We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely shoreline” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Pontchartrain

Lake Pontchartrain
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.00*
and up
City of New Orleans and Katrina Recovery Tour
Ranked #71 of 340 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Joshua Tree, California
Level Contributor
185 reviews
121 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Lovely shoreline”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

I rented a bike and rode down Marconi until it dead-ended into the Ponchartrain shoreline and it was lovely there. Grassy area, park benches to sit on and enjoy the view, sailboats on the water, then I rode around to Wisner Blvd and rode along a bike path on the bayou.

Highly recommend at least taking a quick stop to see the shoreline, somewhere. It was pretty and serene.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank LA_dweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    78
    43
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Armonk, New York, USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“spectacular experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

It's just very cool driving over a causeway that is just under 25 miles long. When in the middle, you can't see any land and so get a very unique experience. It's probably not as enjoyable if you are scared of bridges though you are not high off the water. We left from the Metairie side, stopped at Sunset Point on the Mandeville side for a little walk and some pictures, then went to lunch in Mandeville, then went on to Abita Springs for the brewery tour. Make a day of it!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ArmonkFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Illinois
Level Contributor
337 reviews
190 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Too busy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

I was so relieved when we were done driving on this bridge. You couldn't even enjoy what you were seeing on the bridge because everyone was driving so fast. I'm sure it would have been nice but I was a little focused on my driving

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wrigley1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Point New York
Level Contributor
106 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“massive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

It is massive and breathe taking...when you look at it you just have to appreciate it. to see what katrina did to lakeview, it is amazing on a beautiful day how welcoming and calm Lake Pontchartrain truly is...walk around it, on the levee...

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Familyof534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Joe, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
189 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Not really the world's longest bridge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

Chinese build one that is longer but the Chinese bridge crosses over an island somewhere along it's length which interrupts the bridge so Lake Pontchartrain is the world's longest uninterrupted bridge. Now that we have clarified that, the lake is huge and very beautiful. The bridge, whenever it was built, is an engineering marvel. Highly recommend it. There are many turn arounds on the bridge if you don't want to go the whole distance. Toll is only going into the city. Kind of neat that you out of sight of land to the left and right.
Y

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lake Pontchartrain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing