We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Gem in the Treme”

Backstreet Cultural Museum
Ranked #66 of 358 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hours: Tuesday thru Saturday, 10-5.
Winter Park, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“True Gem in the Treme”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This is the essence of New Orleans to me. The history of the Mardi Gras Indians and their spectacular costumes, the tradition of the Second Line parades and the jazz funerals are sweetly explained by Sylvester Francis. This is a funky homegrown museum with great charm. The Smithsonian is reportedly trying to get this collection but don't wait to see it in a sophisticated space, go now and visit the collection while you still have the collector, Mr Francis, to share it with you.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank DFA58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    57
    10
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant - so much history”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We were very lucky to be showed around by Sylvester Francis and felt honoured to have met him. There is so much history here and we felt like we had begun to understand the culture of New Orleans. This museum receives no funding, and is looked after by Sylvester , his wife and daughter so make sure you leave them a big tip! The Indian costumes are amazing and so many photos of second line parades and funerals. We really did appreciate the tour.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank oscarcat2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Racist”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Horrible place don't go. The 60ish lady that works there is racist to anybody that is not black. Stay away!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank wb6849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Everyone should come here”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This museum is only as good as the host. Without someone to explain what the exhibits mean, you would be lost. Our host was awesome and we thoroughly enjoy the museum and getting to know more about the collection.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brandyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A funky must see!”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

A small museum in a converted funeral home in Treme. The proprietor has a history in the same spot for years. If you want an inside look at the Mardi Gras Indians this the spot to go.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Backstreet Cultural Museum also viewed

 

Been to Backstreet Cultural Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing