We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beyond My Expectation”

Edgar Degas House Creole Impressionist Tour
Book In Advance
More Info
$29.00*
and up
Edgar Degas House Impressionist Tour in New Orleans
Ranked #101 of 352 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Once Home to the French Impressionist Edgar Degas, the Degas House Historic Home, Courtyard & Inn is a master-piece of history and hospitality. It is the only home or studio of Degas anywhere in the world that is open to the public beautifully restored and located on majestic Esplanade Avenue just eleven blocks from the famous French quarter. Extensive collection of Degas' reproductions are available by appointment, and our gift shop offers high quality remembrances of your visit. If a wedding or special event is in your plans, our lovely courtyard and grand parlors will provide the perfect setting for unique and treasured memories for guests and families.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
“Beyond My Expectation”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

As a visual artist, i must say i was very excited to come see the actual studio of Edgar Degas and walk the walls where he painted some of his famouse peices. The film was great. I learn so much about the Degas Family now. The tour guide was exellent and very informative.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank narasco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    31
    16
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kennerdell, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Excellent Tour of Edgar Degas life in New Orleans”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

My wife is a big fan of Edgar Degas Art and while in New Orleans we decided to do the tour with breakfast. It was very interesting and informative of his life while in New Orleans. We watched a video, walked the grounds, and toured the Home, which is now a bed and breakfast. The rooms were really nice so we decided to stay the weekend! Had a wonderful time, the staff was super friendly and I must mention the breakfast is to die for... you must do the breakfast with the tour! Highly recommend seeing this gem while in New Orleans!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank shaneotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Too long, inaccurate, repetitive”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We were quite excited for the tour, since we are big fans of Degas's artwork and of Impressionist art. However, the tour was, from the beginning, a severe disappointment. It began with a video about the house and Degas's time in New Orleans; while the video itself was not bad, per se, it was quite lengthy and essentially conveyed all information that was later simply repeated during the house tour. The tour centered too much on Degas's relatives — their lives, personal foibles and turmoils — which was not very interesting. Comparatively little was said about Degas. All paintings in the house are prints, and the furnishings are not even necessarily staged to recreate the layout of the house as it would have been in Degas's time. In general, the tour failed to frame his time in New Orleans within the broader context of his artistic career and life. Perhaps most disappointingly, quite a few of the facts shared by our tour guide were simply incorrect! The tour was also way too long... We left before it ended! Save your time and money and skip this.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank Willow A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
degashouse, Owner at Edgar Degas House Creole Impressionist Tour, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thanks to Trip Adviser for allowing this reply. I hope the writer of the review actually sees our response, assuming he cares enough to followup.
House Museum Tours are not for everyone. To be clear, a house museum should not be confused with an art museum. Art museums typically "house" invaluable art work in a secure, climate controlled setting.
A house museum is simply a setting where history actually took place, in this case, where Degas, living with his family, returned to his passion, experienced a rebirth and developed a new style of painting, he referred to as "Better Art" on the eve of the First Impressionist Show, marking the beginning of the Impressionist Movement of 1874! The house itself is the artifact, the site where Degas was so inspired that he began anew, launching the largest art revolution in the history of the art world!
Was his inspiration simply the setting, here in the house? Perhaps, but we believe that his family played a vital role in his success and the new vision he acquired while here in New Orleans, the city of his Creole Mother! Hence, our story involves the humanities, the human approach into what inspired Degas to accomplish so much while here.
I can assure you that not all the artwork in the house are prints. Also, I’m sorry you missed the monotypes, etchings and drawings that are part of our collection. The furnishings that are original to Degas’ time in the house, provided through family, are staged in an appropriate manner for the functionality chosen, clearly defining us as something other than a “furniture tour”, which we certainly do not represent ourselves to be.
The film you refer to won 3 film festival awards and has been seen by millions of people worldwide! "Degas in New Orleans, A Creole Sojourn" has sold to universities, museums and other educational institutions, for classroom use and public performance of many types. This film showcased the opening of the “Degas and New Orleans” Exhibit at the Odruupgaard Museum in Copenhagen, Denmark! We are proud of our work, not only on the film, but in the tour itself. BTW, advisers to the project and it's history include the biographer of Degas, Henri Loyrette, former Director of the Louvre and the Musee d'Orsay, among others from the French Museum world. The French Ministry of Culture has distinguished the project, providing support for the authenticity which you question. Also, in 2009, the prestigious American Association of Museums generously provided guidance through their Museum Assessment Program, advice we have valued and gladly implemented.
I’m sorry you left early, as the New Orleans letters of the artist, where the letters confirm the record of his mindset while here, his plans etc, are discussed in great detail, concerning his progress with the Cotton Office paintings and his transitional work that occurred here.
Also, I must point out that the timeline of the artists’ life (located in the same gallery in which you watched the film)puts New Orleans and his work here into the context of his life and professional career, and we feel it’s the best representation we’ve witnessed to date on the subject. In fact, we’ve never had this comment before now from anyone in our 18 years of offering the tour!
Certainly someone with your discriminating taste would lend a hint of how we may improve our product, which we are always open to....should you want to make constructive suggestions. Also, the repetition in the tour may have been due to people entering late, as we try to accommodate everyone even on New Year’s Day, a day when we only conducted one tour, do to the holiday. However, we are honored and blessed to have the great Grand-Nieces of Degas serve as our tour guides and docents, as this was their maternal family home and Degas was their great Grand-Uncle! I welcome you to call or email to offer your insights and experiences, as we are always open to improvement. Thanks for taking the tour, I only wish you would have spoken to someone here, who would have heard out your remarks AND refunded your money too! Happy New Year to you too, as you may have been the first (for 2014) of our many thousands of visitors who come here every year!
Also, I challenge your statement about mis -statements of fact, especially without directing specifics to our tour guide, the descendant of the artist. who knows her history and that of the artist. We are proud of our history, all of which is documented, from our research in France and in New Orleans, along with a tremendous amount of oral family history. An academic certainly would share knowledge and openly question…..as much of our history is documented throughout numerous different resources, many of which are not readily available to the public.
Through the years, we have welcomed tens of thousands of visitors here who fall in love with the house and the family, through the history presented in the tour. I'm sorry you're not one of them.
If you are sincerely seeking a solution, please call for discussion and a refund.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"A MUST SEE"”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

The hubby went to the world war II museum and I went on a beautiful private tour to the Degas house. If you love art history and architure and good ol'fashion good people...you will love this tour. The tour starts with a movie to give you a little background on the french impressionist Edgar Degas. Then we are greated by this spunky lovely woman who happened to be a relative of the Degas family. She is one of the granddaughters. She fills in all the blanks and connects all the dots! Fantastic! We got to see some of Degas famous paintings and the history behind them. and how lucky were we to meet the owner of the house who is responsible for bringing this house back to life and restoring it! The house is so cool! They were setting up for a wedding at the time of our tour. Who knew! Voted the top location to celebrate your wedding according to The knot.com. No the tour's not over yet! She gave a tour of the neighborhood and the history behind some of the homes and original homestead of the Degas family. "It's a must see on your visit to New Orleans" Thank you from the Philly Gals

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank C-K-G-K-P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
degashouse, Owner at Edgar Degas House Creole Impressionist Tour, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are indeed proud of our work and our history. As you stated, we have a wonderful staff who are excited to welcome in our guests and to tell our story, and specifically that of the artist. Who could have guessed that Degas was ever here, or that his mother was a Creole from New Orleans or that New Orleans had a hand in the Impressionist Movement! YES, we are excited to be here and to welcome in appreciative guests like you who value the history and our work! Thanks for coming to visit and to take the tour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
151 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Worth the price”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

It was on a very hot Labor Day weekend when my husband and I walked from Frenchman Street to the Degas house to take part in the tour given by the grand niece of Edward Degas. We were welcomed with unlimited glasses of our choice of ice cold water and delicious homemade lemonade (complimentary). The gracious and lively lady regaled us with interesting historical facts about Degas, his family, the history, gossip, and legends of New Orleans from the time and era of Degas' visit. Her discussion and description were very enlightening regarding the beginnings of the impressionist art movement and Degas' part in it and made Degas the man and the artist become very real to us. When the tour and talk ended, we were surprised that two hours had passed.
Perhaps she spent more time with us because we expressed a keen interest. We felt fortunate that we were the only people on this tour.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ABLePlymouth_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
degashouse, Owner at Edgar Degas House Creole Impressionist Tour, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for your complimentary review on the Degas House Creole Impressionist Tour. Lucky for you being the only ones on the tour, as we are just coming back into the heavy tourist season now and I doubt you would have the same luxury in the high season. However, our guides are very aware of their celebrity and special relationship to this prolific French Impressionist Master. Yes, to humanize the artist and the family members who were part of the household during Degas' time here, is an intended goal for us. As the only home of Degas in the world, open to the public, we take our role as stewards of the story and the home, very seriously. And we appreciate hearing positive reviews such as yours. So, thank you for taking the time to write a review. Please come back sometime and stay with us in the Bed and Breakfast part of the house, and enjoy the Creole Breakfast as well. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edgar Degas House Creole Impressionist Tour also viewed

 

Been to Edgar Degas House Creole Impressionist Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing