We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deception and indifference is their moto.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #34 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
231 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Deception and indifference is their moto.”
Reviewed February 13, 2012

First and most importantly, the B&B is not 5 blocks from the French Quarter. Perhaps the outer edge but you will be walking 13 blocks each way to the action. Secondly, one of the owners was very condescending when I inquired about taking a bus to the airport instead of a taxi. I explained that I am a budget traveler. He point out that "the patrons at his B&B would not take a bus and he knows nothing about it." I told him that I found it on the internet and it was called the Jefferson Express bus. With the computer in the next room, he did not even make an effort to get the info for me. I find very interesting because when I have stayed at hostels in Europe, they take the time to find transportation info for me. He then said if I found out to let him know. I then asked if tourist information was open on Sunday. He appeared indifferent to the question and again did not bother to find out. He stated that since " I travel with a dog I should expect to pay more money." Way out of line. I personally would never stay at this establishment again due to the treatment. The B&B is nice enough but the proprietor is lacking. Finally, every morning at 4:30 the freight train would blow its whistle.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Erica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fmclamb1, Owner at Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
We welcomed this guest to our B&B with her dog, that was allowed to stay free, in her single $50.00 per night economy room. However, this is one of the few times that the "needs" of the guest outstripped our ability to satisfy them.

We did have to step in when her constant talk of her dog and of herself was making some of our guest uneasy. We were amazed to hear her talk about how she worked the "system" to keep the very sweet dog with her at ALL times, even supplied a doctor's note.

As for our deception: we are 5 blocks from the Quarter. Unfortunately, she took her dog to the Barkus parade which is about 13 blocks into the Quarter. I also told her that there was no express bus to the airport. True, there is a bus that goes to the airport but the bus stop is over 2 miles away from the Lions Inn. Since she was leaving early in the morning, I suggested that a cab would best for her. I am sorry if she took this to be indiffernce on my part.

As for the train whistle, I can call the train company and let them know that the whistle is bothersome to guests at times. Thank you,Lions Inn, Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    46
    6
    6
    8
See reviews for
31
95
42
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Purvis, Mississippi
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We have tried many hotels and B/Bs over the years in N.O. but always come back to Lions Inn. Owner, Mr. McLamb, and his excellent staff, simply cannot improve on the warm and exceptional services, accommodations, beauty and Old World European style of rooms and grounds. Back yard is our favorite oasis, with hot tub, cocktails and pool. And easy parking, safe neighborhood, lovely cafes, and easy walk to Vieux Carre. You simply cannot ask for a more utopian setting and retreat.

Room Tip: Depends on how many are in your party. Mr McLamb has a room or apartment, condo with kitchen and l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kateaux54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 17, 2012

We were put in a condo on Dauphine st and were stuck without internet or phone or any sympathy.it wouldnt have been so bad if Ed hadnt denied that there was a problem. I thought the customer was always right. Watch out for the 40 dollar Cleaning fee attached.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rroyko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Hall, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2012

I stayed in the Honeymoon cottage which is two doors down from the Lions Inn. The
Lions Inn manages this property and I must say, does a fabulous job! The house was
clean, well stocked, and I feel very sure if a problem popped up they would be there to take
care of it. Fortunately, everything was awesome! The folks I met associated with the
Lions Inn were very gracious. I would recomment either place, Lions Inn or Honeymoon
Cottage, or any other Lions Inn properties for your vacation.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HPChamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

This has been the 3rd year we have come to the Lion's Inn B&B for the Thanksgiving Holiday, and once again it did not disappoint! Everything looks fresh and well maintained and we were welcomed all around. The Lion's Inn is the type of place where you don't just come and stay the night and have your breakfast, you become part of a NOLA family! We plan to return next year for Thanksgiving as well. We love the location being ajacent to the French Quarter. You can walk into the quarter, eat, see the sights, have a drink, and then come back away from all the hubub and relax. It's easy to get back on the interstate and go and see any of the local planatations or wineries or other attractions. And don't miss the wine and cheese hour where you can sit and enjoy a nice glass of wine and get to know others staying at the B&B. A great place to stay!!

Room Tip: We've stayed in the Sunroom and Room 1 facing the pool area. Both are great rooms facing the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HankinNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

I came here to write a review but my thoughts have already been articulated so clearly in the review “Nice place to experience real New Orleans" just two down from mine.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trkac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

eight nights in the Lions Inn gave me peace, a great sleep, a fabulous pool and garden, helpful and gracious hosts, great conversation with other guests and free bicycle to roam Bywater, Marigny, French Quarter, City Park and City centre. I just love this place, what a find (thanks Trip Advisor!). Eat in Schiros, Flora Cafe, Elizabeths, Cake Cafe, all very nearby. Hear the best music on Frenchman, a short stroll away, and check out the blues at BMC. You'll be glad you did. I could not fault Lions Inn. The rooms are great, the surroundings tropically beautiful and your hosts leave you to it unless you have a query or a need. I loved Lions Inn and am already saving my Euros for my next sojourn there. Recommended and Approved.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bruinTralee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast
#41 of 138 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
B&W Courtyards
B&W Courtyards
#6 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Maison de Macarty
Maison de Macarty
#26 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Balcony Guest House
Balcony Guest House
#40 of 138 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Blue60 Guest House
Blue60 Guest House
#15 of 138 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2517 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70117-8608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lions Inn Bed And Breakfast
Lions Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing