We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Watch Out for Uninvited Guests” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pat O'Brien's

Pat O'Brien's
Ranked #114 of 1,918 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Description: Pat O's Courtyard Restaurant is located at 624 Bourbon Street and connected to Pat O'Brien's Bar (718 St Peter Street) by a scenic courtyard with flaming fountain. Open for lunch and dinner 7 days a week.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Watch Out for Uninvited Guests”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Went with a party of six. We were sat between the doors of the men's and women's restrooms. Hurricanes were good. Food was ok. I had the grilled chicken sandwich. Rest of the party enjoyed their entrees. My meal was marred by an appearance of an inchand a half long brown cockroach that I murdered after it ran across my foot. Table next to me nor my party noticed, but I kind of lost my appetite after that. Not to mention being itchy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BobWDW2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,795 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,184
    1,028
    417
    108
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Walland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tourist attraction drinking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Went twice at my wife's behest. Friday early evening was odd as every table near as had a group with multiple children. What brain-dead morons would treat take the French Quarter like Disneyland? The food was good. The servers worked their butts off.

Saturday night/Sunday morning in the courtyard was completely different. The obnoxious "Wooooo Girls" at the table next to us and the well organized staff taking care of hundreds of poor tipping drinks in their 20s.

I don't understand the Hurricane fascination. This bar literally uses the exact same powdered mix that they market at retailers. So for $8 you get basically KoolAid and well rum.

The rest of their drinks are made well and somewhat more economically.

But the tourist popularity is well earned. It's very nice in courtyard. The staff is awesome especially dealing with the drunks they see everyday.

FOR GOD'S SAKE.... LEAVE YOUR KIDS AT HOME AND TIP WELL!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Adjusting_Angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridley Park, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Patty o's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We got a table outside after a drenching rain and everything was fresh and live. I ordered the Southern sampler of jambalaya, red beans and rice and gumbo. What a choice, the meal was great and redolent with the flavors of the south. The Hurricane didn't hurt either. A little pricey but very enjoyable

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metairie, Louisiana, USA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“On the town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

I have been here several time recently and it is just awesome. From the courtyard to the piano bar we had a blast.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stacie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun place...great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stopped here while on Bourbon street for a late dinner and of course a hurricane. Only about a 20 minute wait for table. Had our hurricanes while waiting. I ordered the Cajun Shepherds Pie...delicious! My friend ordered a burger and it was huge! And delicious! And our bill was only $27.00 (didn't include the hurricanes) which we got earlier.

Love the fire fountains there...really cool!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank sfodor218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pat O'Brien's also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Pat O'Brien's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing