We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Bottles and Brushes” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edgar Degas House Creole Impressionist Tour

Edgar Degas House Creole Impressionist Tour
Book In Advance
$29.00*
and up
Edgar Degas House Impressionist Tour in New Orleans
Ranked #96 of 333 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Once Home to the French Impressionist Edgar Degas, the Degas House Historic Home, Courtyard & Inn is a master-piece of history and hospitality. It is the only home or studio of Degas anywhere in the world that is open to the public beautifully restored and located on majestic Esplanade Avenue just eleven blocks from the famous French quarter. Extensive collection of Degas' reproductions are available by appointment, and our gift shop offers high quality remembrances of your visit. If a wedding or special event is in your plans, our lovely courtyard and grand parlors will provide the perfect setting for unique and treasured memories for guests and families.
Rochester, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Bottles and Brushes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Tour of Edgar Degas' house and painting class. This was a wonderful experience. Very cool to be painting in the same space as a famous artist. Great for beginning artists or experienced artists. Helpful teachers- very flexible and accommodating to the group. We were a group of 23!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maddi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    29
    13
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Conroe, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A little disapointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

I really enjoy art history and Degas is one of my favorites. I was really looking forward to this tour but was a little disapointed. In the begining they have you sit and watch a long video that gives you background on Degas family. ( kinda felt like I coulda googled that) Then a short walk through the two halves of the houses. They point out cheap reproductions on the wall of what he was working on durning that time. I was so disapointed that there wernt original works. The stuff they had looked like framed posters. I really felt like I didnt need to be in that house which has been chopped up and moved around to learn these things. Then there was a short walking tour at the end that just gave history of the surrounding area. Overall I felt like it was overpriced and would tell a friend to skip it. Maybe if you were doing one of their paint nights it would be more fun.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Chelsea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Was great tour amazing history about NOLA! Will go again.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

The guide was amazing and the tours around the neighborhood with friendly southern service,and a nice treat after I give it 5 stars and WILL recondmend it!

Helpful?
Thank PatrickNOLAMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wedding”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

the artwork is a definite revelation of Mr. Degas love of ballerinas. this is a great venue for intimate affairs.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank NCraddieth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A trip into art history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Don't expect to see original art by Degas (go to the New orleans Museum of Art for that) but you will get an inside view of Creole family history from one of Degas' great grand nieces. The house is a work in process and the tour is casual & personal. We thought it was definitely worth the $15 price.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edgar Degas House Creole Impressionist Tour also viewed

 

Been to Edgar Degas House Creole Impressionist Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing