We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

“A museum and B&B all in one” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edgar Degas House Creole Impressionist Tour

Edgar Degas House Creole Impressionist Tour
Book In Advance
and up
Edgar Degas House Impressionist Tour in New Orleans
Ranked #95 of 328 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Once Home to the French Impressionist Edgar Degas, the Degas House Historic Home, Courtyard & Inn is a master-piece of history and hospitality. It is the only home or studio of Degas anywhere in the world that is open to the public beautifully restored and located on majestic Esplanade Avenue just eleven blocks from the famous French quarter. Extensive collection of Degas' reproductions are available by appointment, and our gift shop offers high quality remembrances of your visit. If a wedding or special event is in your plans, our lovely courtyard and grand parlors will provide the perfect setting for unique and treasured memories for guests and families.
University Park, MD
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A museum and B&B all in one”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed here for several nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. It was undergoing renovations and wasn't completely "put together" but we liked the casual but elegant environment. Beautiful courtyard for breakfast outside in the morning and wine in the afternoon. Our room had a balcony and we enjoyed sitting out there, too. Plenty of food for breakfast. Lovely neighborhood. Another side of the City and quite beautiful.

Visited October 2011
2 Thank jclements
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful tour for history and art lovers.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

I took this tour on a whim and am so glad that I did. It was really interesting and entertaining. If you like history and/or art, take this tour. It’s a little long, but worth the time spent. One of the best things I have done in multiple trips to New Orleans. They have a great little courtyard and are right near a small park, so if you are travelling with someone that might not be into this tour, tell them to bring a book and go relax outside. Also, I walked to the house from the French Quarter, and while it is a bit of a walk, I recommend it because it’s so pretty to walk down Esplanade Avenue and you really get to see a variety of beautiful New Orleans homes.

Visited March 2012
3 Thank Christina342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
92 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Did not want to miss this tour.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

The Edgar Degas House was a great way to start our morning walk. We took bus #91 from the Garden District and was dropped off in front of the house. Joan is a delight to meet and is a relative of Edgar. She explains the family tree and is an asset to this tour. The house is still acquiring furniture and is rather sparse but the history lesson of the family is worth it especially if you are an Impression fan like me. After touring this house we walked to NOLA. I found out about this house through Frommers walking tour of Esplanade. Worth checking out. Clip off a coupon on one of the tourist maps.

Visited April 2012
1 Thank Parisbyday2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretna, Louisiana
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Something Different”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

Tried this place for a night out. This was a groupon or living social deal. Our room was VERY hot and took hours to cool off. We never got our welcome drink. The breakfast was good. Overall, nice to do something different.

Visited June 2011
1 Thank r0sie1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York NY
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Family skeletons”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

Edgar Degas had a brother living in New Orleans so he came to pay a visit. While he was here the brother deserted his wife and ran off with a neighbour woman so poor Edgar stayed on to try to smooth things over. The house is actually two houses which serve as a Bed and Breakfast so you can stay if you like. I just came for the tour and I suggest you call ahead to make sure when tours will take place the day you want to visit. You'll hear lots of family gossip and scandal. The houses and yards are very attractive and boast a few examples of Degas' work done here. From the Quarter you can walk up Esplanade Avenue or take the bus. It's about a 60 minute leasurely stroll. St Louis Cemetery is a bit further on and City Park with the Art Museum and Sculpture Garden further on still.

Visited November 2011
3 Thank johndt41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edgar Degas House Creole Impressionist Tour also viewed


Been to Edgar Degas House Creole Impressionist Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing