We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Ranked #44 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, UK
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great hotel in excellent location”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

The staff were wonderful at this great hotel. Our room was very comfortable, especially the cosy beds. Shower wasn't the best and the curtain didn't stop water escaping onto the floor. The public areas of the lobby were very unusual and made the hotel very appealing. The hotel is located just a 5 minute walk from the French Quarter. Breakfast was okay but got very busy, there were times we had to wait for food items that had run out and tables weren't cleared very quickly. In fairness, the first morning breakfast was fine but service and supplies lacked on the next two mornings of our stay - it was Easter weekend though so I imagine staff had time off. Overall, an excellent stay, we would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dromomaniacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share! We always appreciate seeing 5 star reviews, as creating 5 star experiences is always our goal. As you mention, the unique historic architecture definitely helps in creating those experiences! We apologize about the breakfast crowds - we always do our best to plan staffing accordingly, but occasionally the rush is a bit more than expected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,906
    1,197
    257
    96
    67
See reviews for
883
1,397
131
338
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Spent four nights here April 12 and 13th & April 19 and 20th, 2014, with a cruise in between.
Location was ideal. A quick walk across Canal and we were in the French Quarter. It is a quiet and clean hotel with plenty of space. All staff were very friendly. The breakfast had lots of choice. We really enjoyed our stay. We walked every day and night to the French Quarter and never felt unsafe. We would definitely recommend this hotel and will be staying here again on our next trip!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teee4Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Glad that both of your stays went great! New Orleans really is a perfect port to leave for a cruise from. It gives you just a little something extra to explore before/after that cannot be beat! Hopefully, you get to return again soon and explore some more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zelienople, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel, it has such a wonderful atmosphere and all of the staff were so helpful and kind. There is a concierge desk in the lobby and everyone of the people manning the desk were so helpful with lining up tours and suggestions of restaurants. The room was very comfortable. We so enjoyed the breakfast, just an added bonus , the food was very good and the breakfast room staff are great, they were constantly stocking the food and dishes and keeping everything clean. The location was great close enough to the action when you want it and far enough away for a peaceful night sleep.

We have recommended this hotel to our friends that will be visiting New Orleans this summer.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob54054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share! Its always GREAT to know that the team we have assembled is giving fantastic service and creating memorable stays. We really appreciate you recommending us to your friends, and hope that you get to come back soon too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Everybody had a smile and went out of their way for us. Great customer service! Location is perfect. Breakfast was very good but packed and only open until 9:30 on weekdays. I can't say enough about the attitude of the staff this hotel. one can tell

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your review! I really appreciate hearing that the customer service was so impressive - Its always our goal to help guests have a great New Orleans experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

We planned a family getaway, just to go somewhere warm and away from the cold weather back home. Our daughter chose New Orleans. We always try to stay at Country Inns, and I was thrilled there was one in NOLA.
Upon arrival, Cory was there with a smile and was so welcoming. He was just wonderful. The front desk staff was amazing (we checked in April 21 in the evening) and welcoming- eased our nerves from a long ride. He made us feel like welcomed old friends. Our room was clean and far away from the hustle and bustle up front. Our only complaint would be the garbage truck every morning- but that's nothing the hotel can control. we weren't out partying, so waking up early wasn't a problem.
Breakfast was great. Hot and cold choices and great fresh fruit. The absolute best part of breakfast were the employees. I didn't get their names, but the two gentleman and the woman working between the 22-24 were just fantastic. They went above and beyond what any hotel staff expectations I had. When we return to NOLA, this is the ONLY place we will stay.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank izzybell06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! We really appreciate you sharing. We know what a difference a warm welcome and kind smile can make when we travel, and try to give that some service to all our guests visiting us! Hopefully your travels bring you back to New Orleans again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

My husband, our teenage son, and I went to New Orleans in April 2014. The weather was in the low 70's, very nice. We wanted to stay
just outside the French quarter, so on trip advisor we found Country Inn and Suites. It was a
short few block walk to the quarter and the location was great for us. First I should start out
by saying we took a taxi from the airport to the hotel. We were very glad we didn't rent a car.
The trolley's and buses were close by, and we didn't have to pay to park the car at the hotel.
About a month before the trip I contacted senior sales manager Lisa Camp and told her we were
sensitive to noise, and would like a room with a window. She was very nice and professional
and said she would do her best to make sure we were happy. When we arrived we asked to see
the room first, room 404 overlooking Magazine st. We could see that this hotel wanted to keep the historic feel of a converted warehouse, and many thanks
to Lisa for being so approachable and kind. We had a queen bed and our son had a pull out sofa
bed. Unfortunately neither was comfortable so I asked to speak to Lisa and she immediately arranged for a board to be put under our bed which made it better. Our son was happy just to have a small suite to himself, so off we went to explore. The French Quarter was fun with lots of good restaurants like The Hard Rock Café, and The Ruby Slipper just a block from the hotel. Also there were many unique shops, art galleries, and antique shops. I would
like to add that the hotel had a surprisingly good hot and cold breakfast that they changed everyday. The hotel was very clean. The best was the fresh cut up fruit that was replenished on a regular basis by very
friendly staff. Other good restaurants worth noting was the famous Café du Monde for beignets
(doughnuts) and café au lait of which we eat outside at night. Also Zea rottiserie and grill was very good. We found a lot to do in our four day stay, but the best part was the World War 11 museum about a 7 block walk from the hotel. Very moving and informative. Also they had a 4D movie that was amazing and well worth the money since both of our Dad's had been in World War 11. Another nice thing we did was to take the trolley to the Garden District to see the nice antebellum mansions. Unfortunately on our last night we were woken up at 3am by drunk, arguing people next door, but when we called down to the desk we were told it was already being taken care of. Upon check out we mentioned this incident and
felt the hotel handled the situation in a very satisfactory way. We left happy, and we would
recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 404 overlooking Magazine st. One of the quieter rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sherri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Glad that you a great stay and would recommend us! We really appreciate you taking the time to write such an extensive review. While it sounds like there were two hiccups, I am thrilled to know that you considered them to be so well handled and will be sure to thank the staff that worked with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone ,Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Very comfortable and reasonably priced. My daughter and I shared a suite for 5days. The extra room made it much more enjoyable for our stay. Close to all the action in French Quarter and close to River trolley when our feet were needing a rest. Breakfast was nice and the front staff, and porters ,especially Cory and Jamal , were so welcoming and friendly. Our car was brought promptly when requested and we were always greeted warmly upon our return. Splash pool area looked inviting but we didn't use it this trip. Would I stay here again? Definitely!!!

Room Tip: Having a suite for a stay of 5 days was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdoherty9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
The best endorsement is always that you would love to return! Hopefully you get to come back and visit us again soon! Thank you for writing a review, and I will be sure to pass on the kind words to the staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#45 of 163 in New Orleans
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Address: 315 Magazine St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currently closed for renovation and expansion; due to reopen in late 2017. With its home-like decor and plentiful amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, New Orleans French Quarter offers comfort and convenience in the heart of downtown New Orleans. Our historic hotel is comprised of seven 19th century buildings, giving it a charming, boutique feel that artfully blends old world charm with modern comforts. Our prime location on Magazine Street near the French Quarter places our guests close to many nearby New Orleans activities and attractions, including Bourbon Street and the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Country Inn And Suites New Orleans
Country Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing