetic Arts District, minutes away from the area’s top attractions such as the French Quarter, Harrah’s Casino, Cruise Port and a multitude of dining & entertainment options. Housed in a renovated 19th century cotton mill, the Marriott hotel in New Orleans near the convention center boasts over 300 spacious rooms & suites, offering guests a refreshing night of rest. Experience an abundance of New Orleans convention hotel amenities including a fitness center, Starbucks Coffee Shop, business center and rooftop swimming pool. Indulge in regional Creole cuisine at Wolfe’s in the Warehouse, or unwind in the Wine Bar with your favorite cocktail. With over 25,000 square feet of flexible function space, this innovative New Orleans convention center hotel is ideal for both intimate gatherings & large corporate events. Plan your next stay at the Marriott, a premier hotel near the New Orleans convention center featuring impeccable service in a welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hotel New Orleans
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing