We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, courteous staff, impressive lobby” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Ranked #37 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
1 review
“Great location, courteous staff, impressive lobby”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2009

The hotel is only a couple of blocks from Canal Street and the French Quarter so it's great for tourists who are in town for the touristiest place in the city. I was here for a conference and the convention center, though look close, is about a 20 minute walk. It's far away enough from all the hectic affairs and close enough to walk. It's nestled in a quieter corner in the district and perfect for those who seek serene relaxation after a day of conference or something else.

The staff was also exceptional. I wanted to make a photocopy of something and asked for the direction to Fedex (two locations nearby). The staff volunteered to help me make copies with their own copy machine. Overall, just very pleasant and always wear a smile.

The lobby while nothing like that of Bellagio in Las Vegas, is surprising distinct and stylish, different from the hospital lobby you seen in larger hotels. The exposed wood beams on the raised ceilings feels a little bit like a wood cabin resort, but the tiled floor gave a modern and urban sophistication.

The room that I stayed in is not huge but has a king size bed. Strong airconditioning. No view. Most importantly, it was clean and felt recently renovated and no weird stodgy carpet smell common in other hotels.

The only area of improvement is probably the dining options. The complimentary breakfast was very simple. Cerals, bagels. I don't recall seeing anything hot but I can be mistaken. There's no restaurant and only a bar for late night drinks at the lobby. Plenty of arm chairs in the lobby for lounging and casual meetings.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samihaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,882
    1,174
    253
    92
    63
See reviews for
871
1,377
129
329
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (636)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2009

We stayed here for two years during Jazzfest. The rooms have bee clean, quite and weel cared for. The breakfast was good for a help yourself breakfast. They have their own shuttle bus to Jazzfest or you can walk to the shuttle at the Sheraton (both cost).

The pool is not large enough to swim in.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alfredale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, AL
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2009

This hotel has everything you'll want in your stay. The hotel has a unique charm in the decor. The room is spacious, clean and updated. Breakfast is very nice. The staff is very courteous and helpful. It's close enough for the excitement of the french quarter but far enough that you don't get the noise.

K. Sweeney

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KSweeneyMobile_AL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2009

We found this hotel to be clean and the staff to be competent and polite. It was ideally located for us - we didn't have a car and this was a quick walk to the French Quarter, many restaurants and the river. It was also near the trolley line which we used several times.

Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank lmr1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
186 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2009

We stayed at this hotel b/c it was where a wedding party was reserving a block of rooms. It was an excellent location to enjoy every aspect of NOLA - you could walk to the museums and the french qtr. The desk staff and valets were wonderful and very customer service oriented. The pool is not big but it is a good place to just dip in and get refreshed. Breakfast was okay but hey you are in the big easy, why would you want to eat at your hotel anyhow. Go around the corner to Mothers - excellent local food.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AVLME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2009

I had a large group and two passenger vans. The rooms and service was fine. Breakfast was enjoyable. But if using the hotel valet DON'T. They will park your car in the corner parking lot for $32.00, meanwhile if you park it yourself, in the SAME location, you will pay only $15.00.
I asked the valet if there was another option besides using the valet and they said the only other option was trying to find parking on the streets...not true. Also, not trustworthy. I left my My $2000 video camera by mistake in my vehicle and it was stolen from my vehicle while under the valet's care. f Will NEVER stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgeek09PR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2009

We have just returned from holiday, and this was our final hotel stop in New Orleans. We loved almost everything about this hotel from the staff to the little extras (free hot drinks and cookies). Breakfast was extremely adequate and the little heated pool, a gem. My one and only small complaint was that we did have some creepy crawlies in our room. Apparently, they our numerous at this time of year, and the bear brickwork in the rooms, although gives character, also has a lot of nooks and cranies, whereby my husband spent time the first night plugging up the crevices. Putting this aside, this was one of my favourite stays, and an extremely good location.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#40 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Address: 315 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its home-like decor and plentiful amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, New Orleans French Quarter offers comfort and convenience in the heart of downtown New Orleans. Our historic hotel is comprised of seven 19th century buildings, giving it a charming, boutique feel that artfully blends old world charm with modern comforts. Our prime location on Magazine Street near the French Quarter places our guests close to many nearby New Orleans activities and attractions, including Bourbon Street and the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Country Inn And Suites New Orleans
Country Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing