We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Ranked #44 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
West palm beach Florida
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“December Visit”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

This was a great hotel for New Orleans. It was in a great location and the staff was great. We checked in and needed another room which change was done without complains. The breakfast was great. Plenty to eat and varied by day. Everything was within walking distance, I would strongly recommend eating at Felix and Dress It. Although we were next to the elevator, we did not hear it at all. Rooms were big for New Orleans standards.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Icecreamcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Glad to hear you had a fantastic stay! We definitely try to do our best to make sure everything goes smoothly, and great New Orleans experiences are had -- its always appreciated to know that we hit the mark. Hopefully you get to return and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,906
    1,197
    257
    96
    67
See reviews for
883
1,397
131
338
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We had a great experience during our four day stay at the County Inn & Suites New Orleans. The location is perfect--easy walking distance to the French Quarter and to the Warehouse District and to the Riverfront and Harrahs area. Best of all--it's a block from Mothers and Bon Ton is right down the street! The room was great--we had a king one bedroom suite on the 4th floor. Our room overlooked the street and a little plaza across the street. Not loud at all. Service was excellent from the valet/bell service to the front desk staff and housekeeping. The concierge was excellent and gave us great advice. The breakfast was fantastic also. I have absolutely no complaints about my stay here and would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sherilynb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share! We are glad to hear you had such a great trip! We always shoot for great New Orleans experiences. Hopefully your travels bring you back to visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I was to attend a meeting in New Orleans and was booked to the country inn.
The hotel is a 19th century building but maintained well.
The rooms are comfortable,the bathrooms are also spacious.
The checkin took sometime due to the conference crowd.
The breakfast spread is limited.
The staff are helpful.
The hotel has complimentary wifi for all it's guests,which is a boon .
I did have a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank govindbabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feeback. We are glad you had a good stay during your convention. We see its a long journey to return to New Orleans, but we hope your travels treat you well and one day bring you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Just a short walk off of Canal street in a quieter bit of New Orleans sits the Country Inn. Very clean, quite comfortable and thankfully away from Bourbon Street. (Bourbon is great but I wouldn't want to live there.) Country Inn is a short walk to the parties and attractions but still removed enough to be almost peaceful. Every morning begins with an included hot buffet breakfast that should satisfy almost every appetite. Great coffee and snacks to take with you on your activities. The kitchen staff very efficiently keep the buffet continuously stocked and tables clean for the continuous rush of guests.
We were greeted every morning upon exiting by the most pleasant valet, Kentrell. He made us feel welcome whenever we returned to the hotel and had an infectious smile and great attitude. Definitely an asset to this hotel and fringe benefit to guests!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J_L_Edmonton2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback! We really appreciate hearing about the things that helped make your stay great, and will be sure to pass on the kind words and pats on the back to those that went the extra mile. Hopefully you get to return to New Orleans again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Upon check-in we were given an upgrade to a suite for a nominal fee. We stayed in 304 and it was very spacious and quiet with high, high ceilings. It overlooked Magazine Street yet we were never bothered by any outside noise. The valets kept our luggage safely stowed away for us since we arrived very early..7:30 am. Amazingly, our suite was ready in a couple of hours! WOW! The suite did have a mini fridge and a microwave.

I love that coffee, tea and filtered water are available 24 hours a day. The breakfast buffet looked great but we mostly ate in the Quarter or at the Ruby Slipper or Mother's for breakfast.

The lobby has a nice ambiance and is a good place to sit and drink a cup of coffee and plan your day! Concierges are very helpful and ours greeted us with mardis gras beads upon arrival. In fact, everyone from reception, to valets, housekeeping and concierges were exceedingly friendly and helpful.

Magazine Street becomes Decatur Street in the Quarter and has lots of good shopping. We love the location of this Country Inn and Suites--very close to the French Quarter yet also easy access to restaurants in the Central Business District...all by foot.

Room Tip: Room 304 overlooks Magazine Street and is far, far away from the elevators. It is a king suite with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Glad to hear you had a great stay! Thanks for sharing the feedback . We definitely try to do everything we can to create 5 star New Orleans experiences, and love hearing that it was accomplished. Hopefully you get to return to New Orleans again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

This place was very cool. The lobby exudes budget luxury and the staff was very friendly. The room we stayed in was a suite that had very high ceilings (approximately 15 feet, seriously). Two flatscreen TVs, one in the bedroom and one in the living area was a nice touch. Additionally, the living area had a sleeper sofa meaning this room could plausibly sleep 4. My only knock on the place was that noise was somewhat of an issue. Our room faced the street and in New Orleans there is frequently a party going on into the wee hours and inebriated revelers walking about. Additionally, the ceiling above included the exposed floor joists from the room above us, meaning a fair amount of sound transferred to our room merely from the above patron's footsteps.

In short, so long as you aren't a light sleeper I'd recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share! We really appreciate hearing that you had a great stay. Normally one of the biggest perks of the location is that we are close enough to walk to all the fun, but far enough that the party isnt right outside your window - we are definitely sorry that the outside noise spread this direction the night you stayed with us! Hopefully you get to return soon, and we can earn that 5th star!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 5, 2013

CLEAN. The staff were top notch and Johnny-on-the-spot. Luxury at a fraction of the cost of comparable properties. Breakfast was full, HOT and delicious. Walking distance to anything in the French Quarter and trolley lines convenient. this place is a GEM!!!

Room Tip: Request room in back by elevator. The feather pillows are amazing so if you like then request extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank verobeachFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Glad you had a great time. We know how valuable everyone's time and money are and we definitely want all our guests to get the most out of their trips. Hopefully your travels bring you back to New Orleans again soon! Thanks for taking the time share!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#45 of 163 in New Orleans
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Address: 315 Magazine St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currently closed for renovation and expansion; due to reopen in late 2017. With its home-like decor and plentiful amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, New Orleans French Quarter offers comfort and convenience in the heart of downtown New Orleans. Our historic hotel is comprised of seven 19th century buildings, giving it a charming, boutique feel that artfully blends old world charm with modern comforts. Our prime location on Magazine Street near the French Quarter places our guests close to many nearby New Orleans activities and attractions, including Bourbon Street and the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Country Inn And Suites New Orleans
Country Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing