We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #38 of 141 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 17, 2006

The Lion's Inn: New Orleans

Impressed . . . . again! I still cannot fathom hosts as warm and hospitable as Floyd and Stuart. I shall visit New Orleans at least monthly, and I cannot imagine staying anywhere else but at the Lion's Inn.

T. J.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Throbbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 241 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2006

A beautiful, relaxing and friendly place.

Stayed: August 2006
Thank alanth84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2006

My first time staying here. I was delayed, I'd missed my connection in NYC, and phoned to say I'd be late - and was met with calm assurance, "no problem!". Stuart and Alex were extremely helpful and a pleasure to stay with. Rooms are spotless, and the pool/courtyard/hottub are tranquil. While its nearly a mile walk to the heart of the french quarter, there are bikes on location you can borrow if you dont feel like walking - a nice touch. Highly reccomend this B&B and I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank bostonhj8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2006

Our stay at the Lion's Inn was excellent! The hosts are wonderful company (Floyd, you're the best)! The decor is simply stimulating (the bottom in room B is devine)! The bed in room B was amazingly comfortable!! The pool area is a little bit of heaven (especially in your birthday suit)! Overall we had the best time! Thanks for your hospitality!

Stayed: July 2006
1  Thank rodelam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2006

My tip is book directly with them for a better rate!
I was at the Lion's Inn for an extended stay, and don't think I could have had a better time anywhere else. The B&B is well located not far from the French Quarter in the safe cosmopolitan Marigny area, and also only a few minutes walk from the French Market and the jazz clubs on Frenchman Street.
The place is relaxed and friendly, and Stuart and Floyd make you feel very welcome. The atmosphere is sociable, and if you feel like it you can mingle with the other guests and locals and Bubba the dog at the daily wine and cheese get together in the lush garden, take a dip in the excellent pool or hot tub, and get involved in the intoxicating atmosphere of New Orleans. Or you can easily walk into the French Quarter and sightsee, shop, or try the many bars and restaurants.
Stuart and Floyd also own a restaurant and bar, Elizabeth's, a few blocks up, which was a great place to go and eat - they'll even give you a lift there!
Truly one of the best travel experiences I have ever had. Many thanks to the Lion's Inn and their hard working staff! I'll definately be back.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TPJN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New York City, NY
12
Reviewed April 3, 2006

I just got back from Lions Inn. I loved it ! The pool was amazing, like a lush oasis in New Orleans. Everyone was extremely friendly and welcoming, it was like staying with friends. The free WiFi service was a nice perk. The location was ideal, not in the middle of noisy revellers of Bourbon yet a close walk to it.
The hot tub was awesome at night, being able to see the stars, nice after a night out on the town. I went down with a few friends who stayed at other places, and they were all jealous of me!
I will definitely be staying there in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2006

Spent a whole week here in March on my first trip to New Orleans.

From the very first second I loved it. Floyd and Stuart were amazing hosts and I fell in love with Bubba (the dog).

Room was stylish, clean and tidy thanks to the very hard working staff. Swimming pool was great, very useful on those warm sticky days. Breakfast was relaxed and I could drink as much Tea as I wanted.

Overall an amazing place that I was very sad to leave. Highly highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank P B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Balcony Guest House
Balcony Guest House
#41 of 141 in New Orleans
286 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lookout Inn of New Orleans
Lookout Inn of New Orleans
#20 of 141 in New Orleans
143 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Barracks Guest House
Royal Barracks Guest House
#39 of 141 in New Orleans
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Treme
Inn at the Old Jail
Inn at the Old Jail
#54 of 141 in New Orleans
8 reviews
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Canal Street Inn
#19 of 141 in New Orleans
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2517 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70117-8608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $140 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lions Inn is located in Historic Fauborg Marigny, which is adjacent to the French Quarter area, near Frenchman Street, where the Jazz Clubs, Bars and restaurants begin, and a short walk will take you to the center of the French Quarter. The property boasts beautiful gardens, pool and patio area, often referred to as an oasis. We invite you to truly understand what makes this property special and to come experience it for yourself. Enjoy meeting, and talking with our guests from all over the world. Local dining, and civic activities, tour and travel. The area historic, and has many beautiful old homes bordering the Esplanade Avenue area, which is close to the French Quarter. The area is safe, and quiet a refuge from the hustle and bustle of the downtown and French Quarter areas. Enjoy a nearby Dinner ((1 (ONE) minute walk)) at the beautiful Feelings Cafe, before a stroll through the lively streets everyday/night of the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lions Inn Bed And Breakfast
Lions Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing