We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Ranked #43 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

3,523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,906
    1,197
    257
    96
    67
See reviews for
883
1,397
131
338
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lawton OK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We were please with our stay. The staff there was very helpful and friendly. Valet and check-in were very easy. The only complaint I have is our room, while comfortable, was nothing like the pictures on their website. It was a little dark with low ceilings but it worked for us. The common areas were comfortable and it was nice to sit and have a drink in the lobby. The free breakfast was okay, better than your average free breakfast. The location was great for the price we paid. We could walk almost anywhere. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcunningham34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Glad to hear that you had a great time with us! With all 155 rooms being a little bit different from each other, it can be tricky to represent all of them online. We definitely do our best to give a wide array of photos, and are additionally thankful to all the contributors here that add photos. Thanks for sharing your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Check in and out was easy. The room was clean and bell staff was attentive. Only several blocks from Bourbon Street. My friends loved the Popeyes right around the corner after our night out. I chose not to eat. :-) The valet parking was efficient checking in but the retrieval took 10-15 minutes.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the elevator
See more room tips
Green Features: I was only there one night so I don't have any thoughts on the environmently-friendly practices.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your review! Glad to hear that everything went great during your stay. Hopefully you get to come back and stay again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

I went with my mom to New Orleans for a wedding on June 7, 2014. I have stayed many times in New Orleans at different hotels, but this one is a hidden gem. We had a great room with a view of Magazine Street. It was very close to the stairwell and on the corner. The valet staff were great. The breakfast was amazing. I love the gym and the cozy pool area.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank lwise1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Sounds like everything went great! We love knowing that guests are having 5 star stays with us. Thank you for taking the time to share!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koronowo, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

I have been there in July 2014 for two nights with family. Hotel is made in old magazines buildings. They say each room is a bit different. Hotel looks great inside and outside. Rooms are clean and spacious with nice bathroom, good TV and refrigerator. Breakfast is pretty good with a lot of place to sit. Staff is very helpful and kind. At front desk you can always ask for some restaurant coupon or advise where to go. Location makes it really good value. Only one thing I didn't like is valet parking which is quite expensive - $33/day, happily there are 3 parking lots very close to the hotel (premium parking and central parking) which are a bit cheaper $25/day. All in all really good hotel very close to French Quarter.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maciexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Glad to hear you had a great time staying with us! Based on your profile location, it looks like a long trip - but hopefully your travels bring you back to New Orleans again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

My family and I appreciated this spot for what it was, a good value, nice looking and well maintained. It did not have the French Quarter flavor but it had a warehouse character. We wanted to stay away from the French Quarter crowds.
We never ventured to the pool, it is very small, not good for more than one family. There was a nice vestibule on the 4th flour community hall where the natural sunlight shone on a few chairs, I wish all the floors had the same sitting area. Be aware that many rooms do not have windows...that is the nature of a warehouse. Little disconcerting. Inside our room the queen beds and furnishings were of good quality.
The breakfast buffet was generous with many offerings including hot oatmeal, sausages and scrambled eggs. The coffee could be a bit hotter at the bar area which was for the "to go" cups. One personal objection I have with Country Inn & Suites is the quality of their paper products, in particular the facial tissue. It is a very poor standard to set. I think they should consider upgrading!
We found the staff respectful. They worked hard at pleasing the guests and the day we left they had their hands full with a rather unruly family reunion gathering.
This was a good choice for our New Orleans stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback! We definitely do everything we can to make sure guests have great experiences in New Orleans. We appreciate you sharing what we did well, and suggestions on how we could do even better. Hopefully when you return to New Orleans you give us a chance to earn that 5th star!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moline, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014

This hotel is located on Magazine street just a couple blocks from canal street. It is in walking distance to Royal street and Bourbon street. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. We were greeted every time we walked past the front desk. They also had complimentary cookies at the front desk every day which my family really enjoyed! There is a small bar with lounge. The bar was really pricey. Better off to walk a couple blocks to a liquor store and bring back to your room. The pool and pool area is nice. Our room was a one bedroom suite on the main level. It looked out onto Magazine Street which was great when there was not a running bus parked right in front of our windows. The bus would start up early in the morning and just sit there running for hours. The beds were comfortable. The bathroom was huge! We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms along the street have a lot of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MolineFamily95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Glad to hear you had a great time in New Orleans! Thank you for taking the time to share a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel
Central Business District
International House Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Address: 315 Magazine St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currently closed for renovation and expansion; due to reopen in late 2017. With its home-like decor and plentiful amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, New Orleans French Quarter offers comfort and convenience in the heart of downtown New Orleans. Our historic hotel is comprised of seven 19th century buildings, giving it a charming, boutique feel that artfully blends old world charm with modern comforts. Our prime location on Magazine Street near the French Quarter places our guests close to many nearby New Orleans activities and attractions, including Bourbon Street and the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Country Inn And Suites New Orleans
Country Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing