We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #40 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were completely new to New Orleans, unsure about good areas to stay. Suffice it to say that Lions Inn fitted the bill perfectly. Quiet surroundings, (with free parking!) just a short safe walk from the French Quarter, and with restaurants and music venues just round the corner, the location could not have been better. We walked the streets at various hours with absolutely no problem whatsoever. Ed was very welcoming, helpful and attentive, and the accommodation was clean and comfortable. Eating a leisurely breakfast by the side of the pool in the lovely quiet garden was one of the highlights of our visit... honest!
We would highly recommend this B&B to anyone looking for reasonably-priced accommodation just outside the French Quarter.. We will definitely return here on our next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EricA778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 239 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

I am not sure who this Floyd character is who keeps coming up all all these older reviews, never met him. Ed was extremely accommodating on our stay at the Lion Inn. The Inn is in the perfect location for my taste, close enough to the quarter for an easy walk (especially Frenchman St.), but far enough away that parking is free and abundant, and that there are no noisy partiers to wake you up. The room was simple and clean, the back patio is beautiful and relaxing (though probably smaller than it looks in the pictures). Make sure to jaunt down to the Cake Cafe a few feet away for a delicious and reasonable breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jamiles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Since Ed has taken over this B&B everything is just perfect. Nice rooms, breakfast included, exceptional pool, hot tub, walking distance to the French Quarter and the best of all - Ed. He is an outstanding person, always available to help and to give you excellent tips a a local that grew up in this area.

Room Tip: During all my stays I have only had Room No. 2.Nevertheless I have seen the other room and every one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adrian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This B&B was in a great, quiet location of the city but close enough to walk to the French Quarter. The backyard is beautiful with a hot tub, pool and stunning garden/pond area. The manager was always a great help and was very accomodating. My only complaints would be the massive cockroach we found in the corner of our room (although common in this climate) and the lack of pressure in the shower. Breakfast was also poor and I found a rotton apple in the fruit basket. However, having said that, I still prefer hostels/B&B's to any large chain hotel. If the cost was slightly lower I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for the quiet room located near the front door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I stayed at the Lions Inn B&B for 4 nights and was thoroughly happy with my stay. The owner, Ed, was very friendly and accommodating. There was a nice continental breakfast every morning, and every afternoon there was a wine-and-cheese hour for those who were around. My room was clean and comfortable, and even though I had to share a bathroom with an adjoining room, it was well worth it for the price. I also enjoyed sitting out on the patio, taking a late-night hot tub and dip in the pool, and meeting the other visitors staying there. The location in the Marigny is great. There's a great little cafe down the block for breakfast/lunch if you want more than the continental breakfast, and it's about 7 min by foot from Frenchmen St. (and all the great music). The French Quarter is also a hop, skip, and a jump away. The walk to my conference at the Convention Center every day (ca. 30 min.) was lovely (and safe!) and allowed me to see a lot of the cool parts of New Orleans (including the French Market, which is also very close). There is a selection of bikes to choose from, though the pedals were falling off mine, and the chain fell off once too. (But at least you know no one will steal them!) I would highly recommend the Lions Inn for anyone looking for a pleasant stay in a great location. Plus there's a discount if you stay for 5+ nights.

Room Tip: Some rooms share a bathroom, but there are locks on all the relevant doors to keep strangers out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mamagriff79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

What a gem! Why stay at one of the large, impersonal hotels when you can " experience" New Orleans in a great neighborhood. Clean room, nice people, good continental breakfast, and the evening wine and cheese party is so much fun! Met a number of nice people over wine and cheese! Would stay there again.

Room Tip: For us a private bathroom in the room is a must.... not every room here has this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skylineguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The Lions Inn is a nice B&B in the Marigny District. The rooms are nice (not huge but clean and nicely decorated) and the cost is great. We enjoyed visiting with the other guests at the nightly wine hour (5-6pm). The owner, Ed was very helpful and informative about local restaurants, etc. We did feel like it was a longer walk to the French Quarter than we had originally thought but it nice to get the extra excercise. You could always take a cab if you felt like it was too far of a walk. We never felt unsafe walking to and from the B&B.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Betty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Balcony Guest House
Balcony Guest House
#39 of 142 in New Orleans
283 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lookout Inn of New Orleans
Lookout Inn of New Orleans
#19 of 142 in New Orleans
143 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Treme
Inn at the Old Jail
Inn at the Old Jail
#53 of 142 in New Orleans
8 reviews
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Garden District
Fairchild House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2517 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70117-8608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $123 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lions Inn is located in Historic Fauborg Marigny, which is adjacent to the French Quarter area, near Frenchman Street, where the Jazz Clubs, Bars and restaurants begin, and a short walk will take you to the center of the French Quarter. The property boasts beautiful gardens, pool and patio area, often referred to as an oasis. We invite you to truly understand what makes this property special and to come experience it for yourself. Enjoy meeting, and talking with our guests from all over the world. Local dining, and civic activities, tour and travel. The area historic, and has many beautiful old homes bordering the Esplanade Avenue area, which is close to the French Quarter. The area is safe, and quiet a refuge from the hustle and bustle of the downtown and French Quarter areas. Enjoy a nearby Dinner ((1 (ONE) minute walk)) at the beautiful Feelings Cafe, before a stroll through the lively streets everyday/night of the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lions Inn Bed And Breakfast
Lions Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing