We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 25th wedding anniv. trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Ranked #45 of 165 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Hotel very clean & charming! Great location for getting around New Orleans! Can walk to a lot of sights & attractions!
I can not say enough about "The Wonderful Staff" They are all very nice and helpful! The valet guys are really fun to talk with! The Concierge people very friendly & helpful! Bre was our go to girl at the Concierge Desk! She was so Happy & Friendly everyday! She was very helpful and knowledgeable about what to do and see in New Orleans!!! We had a great stay! A wonderful way to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary!!! Thank You All!!!
We will be back to visit again!!!
The only thing different I would do is: I don't think you need to spend the money renting a car and then have to pay for hotel parking everyday($28 a day plus tax) A person can walk to a lot of the sights from hotel, also use public transportation, the street cars, taxi, buses!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TamLynnLew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,524)
There are newer reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,065 - 2,071 of 3,524 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Country Inn and our experience was great. Initially I had a problem with the room size but quickly got over it. The rooms are small and cramped. There's no moving space especially in the King rooms. The bathroom is quite small and so is the closet space. I was disappointed at the room size of the King room. It felt and looked as my college dorm room. There was too much furniture in the room for the size; however, all the furniture was necessary. It is not your typical Country Inn. The hotel is centrally located which is a major plus. The breakfast was great and the staff were the best I've ever experienced in any of my travels locally and abroad. Many hotel chains management need to take note of how Country Inn staff treat their guests. From the moment of arrival with the valet staff, front desk staff, housekeeping, bartender, any everyone else; they were professional, courteous, helpful and genuinely concerned. I would recommend this hotel to anyone based on the treatment we received.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debmallard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We spent 3 nights at this hotel recently.My daughter and her 2 girls had never been to New Orleans and wanted badly to go,I researched the hotels on TA and chose this hotel .Everything that has been said about this property is on the mark.The photos of the hotel don't do it justice.It is so much more authentic in the No tradition .The rooms are very spacious and nicely decorated.The breakfast in the morning is very good but overly crowed.Make sure to get there early ,or right before they close between 9 and9:30 .The staff are really engaged and all seem to really enjoy their jobs.The real feature of this hotel is that it doesn't break the bank. We had room 402 a suite overlooking Magazine ST.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 604Lew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

As a whole the hotel had character and the staff was excellent. Front Desk and Valet were extremely efficient and very friendly. The room was very adequate and cute ( minus the view which was of a parking lot but we heard no noise from people or cars whatsoever.) The courtyard area was nice to sit and converse among friends and other guest. But the absolute star of the show was John the Bartender.

I am a native who was visiting home but my girlfriend was new to New Orleans. From John's conversation, to his humor, recommendations, and most importantly his bartending skills, John was definitely the star of the show. I am management for a property in the Historic District in Savannah, Georgia and I would steal him in a heartbeat. Never would I have thought a tiny bar in a hotel would have been one of the highlights of our trip but we made sure to come down and spend a couple hours with John every night before we hit the town. Not only does he bartend but he was making coffee, pizzas, crawfish pies, etc for numerous guests that would order food. He was our favorite aspect of the hotel and the number 1 reason we will be returning. Management has a one of a kind employee on their hands.

Suggestions: Try the drink Swamp Water which is located at the bar. Just don't mix it with a Bloody Mary and a Hurricane like my girlfriend did lol.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pimpcules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Just returned from NOLA and stayed 4 nights at the Country Inn. It was a super choice for us, with more amenities than the Marriott on Canal, where the convention was that we were attending. Room was adquated, very clean and well appointed, as was the bathroom. Hotel location super as well, and, for NOLA, fairly reasonable valet parking. Breakfast had lots of choices as well.

Service was excellent, especially with porters and valet service, and front desk also made sure any requests were granted.

My ONLY complaing, and this one of MINE, is that the coffee was TERRIBLE!! Even the bold, was not bold. But hotel excellent, and would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramcclain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Glad to hear you had a great stay! We definitely do our best to make sure that everyone is going the extra mile to create great experiences. I apologize about the coffee not being to your taste - I know that can definitely be something that is personal and part of why we try to have a couple different offerings available 24/7. Hopefully your travels bring you back to New Orleans soon and at the very least we can help find you a good cup nearby!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We enjoyed a six night stay at this lovely hotel. All of the staff were friendly, and helpful. The concierge directed us to several vegetarian-friendly restaurants (very hard to find!), which helped a lot. The 24 hour convenience store at reception was very "convenient" for drinks and snacks (and nail clippers!).
The location is excellent; just on the edge of the French Quarter. This gives easy access to all of the big attractions of NOLA, whilst being far enough away from the revelry to get a good nights sleep. The complimentary breakfast was an excellent way to start a busy day of sightseeing, and although we didn't sample any, the food available from the bar looked delicious.
The hotel itself is very charming, being a renovation of multiple buildings. It offers all the amenities of a hotel chain, whilst maintaining individual character.
If we return to the Big Easy, we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuphor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Glad to hear you had a great stay and everything went fantastic at the hotel. Also glad to hear you were able to find some good dining options. I know that most menus around New Orleans at first glance do not appear vegetarian friendly - but with so many great chefs, most are VERY willing to help accommodate requests. Additionally, there are a couple of fantastic places known for their vegetarian options within walking distance. Always happy to know that the concierge was able to point you in the right direction! Hopefully you get to plan that trip back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Just spent one week at this hotel on Magazine Street. What a great stay! The location is perfect - close enough to walk to all famous areas ( Bourbon St , French Quarter , Casino , Aquarium ) but on a quiet street. The staff were very helpful and courteous. The complimentary breakfast was wonderful - hot ( bacon , eggs etc ) cold ( cereal, bagels , pastries etc ) 24 hr juice and coffee. Plus 'Happy Hour ' ( half price drinks and free munchies ) at the little lobby bar. The hotel has a tiny swimming pool - more like a giant hot tub - which is situated in a quaint courtyard. The small fitness room has 2 treadmills and 1 elliptical ( both newer, which is unusual ) and good working order. Get there early, as it fills up , and not much space for anything else than using machines. We loved the 'library' , just inside front lobby. Perfect for photo opps and relaxing with a nice glass of red. The concierge service was very helpful - we used it daily for restaurant recommendations.
Room was standard Country Inn , adequate , showing a little wear. Nice down pillows. Elevators slow. The hotel is old, so a bit of a maze getting from elevator to room, depending on which one your staying in . Worth it though, for location.
While in New Orleans , eat at Huck Finns ( less than 10 min walk from hotel ) . Venture down to Frenchman Street area to see some amazing local live music. Bourbon Street is busy , dirty and touristy - but good to see it , briefly....
Everyone should go and visit New Orleans, at least once.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chester4091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

We definitely agree that everyone should visit atleast once! Thanks for taking the time to share so much from your stay. Hopefully you get to come back soon for another!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#47 of 165 in New Orleans
1,304 reviews
Central Business District
International House Hotel
International House Hotel
#73 of 165 in New Orleans
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel
Central Business District
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
#81 of 165 in New Orleans
1,316 reviews
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter

Address: 315 Magazine St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $119 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currently closed for renovation and expansion; due to reopen in late 2017. With its home-like decor and plentiful amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, New Orleans French Quarter offers comfort and convenience in the heart of downtown New Orleans. Our historic hotel is comprised of seven 19th century buildings, giving it a charming, boutique feel that artfully blends old world charm with modern comforts. Our prime location on Magazine Street near the French Quarter places our guests close to many nearby New Orleans activities and attractions, including Bourbon Street and the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Country Inn And Suites New Orleans
Country Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing