We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun environment, food and drinks. Try the alligator bites and sampler plate!”
Review of Pat O'Brien's

Pat O'Brien's
Ranked #108 of 1,954 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Description: Pat O's Courtyard Restaurant is located at 624 Bourbon Street and connected to Pat O'Brien's Bar (718 St Peter Street) by a scenic courtyard with flaming fountain. Open for lunch and dinner 7 days a week.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun environment, food and drinks. Try the alligator bites and sampler plate!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I went here for lunch and drinks on our first day in New Orleans. They have a great sampler platter that includes gumbo, jambalaya and red bean & rice and it was some of the best that we had while we were in New Orleans. We also had the alligator bites and they were fantastic! Combine that were their signature Hurricanes and you have a perfect meal! However, word of caution, the bar has an incredibly annoying policy of charging your for their "souvenir" glasses when you buy your drinks. You can get a refund by turning the glass in at the bar, but I found the policy to be slightly sneaky. Just be sure to request your drinks in a to-go cup. I would rate this restaurant a "5" if it wasn't for their glass policy.

We also came back to the piano bar one evening which was very cool. Again, same annoying souvenir glass policy, but a very cool experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LynnfromMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,015 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,295
    1,105
    436
    117
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“You have to go here at least once!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is another one of those unique New Orleans places (even though it is now a chain and has restaurants in other states). You will see people of every age and groups of all sizes.

You go here for a 20 oz Hurricane and take home the glass. Yes, you can get your drink in a paper cup to avoid turning in the glass for a $3.00 refund, but it is not nearly as much fun that way. The waiters run around and bring drinks to anyone who seems to be getting low. It is pay as you go, so no running a tab. Also watch out for a sneaky customer who might stop by and ask you if you are done with your glasses so she will clear the table for you - what a scam to collect a whole bunch of $3 glasses!

The place is huge. There are entrances on both Bourbon and St Peter streets. We sat in the main outside courtyard (there is more than one). We were very lucky to get a table as another couple was just leaving. There are way more customers than tables. There are also a number of small lounges, but there were long lines waiting to get into them so we didn't even try. The courtyard has a huge fountain in the middle with flames on the top – very pretty.

There is also a restaurant in the back where it looks like once you get in you are guaranteed a seat. It looked like the only place you could get food, but we were there for an after dinner drink so we didn't venture back that far.

Oh, the Hurricanes are made with a powdered mix (you can buy it in the gift shop) kind of like Kool-Aid. So the drinks are alright, but are not made using fresh fruit juices as you can get elsewhere in New Orleans.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelLover2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Go for the Piano Bar”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is the home of the Hurricane Drink. I have to say I was not impressed with the Hurricane, they had other drinks that were better. The drinks are a bit on the pricey side for Bourbon Street but it comes with a great Piano bar. There are dueling pianos and singers who entertain all night long. You can request songs and sing along. It is a very fun atmosphere. A great time to have a drink with a friend and go "Sing us a song, Piano man!"

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ZincPenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake George, New York
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“For the experience not the food”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is a must see place! Only in New Orleans. Stand in line if you must. The music, crowd and staff are sure to please. A little too busy to dine but just have a couple of drinks and see what one of the worlds busiest bars is all about. Fun, fun, fun, in any one of the several rooms.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A must to experience”
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

On our first night here we stopped for dinner . The food was good nothing gourmet but decent . Come to pat o's for the experience, try a hurricane . Not really a all night hangout. We moved on after dinner.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Miknik623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pat O'Brien's also viewed

 

Been to Pat O'Brien's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing