We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Ranked #39 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

As it being our first stay in the Big Easy. We wanted close to activities but quiet area. We were not disappointed. The hotel is very charming and the staff is excellent. Close to the French quarter but not noisy. Very impressed overall, especially with 3 kids in tow !

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matello5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Great to hear you had a fantastic first taste of New Orleans! Thanks for taking the time to share your review. Hopefully you get to return soon to explore some more!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,525)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,126 - 2,132 of 3,525 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were very excited for our first trip to New Orleans and it is important to note that we are not hotel snobs. As long as the room is comfortable and everything works, we are happy. Let me start with the positive aspects of the hotel: the interior and exterior are nicely clean and kept with a rustic feel. There is minimal cheesy artwork on the walls and the exposed beams and pipes are actually homey. The location is great! The French Quarter is a couple of blocks away; most things are within walking distance. There is also free continental breakfast each morning that is pretty nice. That's it, that is all that is good about this hotel. Our room was HOT. New Orleans is swampy hot and with our A/C cranked as low as it would go, it was HOT in the room. We were told by the front desk that the 5th floor is hotter than the other floors because it's an add-on. Next, our room keys NEVER worked. We had to have our key card "rekeyed" at least 3-4 times a day, EVERY DAY of our stay. To be honest, I'm surprised that they continued to ask for my picture ID. The WiFi was shotty and would not work. I had an important deadline to meet and missed it because the engineer that was sent to my room was unable to figure out why the WiFi didn't work. The last straw was when I reported all of this, the only compensation that they were willing to offer for a stay wrought with inconvenience was to comp ONE, that's right ONE, day of parking. $28 is all that they were willing to offer to retain a customer. Do yourself a favor and skip this place. There are so many hotels in the French Quarter that probably care more about customer service than this place.

Room Tip: The fifth floor has poorly working A/C and either no window or a small one with a terrible view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank prettynpink0119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I am glad to hear that a lot of things went well with the stay, I am really disappointed to know that there were troubles along the way that were not handled ideally. We definitely pride ourselves on creating great guest experiences, and hope that you can give us another chance in the future to live up to the high standards we have in place for ourselves. If you would like to discuss the issues further, definitely feel free to contact us directly! I will certainly be forwarding the comments to all relevant parties, so we can learn from the issues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had read rave reviews about this Hotel on TripAdvisor before we booked it for our annual 4th of July getaway. Reasonably priced and with great service, quiet and clean, excellent location. We were still a bit skeptical, until we arrived yesterday at around 4 pm.

The lady at the check-in/front desk was gracious and full of smiles while explaining the humdrum minutiae to every arriving guest, including us. Browse the pictures and what you see there is exactly what you will get. Since the building was converted from an old warehouse, it has a few oddities in layout that you wouldn't expect from a regular hotel, but the staff is very accommodating, and there are 3 separate elevators that will help you cross those hurdles.

Another reviewer had commented that the concierge called about 20 minutes after arrival to check if everything was fine. We received the same service and the lady was nice to explain that the free internet is indeed just that, no hassle, no passwords, just hook up the cable, or turn on your wifi and you're right there. The TV in our room was computer compatible too, so for the tech savvy among you, you'll be able to hook your laptop up to your TV and add your netflix/hulu services etc. to the about 50 cox cable channels the hotel provides.

The rooms are clean and provide everything you could need away from home. Microwave, coffee maker, fridge, glasses and cups.The closet includes an iron and ironing board and a safe to make sure your belongings stay where you left them if you don't want to lug them along. The bathroom is spacious and clean, and the shampoo, conditioner and lotion provided are recognizable brands from home. The beds are comfortable and the pillows fresh and fluffy. And if you don't like it to be chilly in your room, you can fight with your honey over setting the temperature on the thermostat.

Breakfast is included and recommended. But get there early, because the families will start coming down at around 7:30. They serve from 6 to 9. Omlettes, bagels, toast, 4 different types of juice and cereal, sausage, fritatas, all types of jam, honey and even marmalade, fruits and yogurt. And of course coffee.

And if that's not enough to convince you? Location, location, location. From the front door of your Country Inn you walk 2 minutes to Canal St, 10 minutes to the Casino, 10 minutes to St. Louis Cathedral and Jackson Square. 10 minutes to Bourbon St., 15 minutes to the French Market, 20 minutes (or a 30 minute bus ride on the 11 for 1.25 a person) to the Audubon Zoo...you get the picture.

It couldn't be more perfect if you tried :-) And they did NOT pay me to write this, cross my heart.

A tip for those coming with car. Don't. If you have the option to fly in without a car, it'll be better than paying upwards of 30 dollars for parking a day and you really don't need a car to get around.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This hotel was in a great location for our short stay in New Orleans. Just one block away from the French Quarter and streetcar access and a few blocks away from the Aquarium and World War II museum. The hotel is made up of 3 old buildings with some new additions. It has been nicely restored and was going through some upgrades when we were there. The service was great. Everyone was friendly and helpful. The room we stayed in was very clean and the beds were comfortable. The room was small though. Not really enough room for all the furniture they had crammed in there. The bathroom was spacious though. I don't think there are too many good views to be had at this hotel. Ours was out the back onto what used to be a street but is now an alley. I think the only good views would be of the pool courtyard or out the front of the hotel. The hotel was relatively quiet for a hotel in a downtown area. The pool area is beautiful but the pool is small.

Room Tip: The only rooms with any view appear to be on the front of the hotel or overlooking the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bretsewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed in early June for 4 nights. The staff was very friendly and helpful, rooms were exceptionally clean, and breakfast was great (also having coffee and filtered water available all day was a plus). Hotel was a few min walk to the french quarters, streetcars, and the waterfront. Would absolutely stay here again. Thanks for a great vacation

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank moulinrgegrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thanks for staying with us, and thanks for taking the time to share the experience on Tripadvisor. We hope that you do get to stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Proximity to French Quarters was great, but away and quiet at the same time. Very convenient location. Also within walking distance to the superdome.

Rooms were very clean, good size. Hotel itself was also very clean, with little touches like homemade cookies at the front desk. The complimentary breakfast was a great start to every morning. Staff was great, very helpful.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay away from the craziness of Bourbon St, but still have easy access to the party.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hwmkjf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thanks for the great review! I often use the phrase the "best of both worlds" for the hotel. I think it applies well both to the location (as you said, close enough to walk anywhere quickly but just far enough for peace and quiet), and the buildings (preserving old French Quarter charm, while offering modern amenities). Its always great to hear that the balance is appreciated!

Thanks for taking the time to share, and we hope that your travels bring you back to New Orleans soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This was my first stay at this location and what a wonderful experience from all aspects and would highly recommend this to anybody staying in New Orleans! I will definitely stay at this location during my future visits to New Orleans.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SEW1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share the feedback! We really appreciate the kind words and endorsement. Hopefully you do get to return and stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Convention Center
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter

Address: 315 Magazine St., New Orleans, LA 70130-2424
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#18 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $119 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currently closed for renovation and expansion; due to reopen in late 2017. With its home-like decor and plentiful amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, New Orleans French Quarter offers comfort and convenience in the heart of downtown New Orleans. Our historic hotel is comprised of seven 19th century buildings, giving it a charming, boutique feel that artfully blends old world charm with modern comforts. Our prime location on Magazine Street near the French Quarter places our guests close to many nearby New Orleans activities and attractions, including Bourbon Street and the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Country Inn And Suites New Orleans
Country Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing