We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“STAFF made the stay great!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center
Ranked #42 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
129 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“STAFF made the stay great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

The property is a typical Marriott convention center type property. Rooms were neat and clean, property was beautifully decorated, etc. Walk out the front door, right into the convention center, VERY CONVENIENT!

The ONE thing that made the stay was the staff. Bellmen, valet, desk, restaurant even housekeeping.... all were TOP NOTCH! Smiling faces, no "attitudes", always made me feel like I was the only guest at the hotel. Mike and Jeff from the bell staff were the stand out employees over our 10 day stay. They were always right on top of our requests, remembered names, had the car pulled around as soon as they saw us, etc. ALL of the front of house were good, I just happen to remember these guys names.

Breakfast was typically overpriced for this type of property, around $20 for a breakfast buffet, but the food was good. The cooks that made cook to order items were very nice.

RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GadgetMedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    297
    95
    31
    20
See reviews for
124
146
40
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I was in town for EMS World Expo and stayed here for a week. The goods: large room, nice bathroom, nice towels. The bads: room was not cleaned until almost 6:00 p.m. some days, bathtub drain made gurgling sounds after a shower for about five minutes, even though all the water was gone, and the bathroom sink didn't drain too fast.

Had a little fridge in my room that lit up and that was nice. Stocked it with my own beverages and it was left alone all week (yay for cold water!)

Room faced the west and the A/C could not keep up in the afternoons, unless the curtains were closed. I'd close the curtains, leave and the maid would open them back up again. Sigh.

A good stay and am coming back later this week for another week for a different conference.

Room Tip: Go for an upper floor and don't face west.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was in town for the AAP conference and chose this hotel based on the location. It was great to be so close to the conference, and under a mile to walk to the French Quarter and other attractions. Hotel was expensive per night, but I assume fair based on other rates. Concierge was amazing and so helpful. Front desk was hit or miss, bellmen were amazing and awesome.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom2294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baton rouge
Level Contributor
128 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

NOLA was booked for the Madonna concert and I scored these reservations at the very last minute. Everyone was extremely helpful from the valet to the desk clerk. Room was clean and perfect. Location was great. Overall A++

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheree t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

I hadn't been to New Orleans in 6 years so I wanted to get ideas for restaurants and activities. I don't always use a concierge as I do a lot of my own research. However, Rhoda was fantastic with all of her suggestions and made the trip even more pleasurable. I'm a foodie so I can say without reservation that her recomendations for dinner were excellent. Be sure to try Annunciation restaurant and Richard the host will make sure you have a great meal. We also really enjoyed the Chop House New Orleans(not part of the Chop House chain) and Domenica. We can't wait to return next year for more fun and we also really liked the hotel. The staff was very welcoming and accomodating.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chicagofoodie664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

I booked a room for a 1-week-long convention and assumed that usual prestations would come, that you expect for this price range and the name of the hotel. The staff was awesome, I have to say. friendly, helpful, I had great interactions.
By everything else, I was disappointed. The bar felt like the one of a Club Quarter (a few bottles, no authenticity, to tap). Fresh fruits for the breakfast buffet were everything but fresh and tasted really bad. The "swimming pool" is a 10x6 feets swim hole against a high wall, no city sight, the deck is not even pleasant, no body hangs out there. No mini-bar or fridge in the room ; the electrical sockets are old and would come undone from the wall when I would unplug my appliances ; the starbuck coffee (only business around) in the hall would close at 2 pm on week-ends and ridiculously early on evenings, and otherwise be crowded from the convention center folks, it was barely accessible. The neighborhood is horrible. Granted, it's conveniently located accross the street from the convention centre but there is no restaurant or bar a mile around. I visited the Hilton Riverside that, for almost the same price, has a wonderful lobby with shops, restaurants, bars, a nice pool deck and fridge in room.... A much better value and a place where you're not embarrassed to invite coworkers or firends over. This Marriot is not worth the $250/night they charged.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierre F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

The Marriott by the Convention Center in New Orleans is just across the street from the Center. Staff was very helpful, rooms spacious and clean and location was very convenient to walk to restaurants, Bourbon Street, shopping and trolley stops. Price was reasonable and breakfast and free Internet was included. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chicagogal168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
SpringHill Suites New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Property: New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center
Address: 859 Convention Center Blvd, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#40 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#54 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a riverfront New Orleans Hotel in the energetic Arts District, minutes away from the area’s top attractions such as the French Quarter, Harrah’s Casino, Cruise Port and a multitude of dining & entertainment options. Housed in a renovated 19th century cotton mill, the Marriott hotel in New Orleans near the convention center boasts over 300 spacious rooms & suites, offering guests a refreshing night of rest. Experience an abundance of New Orleans convention hotel amenities including a fitness center, Starbucks Coffee Shop, business center and rooftop swimming pool. Indulge in regional Creole cuisine at Wolfe’s in the Warehouse, or unwind in the Wine Bar with your favorite cocktail. With over 25,000 square feet of flexible function space, this innovative New Orleans convention center hotel is ideal for both intimate gatherings & large corporate events. Plan your next stay at the Marriott, a premier hotel near the New Orleans convention center featuring impeccable service in a welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hotel New Orleans
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing