We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Ranked #42 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for the last three nights of a trip that took in Key West, Miami, Orlando etc. Picked it at random off the internet to have a destination point in new Orleans. It turned out to be a real bonus. Situated in Magazine Street, just off the French quarter and very handy for all the tourist attractions. The hotel is made from a series of old warehouse and retail properties and has been designed to reflect this, the lobby and lounge area is very impressive. Breakfast was adequate but with so many restaurants and café/bars within strolling distance you don't need to eat in the hotel. A very good hotel and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frostyLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,903
    1,194
    256
    96
    66
See reviews for
881
1,395
131
336
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Great pace to stay in NO. Away from the crowds of Bourbon St. But near enough to get around town. B'fast had plenty of choose. Staff nice and friendly. Has a good laundry room. Nice cookies to help yourself to which is a nice touch. Nothing is too much trouble.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. Away from ice machines and the open balcony looking into the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonty1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Everything very nice at this unique hotel. Very welcoming atmosphere and excellent concierge services. Perfect location while visiting new Orleans. Convenient to French quarter and downtown sites and restaurants. Breakfast different each day during our four night stay. Staff very accommodating. After original booking, saw another deal on-line that saved me $200 overall. Called 1-800 number and they changed booking amount to reflect the change. It did require payment upfront, but worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollandJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Georgia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We have stayed at Country Inn and Suites on Magazine Street on many occasions. The reason we keep returning is because of the fantastic value. There aren't many places in NOLA where you can get a great room combined with great service and great pricing. Every room we have stayed in has high ceilings with exposed wooden beams and brick walls, free wifi, and flat screen tvs. This hotel is located in just the right place - - only 2 blocks away from the excitement of the French Quarter, 3 blocks away from the River, and within walking distance to every location in the Central Business District. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drdewrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Higganum, Connecticut
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Pleasantly surprised. Complimentary breakfast was a huge bonus and so were the cookies at the front desk. Loved the decor. Had a street view room was initially nervous about street noise but no issue at all.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mollyj8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Booked this room with club Carlson points plus cash. It was the 3 rd hotel we stayed in during the trip. I'm a loyal customer and have nothing bad to say about the staff, they were wonderful as always. The pool is really a huge hotub which was great for soothing sore legs and feet after a long week of walking. The space itself was interesting with beamed ceilings about 20 ft high. We had a king facing the Alley which was fine because I thought it would be quiet. Unfortunally it wasn't. Our mini fridge made strange squeeking sounds and we had to unplug it. There was light coming through the floorboards from the room above which also let in sound. There were strange creaking sounds all night. The room was very small, we couldn't even lay our suitcases down flat. Claustrophobic, even with a huge window. I can say that I wouldn't stay here again. Courtyard Iberville was a lower price and way nicer. I slept like a baby there and at the Sheraton.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vonniegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliffe, Colorado
Level Contributor
159 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

From the time we arrived until we left we had a wonderful time. The soaking pool was amazing - especially since we walked our legs to stumps. Tanya, the concierge is a Gem! - I even wrote the company about her - she was so helpful! We will definitely stay here again - it is close to everything!

Room Tip: become a member of their club - frequent user - free - we were upgraded to a suite at no extra charg...
See more room tips
Green Features: won't change sheets unless asked to - every thrid day and can reuse towels...
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mountainswans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
That's great to hear you did so much adventuring during your time here! Our dipping pool is just the thing to comfort those busy feet after a long day of sight-seeing. We're super excited you enjoyed the perks of being a Club Carlson member! Complimentary upgrades are just one of the many benefits our members receive and we're so pleased you enjoyed yourselves. Thanks so much for your glowing review and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#18 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#43 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Address: 315 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its home-like decor and plentiful amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, New Orleans French Quarter offers comfort and convenience in the heart of downtown New Orleans. Our historic hotel is comprised of seven 19th century buildings, giving it a charming, boutique feel that artfully blends old world charm with modern comforts. Our prime location on Magazine Street near the French Quarter places our guests close to many nearby New Orleans activities and attractions, including Bourbon Street and the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Country Inn And Suites New Orleans
Country Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing