We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sophistication in the Quarter”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Doris Metropolitan

Doris Metropolitan
Reserve with OpenTable
Doris Metropolitan is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 1,933 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: French Quarter
North Carolina
Level Contributor
248 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Sophistication in the Quarter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

A beautiful dining experience from the moment we were greeted upon entering the restaurant though the service we received the entire evening. This is definitely the place to enjoy a great steak, beef or fish! When our server told my husband and our friend a steak knife wasn't need for the 18oz rib eye and 18oz strip steak they ordered, I knew they were in for a treat! after the meal, both said it was the best they have ever had. I enjoyed a seared blue fin tuna that melted in my mouth. Everything was excellent in this fabulous setting.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Condocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    92
    28
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ongar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Superb! Do not miss this restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

We passed the restaurant whilst out walking, and made a reservation for dinner that evening. There are, no doubt, numerous excellent places to eat in New Orleans, but we thought this was exceptional. So much so that we cancelled other reservations we had made and went back again. Interesting and very contemporary menu. Great combination of herbs and dressings - And as a vegetarian , I had more than one choice ! In a city of (primarily) fish and steak entrees, this was a bonus. The wait staff were all super friendly and efficient. Do not miss this restaurant, it's a gem in the crown! Highly recommended

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fine Dining at its BEST!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Stopped in for dinner with no prior knowledge of this restaurant. Three people, one French Culinary School trained, another who went to bartending school, and another who "just eats!". We were all stunned by the wonderful and innovative food they offer. They grow their own herbs. They bake their own bread. The beef is aged in-house, and is among the best we've ever had. The "classified cut" was so fork-tender, the person who ordered it called it "beef pudding". The 31 day dry aged ribeyes were moist, tender and flavorful. The salads and sides were amazing! The "Potato Surprise" was surprising! Everything was a feast for the eyes as well as the mouth. You're selling yourself short if you stop by for a burger. This is a restaurant for the true gourmet who appreciates quality.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Snafooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, FL
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic in the French Quarter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

If you are looking for an upscale dining experience, Doris Metropolitan is the place. We had two lunches and one dinner and everything was superlative. The best Steak Tartare I've had in 30 years and fabulous tenderloin with a big marrow bone, excellent baby artichokes with tzatziki sauce, fantastic smoky eggplant. They have an incredibly juicy burger with marrow mixed with the beef. The ingredients are the best quality and the preparations are perfect and often unusual. the décor is low key elegant and the service is excellent. Very good wine selection. Pricey but worth it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JDH198123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
169 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“The most expensive burger in the city”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

I went with a friend to Doris Metropolitan for burgers last night. We've been before and even though the burgers were expensive the first time they were delicious and big and luscious we decided to go back. But we were in for quite a surprise. While the burgers are the same price and seem to have the same ingredients they are much smaller than they were. And further, there was too much bun for the small portion of meat. I suggest if you want a burger you avoid this place. There are good burgers all over the city.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Virginia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doris Metropolitan also viewed

 

Been to Doris Metropolitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing