We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our new home in NOLA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Garden District B&B
Ranked #48 of 141 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 24, 2011

A wonderful experience. The innkeepers were friendly & helpful. Location was perfect for walking the Garden District & getting into town on the Bus.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank m4pEverest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 96 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2011

The room was clean, bright, comfortable, and much bigger than I anticipated. It's in a great location and within walking distance of the St. Charles street car. The building and neighborhood were quiet and seemed safe. The owners were friendly, but stayed out of the way for the most part. My only complaint was that the breakfast was a little meager - only bagels/rolls in the lobby. If you want a quiet, clean place to stay and don't require lots of frills or attention, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunny26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2010

Loved the location, close enough to downtown but far enough away. There is so much more to see than the Quarter and this location allows you to visit the historic end of NO. Our host Raynell was more than helpful and offered ideas for places to visit and eat. We stayed on the first level, all was accomodating and comfy except the bathroom, quite small. Otherwise a great little place to stay!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrFood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights, and thoroughly enjoyed the peace and tranquility that typify this place and it's neighborhood. When you're tired from all the hustle and bustle in NoLa's French Quarter, you'll be happy to find your R&R at such a nice place! Our host was unobtrusive but very friendly and helpful. The B&B is in the middle of the Garden District, which actually is a very beautiful area, with all the wonderful houses, and the Lafayette Cemetery.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank josvdberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

My almost 12-year-old and I stayed with Raynell at her charming B&B located in the Garden District of New Orleans. I didn't want too much craziness surrounding my kid and me at all hours, so the Garden District was the place for us, and this B&B suited our needs perfectly.

Our needs? Reasonable pricing, a room with a balcony overlooking a street, simple breakfast (we knew we'd be filling up at lunch and dinner), and closeness to streetcar. Well, we got all these things and much more. Add to this list: a two-room suite with room for four people, a TV, air conditioner and ceiling fans, an old-fashioned tub/shower combo, charming furniture and bedding, and more.

Raynell made sure we had everything we needed without being imposing. She provides guests with menus and locations of local restaurants, along with a computer to look things up and print boarding passes.

Location is great - many restaurants and shops are within walking distance. The St. Charles streetcar line is a short 5 blocks away, and the route to get there is lined with gorgeous mansions and tree-lined streets. On the one day we rented a car to get to some plantation tours, we didn't have any issues in finding parking on the street nearby.

The price was more than affordable for me and my kid, around $100/night -- and if you come with more than one paying adult, it's crazy cheap!

Breakfast was simple and more than enough for us: coffee maker and coffee in room, small fridge in room with fresh yogurt, milk, OJ restocked every day. In the guest area, fruit and a basket of various baked goods (croissants, muffins, breads) for guests to serve themselves.

I highly recommend the Garden District B&B for those who don't want to stay in the French Quarter, don't want to stay in the cookie cutter hotels, and love the idea of riding the streetcar into town. We've already booked our next stay, and we're bringing friends and more family this time!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HBKreis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Believe the reviews! This is a fantastic B&B, in a fantastic location, with fantastic Raynell, who answers every question, is so sweet and pleasant, chatted with us about the neighborhood, and was so helpful. The neighborhood is wonderful - right in the center of Magazine street, with a quick ride over to the Quarter. We stayed in the balcony room - which is so spacious - and were able to sleep well each of the 4 nights we stayed. Everything was perfect and we will be return customers.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank armanimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

Our room was much more than we expected. Not only did we have a room with a bed but also a sitting room, a balcony overlooking the street, a refrigerator and fireplace in both rooms. Lovely to look at but not needed in the New Orleans heat. There was cereal, milk, ornage juice, yogurt, coffee and water in the sitting room, no extra charge. Not only that downstairs on the dining table were all different types of pastries. The bus was right on the corner that took you directly to the French Quarter. Or you could walk 6 blocks over and cathch the trolly. Raynell our hostess was very sweet and very helpful. Only ten minutes by bus to the French Quarter. Oh sure you could stay in a card board hotel for the same price in the French District but why when there is a place so charming.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank susangail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
#25 of 141 in New Orleans
180 reviews
Garden District
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
#16 of 141 in New Orleans
697 reviews
Garden District
Fleur De Lis Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Garden District
Queen Anne Hotel
Queen Anne Hotel
#65 of 141 in New Orleans
90 reviews
Garden District
Green House Inn
Green House Inn
#11 of 141 in New Orleans
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden District B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden District B&B

Address: 2418 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District , Irish Channel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $144 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Garden District B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Garden District B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden District Bed And Breakfast
Garden District Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing