We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lookout Inn is super!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lookout Inn of New Orleans
Ranked #18 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lookout Inn is super!”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had the great fortune to stay at the Lookout Inn on our first visit to New Orleans. What a fabulous place in a great city! Immaculately clean and big, the themed rooms are so much fun. Beautiful romantic bathrooms (yes!--you'll understand when you see them), a pretty pool outside with a cabana and little sitting room. I cannot sing the praises of the Lookout enough! And make sure you check out Wilma's, a very interesting local bar.

Room Tip: If you need more room, please make sure you ask Kelly if the couch in your room is a foldout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AS220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly R, Owner at Lookout Inn of New Orleans, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Hi Leigh,

I'm so glad you guys enjoyed your stay at The Lookout, and your first ever trip to New Orleans! Thank you for your compliments; they are truly appreciated. Looking forward to your return!

Best,

Kelly Rayner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
56
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This hidden jewel of an Inn is my absolutely favorite hotel in New Orleans. The four themed rooms are quirky and amazing. I usually prefer the Elvis suite but a recent stay in the Bollywood suite gave "the King" a run for his money. Super clean rooms, super comfortable beds and HUGE bathrooms. The courtyard is peaceful and scenic and the saltwater pool is a great place to relax after a day in the French quarter. The owners are extremely helpful and knowledgable about the city. The Bywater neighborhood where the Lookout is located has some very fun and funky restaurants/bars.

I loved the Lookout mascot/greeter Percival Winston--a very charming french bulldog. If I could have packed him up and taken him home I would have. But I did manage to snag a wonderful souvenir from my Bollywood suite. There was a decoration I just couldn't live without, so I asked, and the owners were more than willing to part with it for a very fair price. So if you see something you love in your room, just ask and it could be yours!!

One of the things that keep me coming back to the Lookout, besides the ambiance, is the affordability. I can stay for three nights at the Lookout compared to one night at a French Quarter hotel. And it's a much bigger room!!!

My family is actually looking at renting out the entire Inn for a family reunion because it is so cost-effective. If you want an authentic New Orleans experience, I highly recommend The Lookout Inn.

Room Tip: The room you choose totally depends on your "style" All rooms are quiet, clean and HUGE.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonell K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly R, Owner at Lookout Inn of New Orleans, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Hi Jonell,

Mark and I can't thank you enough for your beautiful review of your recent stay at The Lookout. We're glad you enjoyed a comfortable night's sleep in our Bollywood suite. We hope you enjoyed your time in the French Quarter, as well as in the Bywater at some of our local bars and restaurants. Our mascot, Percival Winston, misses you already and can't wait for your return with the whole family! We'll be waiting to greet you.

All the best,

Kelly & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Lookout Inn. Owners Kelly and Mark were delightful to work with and made us feel right at home. The suite was spacious and very clean. The back yard and pool was a private oasis. The neighborhood was quiet and we felt very safe. We found the weekday rate very affordable. We will definitely try to book another stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly R, Owner at Lookout Inn of New Orleans, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Hi Deb & Lou,

I'm so glad you guys enjoyed your recent stay at The Lookout and found our inn to be spacious, clean and safe. Mark and I hope you enjoyed visiting with your son and we look forward to having you back again in the future.

All the best,

Kelly & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I consider myself to be a bit picky when it comes to lodging accommodations. I put at least 5 hours of research into my options before I finally make the reservations. I called Kelly, the new owner, at least 6 times with different questions and she answered each call, and never sounded irritated. She was also responsive to emails.

If this place was half as good as I expected for the price, I would be satisfied. I was blown away when we arrived. It is a private, gated home with your own pool, hot tub, cabana, and sitting area with outside TV. There are 4 available suites. We booked 3 of the 4 suites. Each unit has a living room area, with TV and mini-fridge; a bedroom with queen bed and a full bath with shower. A floor to ceiling fireplace separates the living room and bedroom. Plenty of towels, ironing board and iron are available too. Individual A/C units in rooms.

The suites were easily worth paying $200 a night for. So it was a bargain to say the least. From a hard-to-please lodging researcher, I give the Lookout Inn 5 Stars!!!

Room Tip: Mardi Gras is deep red walls, rich tones, with a very comfy bed. Elvis Room is perfect for teenager...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Arkansasguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly R, Owner at Lookout Inn of New Orleans, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Hey there!

I can't thank you enough for your beautiful review about your summer stay at The Lookout. As a travel enthusiast, I completely understand doing extensive research before booking a stay and I'm so glad that you chose us and that we could exceed your expectations! It was my pleasure to answer all of your questions; you and your family were excellent guests. Please consider us again on your next trip to New Orleans.

All the best,

Kelly Rayner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocasset, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Upon arrival we were greeted by the new owner and welcomed to the Madi Gras suite. It is every bit as nice as described by the many positive reports here. The space in back with cabana and pool was also a pleasant place to be. The neighborhood, as well as the entire Bywater area, felt safe and a convenient base for enjoying New Orleans. It was very quiet and peaceful. We used public transportation at all times except to catch an Amtrak train at 7:00 AM on our last day. The number 5 bus actually goes right past the Lookout Inn.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly R, Owner at Lookout Inn of New Orleans, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Hi Bob,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay at The Lookout. We are glad you and your wife enjoyed your time in the Mardi Gras Suite and in our lush, outdoor area. We are also pleased that you guys enjoyed your experience with the public transportation and found it convenient to get around by bus. Mark and I look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to New Orleans.

All the best,

Kelly & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
#35 of 138 in New Orleans
231 reviews
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 138 in New Orleans
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 138 in New Orleans
749 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
R&B Bed and Breakfast
R&B Bed and Breakfast
#5 of 138 in New Orleans
170 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Maison de Macarty
Maison de Macarty
#26 of 138 in New Orleans
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lookout Inn of New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lookout Inn of New Orleans

Property: Lookout Inn of New Orleans
Address: 833 Poland Ave, New Orleans, LA 70117-4783
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lookout Inn of New Orleans 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laid-back luxury in the Bywater neighborhood of New Orleans. Four meticulously-renovated suites include private entrances, baths & living rooms, queen beds & sleeper sofas. The backyard paradise with a saltwater cocktail pool & hot tub, cabana with wet bar & bathroom is perfect for small parties, casual meetings or romance. Employees disappear unless called upon so with only 4 suites, guests often feel they have the "place to themselves". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and HRS so you can book your Lookout Inn of New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lookout Inn Of New Orleans Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing