We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this gem in Treme!”

Backstreet Cultural Museum
Ranked #60 of 352 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hours: Tuesday thru Saturday, 10-5.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't miss this gem in Treme!”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Call ahead to confirm times and availability of Sylvester, a five-star guide and personality committed to the mission of the BCM and to the visitors experience. He took great care in sharing his time, history, memorabilia and was chock-full of entertaining stories.
There is much to absorb including the larger-than-life sculptural Indian costumes in full technicolor, social club traditions and archival photographs, all thoughtfully choreographed and displayed in an intimate Treme two- room residential setting, a rare experience!
As frequent visitors to New Orleans, we purchased a family membership on the spot. We received an immediate follow-up email informing us of the upcoming Sunday parade with links to the very professional and informative website. We are proud to support this cultural icon.
Easy access, 20 minutes from Uptown.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sumac333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    57
    10
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ferndale, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

As Detroiters, this museum reminded us a bit of Hitsville, USA (the Motown Museum). It's located inside a home on a residential street. The owner, Sylvester, clearly cares about what he's doing. This is the only place that I know of where you can learn about Mardi Gras Indians, brass bands, and unpolished local history. If you're lucky, you'll also get to meet some true jazz legends, like Benny Jones, Sr. of the Treme Brass Band.

Helpful?
2 Thank KBJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, AL
Level Contributor
399 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Strange place. Good luck”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We've been a few times. It typically isn't open (painting one time, just not opened another, etc). Today we went (on All States Day). It was a great experience right down to the complimentary bowls of Red Beans & Rice they were handing out. So, with the mis-starts on trying to get in, why the good rating? It's just a NOLA thing. It is the way they rol down there.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Kegan36604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Dover, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Small but spectacular”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

After watching the TV program Treme and reading Nine Lives by Dan Baum, we knew we had to see the Mardi Gras Indian costumes in person and we were not disappointed. The museum is a former house/funeral parlour so small but chock full of costumes and memorabilia. A family member walked us through the exhibt and answered all of questions while explaining the importance of keeping this part of New Orleans history alive.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Incredible experience!”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is in the heart of the Treme and in an old house, with a gentleman I think perhaps as old as the house. It was incredible because I felt I was able to sit and listen to stories and learning about the neighborhood, the Mardi Gras Indians from a person who has lived it! The curator is from the Treme, lives there, lived there all of his life...in addition to the amazing costume collection of the Mardi Gras Indians. Plus a history lesson on the treme, plus information about the local politics surrounding the area! It is a must!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank RMarshall2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Backstreet Cultural Museum also viewed

 

Been to Backstreet Cultural Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing