We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really the world's longest bridge”
Review of Lake Pontchartrain

Lake Pontchartrain
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.00*
and up
City of New Orleans and Katrina Recovery Tour
Ranked #75 of 352 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Port Saint Joe, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
189 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Not really the world's longest bridge”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Chinese build one that is longer but the Chinese bridge crosses over an island somewhere along it's length which interrupts the bridge so Lake Pontchartrain is the world's longest uninterrupted bridge. Now that we have clarified that, the lake is huge and very beautiful. The bridge, whenever it was built, is an engineering marvel. Highly recommend it. There are many turn arounds on the bridge if you don't want to go the whole distance. Toll is only going into the city. Kind of neat that you out of sight of land to the left and right.
Y

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    80
    44
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“We drove over the bridge!”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Free if you go outbound from New Orleans. Toll inbound. The bridge was 23 miles long. You can see pretty far on either side and there are a few turnarounds on the way. It used to be the longest bridge over water. It's a great way to head out of the city when you're going back to Jackson, Mississippi.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rosie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“What a drive!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I really enjoyed my drive across the bridge. It was very different in the fact that you get to a point that you no longer see land. We drove across during a pretty tough storm with pounding waves. The kids did get scared, but still enjoyed the drive.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank retiredandlivinglife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Bucket List!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

I can check this off my bucket list now, driving across Lake Pontchartrain was a treat! I had read up on lake facts before going which made it even more interesting. If you are in the area I would recommended going!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cdhb6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A Marvel To Enjoy”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I've travelled across the World's Longest Bridge a few times, most recently this past September. Every time I travel it, I think about the tremendous amount of work involved in making this possible.. Keep in mind, bridge was built in the mid fifties and was an engineering marvel at the time. I've seen a documentary on the building of the Lake Ponchartrain Causeway and it is probably availiable on You Tube. If so, I would recommend first time travelers to view it before travelling it. This bridge is a testament to man's ingenuity and resolve to meet the toughest challenges. Keep this in mind as you travel 24 miles across a body of water.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Stemar78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lake Pontchartrain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing