We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent overall stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center
Ranked #52 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent overall stay!”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Great, convenient and safe place to stay. You must know going into this that they do have a $35/night vallet charge but there's a way around it...go about a half block away to Fulton parking garage and pay $12/night instead. It literally 300 ft. from the back entrance of the hotel. Starbucks inside but closes awfully early though.(6 PM I think) Clean rooms, comfortable beds, flat panel tvs. Walking distance to everywhere, if you don't mind walking 10 or so blocks. Across the street is the riverwalk and a mall, can also catch the trolley nearby. Go to priceline and name your price around $63 and a 4-star hotel and you'll get this place...why pay $189+? Good Luck and enjoy NOLA!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tupelo001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    307
    95
    34
    22
See reviews for
130
152
40
365
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

THe hotel is walking distance to the convention center. When we go to New Orleans we visit the French Quarter yet we dont like staying there. This hotel is great, because it offers the commodities and ammenities of a newer more modern hotel and is walking distance from all the awesome areas to visit.

It is very close (or in) the warehouse district which I love.

WE did ask for a king bed but got a double. I think it was partly because of the date we visited, lots going on that weekend and we booked a week in advance.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAELOVES_TRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Smoky Mountains National Park, Tennessee
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We visited here for our anniversary (3/16-18) and had an excellent experience. Our room was clean and everything fresh with a nice view of the Greater NO bridge. The best part of our experience was the friendliness and attentiveness of the staff from the staff at the front door, to the front desk and to the restaurant staff. The morning buffet, while pricey, was delicious and fresh. Hats off to the chef, Terrence, who really made us feel at home and introduced me to his special batch of "grits'. They were absolutely the best grits I ever put in my mouth and I have been doing that for a long time. I will let him disclose the secret ingredients he uses for this special rendition.

While we did not visit Harrah's it is right around the corner and it has a lot of adjacent restaurants (Manning's and Ruth's Chris, etc.) and nightlife. You can walk across the street to the riverwalk and continue down to the Quarter or take the trolley. At first, we wanted to be located within the Quarter but this spot seemed even better being close enough to the Quarter but not in it.

All in all, I have no complaints; it really was a perfect weekend getaway.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Clean hotel with good service, but the room had a funny smell. Starbucks in the lobby is convenient. Hotel location is good if you have a convention or cruise, but not to visit the French Quarter. Got a great price ($75) on Priceline, so no real complaints...save for the odd smell. Dante at the valet is an awesome guy.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msu17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Lots of hotel choices for a convention, but this Marriot, one of 4 in the area, was the most convenient to the New Orleans Convention Center. It was easy walking distance to most of the restaurants in the area, the French Quarter, and the St. Charles St. trolley car line. It was nicer to be off Canal Street and the hubbub of all the partiers when we wanted to relax. Our room was on far end of the hallway, and we loved that the hot water was immediate and really hot when we wanted to shower or get ready. - comfortable accommodations with a gracious staff... - couldn't ask for more....

Room Tip: 511 had immediate hot water, far from the elevators and ice machines... - very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RangerBobN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
Level Contributor
125 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We stayed here during Mardi Gras and were very close to all the action. The hotel staff was excellent and very very helpful and polite. Food and coffee bar are onsite which is very helpful. We have stayed at a few hotels around this street area over the years, but this one was the best.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the river are nicer and you can see fireworks, etc. But it is a limited view if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doyouknowwhatitmeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We stayed here the night before out cruise out of New Orleans. Very nice place. Offers cruise and park package. Pricey, but we felt our car was safe there. You can see the Bridge and the Cruise ships from the hotel.
Would stay there again

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuckyUs3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#36 of 162 in New Orleans
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center

Property: New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center
Address: 859 Convention Center Blvd, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#40 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#54 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a riverfront New Orleans Hotel in the energetic Arts District, minutes away from the area’s top attractions such as the French Quarter, Harrah’s Casino, Cruise Port and a multitude of dining & entertainment options. Housed in a renovated 19th century cotton mill, the Marriott hotel in New Orleans near the convention center boasts over 300 spacious rooms & suites, offering guests a refreshing night of rest. Experience an abundance of New Orleans convention hotel amenities including a fitness center, Starbucks Coffee Shop, business center and rooftop swimming pool. Indulge in regional Creole cuisine at Wolfe’s in the Warehouse, or unwind in the Wine Bar with your favorite cocktail. With over 25,000 square feet of flexible function space, this innovative New Orleans convention center hotel is ideal for both intimate gatherings & large corporate events. Plan your next stay at the Marriott, a premier hotel near the New Orleans convention center featuring impeccable service in a welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hotel New Orleans
Marriott New Orleans
New Orleans Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing