We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality and value -great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garden District B&B

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Garden District B&B
Ranked #44 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Raphine, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quality and value -great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were lucky to find this great place. Very comfortable and easy to deal with. Available but non-intrusive. If you want a big bathroom you could be disappointed but we didn't find it a problem. Bus service was just outside the door an very dependable. Can't say enough good about this excellent b+b.

Room Tip: The porch room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    21
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
34
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
121 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a weekend while moving my niece into Tulane for fall term. It is convenient to Tulane and to Magazine street restaurants and stores . There is ample street parking . The owners are quite lovely hosts and are helpful . Computer and printer are available for your use . Complimentary Breakfast is provided. Rates are very reasonable . Would stay again !

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank catherine115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed at the B&B in April for the first weekend of Jazzfest. In my opinion, this is the best location in NOLA. Magazine St is packed with resturants, shops and locals. It is less touristy than the Quarter. As other reviewers said, it is a short walk to St. Charles for the Street car. The bus out front took us right to the Canal Street car, taking us close to the Fair Grounds and Jazz Fest.
To tell the truth, when I first went in to our room, I was a little disappointed. We had the front room. It was a bit dark and gloomy. By the end of the day, it did not matter. The room was large and had it's own kitchen area. The bathroom was small but duable. Having our own entrance and use of the front porch was convienent. Each day, Raynell would refresh our fridge with juice, yogurt, milk, etc. Our last day, Raynell sat and talked to us about NOLA, our cross country trip and tips on traveling. She was great. We will be back next year, but this time we will stay in the Garden room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daleyjessup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weehawken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

The hostess was gracious & accommodating, the old school Victorian charm of the house complete with classy furniture was irresistible, the central location in the heart of the charming garden district with amazing mansions all around was unbeatable and downtown/French quarters was barely a 5 minute car drive away --- 5 star without a doubt

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akshay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We have stayed at the Garden District B & B several times and highly recommend it. The rooms are beautifully furnished, roomy and comfortable. The location in the quiet and beautiful Garden District is wonderful right on Magazine Street with many lovely restaurants and shops nearby, a short walk to the St. Charles street car, and a bus to downtown right outside the door. Raynell is lovely, sharing helpful tips and doing all she can to make guests feel welcomed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markerhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

We truly enjoyed our stay at the Garden District B&B. Raynell was really helpful and fun to talk to, and the room was spacious, high-ceilinged, full of amenities (like milk and juice in the fridge), and private (with its own door off the side of the house). We also had a nice screened-in porch and a pretty back patio to relax, eat breakfast, and watch the birds. It was incredibly convenient to all the city's attractions, and the one day we rented a car, we had no trouble finding parking right outside the house.

Room Tip: The one we had on the left side of the house was like a mini-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mapmapmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

The hostess here, Raynell, was very helpful and pleasant. The room off the front porch is noisy into the wee hours because of traffic. The bed is so-so. The nice thing about the room is you have your own entrance, and you have a kitchen.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fanofreds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Prytania Oaks Hotel
Prytania Oaks Hotel
#109 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast
#38 of 138 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Garden District
Maison Perrier
Maison Perrier
#19 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
#22 of 138 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Garden District
Fairchild House Bed and Breakfast
Garden District
Green House Inn
Green House Inn
#15 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden District B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden District B&B

Property: Garden District B&B
Address: 2418 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District , Irish Channel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Garden District B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Garden District B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden District Hotel New Orleans
Garden District Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing