We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Ranked #43 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Location...”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

For everything New Orleans offers. Walking Distance to French Quarter, The Mississippi River, Street Cars, Harrah's, Superdome, etc.

Sits two blocks from Canal Street and reasonable. Just outside the French Quarter. You can walk to all the French Quarter offers or jump on the street car and head up to the Garden District and Uptown. This was my third time in New Orleans, I prefer Magazine Street in the Garden District and towards the Park for a nice meal and a few drinks over the French Quarter.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,904
    1,197
    256
    96
    66
See reviews for
883
1,395
131
337
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Losantville
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Highly recommend this hotel. Everyone is nice, informative and they love their city. Very close to everything, but not on top of the craziness. I appreciate a place with character, not the typical box cutter place, and this has it. If we should ever find ourselves in this friendly city again, we will stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TSCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mammoth lakes, ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel. It was convenient, quite, quaint and reasonable. The location made it easy to reach the French Quarter, great dining, shopping, the river, St. Charles trolley and museums. It was a good base for first timers to NOLA. The hotel is a series of historic buildings with interesting architecture and its just far enough from Bourbon Street to make it free from the noise and commotion. The rates are reasonable compared to other hotels in the area. A plus was the free internet and the plentiful and good hot breakfast. The concierge Diana was great, her accented cheery greeting and assistance to help us locate those out of the way places was appreciated. The only down side was the hotels vehicle parking fee. Street parking and garage parking can be upwards of 25 dollars a day. We'd stay here again just need to find a less expensive place to park the car.

Room Tip: Rooms can be small, a role out bed left us with no space to walk. I spoke to the front desk about ou...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ziekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Based on TripAdvisor reviews Mom, daughter and myself stayed for 5 days. We stayed on 3rd floor in suite by road. My daughter loved the room, the great big windows and even our mediocre view. Yes, a bit loud during the early mornings when garbage was collected but we managed to fall back asleep. Cleanliness was good enough for my mother's high standards and sofa bed was comfy. There were a few spots on carpet that had been cleaned but imagine they'll replace it when they refresh the rooms. The morning breakfast was decent and the staff kept up and maintained a smile even when individual guests were loading up their plates making demands for more and not caring about the people waiting patiently in line behind them. The staff as a whole was friendly, helpful and showed plenty of good ol Southern hospitality- a warm smile, a pleasant greeting and eye contact. The pool was small-think it was a big hot tub actually. Overall a smaller hotel with charm and character. It was our kinda place so would stay again and recommend to others.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank LeatherSoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
We're so pleased our reviews lived up to your expectations! We pride ourselves on our great online repuation and we're excited you enjoyed yourselves. We thank you for visiting us and hope to see you again soon at Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

My wife and I, and another couple visited New Orleans in March to celebrate my wife's birthday (a big one, but I'll never tell her age). We stayed at the Country Inn because my wife has Carlson points from business travel, which reduced the already inexpensive rates. It was conveniently located within walking distance of the French Quarter but far enough away that it was free of the Bourbon St. noise and commotion. The place is in historic buildings with interesting architecture. The free morning breakfasts were good (except for the sunnyside eggs - scrambled were much better). The staff were friendly and the rooms were clean and comfortable. And the free internet was a bonus you often don't find in more expensive hotels. Overall I'd recommend the place as a good home base when visiting NOLA.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank floydbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Really enjoyed staying at this hotel. We did a lot of shopping around and this hotel is definitely the best bang for the buck. The rates were reasonable - for New Orleans that is - and it was one of the few places we found that had both free internet and the free breakfast. The concierge service was fantastic. We were given wonderful advice regarding restaurants and attractions as well as advice on where "not to go". It was an easy walk to both the French Quarter and the river. Would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qhreggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Glad to hear we lived up to your expectations! Thanks for taking the time to share the great review. We agree it really is the best of both worlds - close enough to enjoy all the fun, but just far enough that the noise doesn't follow you home! All the amenities you could want, but at a reasonable price too. We really try to keep a great balance. Hopefully you get to come back and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Connecticut
Level Contributor
275 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We booked this hotel 3 years ago because we needed a hotel which was close to the action of this beautiful city without being in the middle of it. We were in our late 50s, so we new a bit about the perfect location for us. This hotel was clean and quirky. It was built from a couple of older buildings. Our room was facing a courtyard which was only a problem one night when kids were using the pool late. A call to the front desk did told us that the pool was left open late at night. This was a negative when you wanted to sleep. So next time we would ask for a quiet room away from their pool. Otherwise the staff was helpful and arranged a few tours leaving right from their front door. I should also say the location was a short walk to the casino and close to the trolleys.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CTRTeach11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Always great to hear from a seasoned New Orleans traveler that enjoyed the hotel! Hopefully your travels bring you back to New Orleans again soon and you can stay with us again. Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Address: 315 Magazine St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currently closed for renovation and expansion; due to reopen in late 2017. With its home-like decor and plentiful amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, New Orleans French Quarter offers comfort and convenience in the heart of downtown New Orleans. Our historic hotel is comprised of seven 19th century buildings, giving it a charming, boutique feel that artfully blends old world charm with modern comforts. Our prime location on Magazine Street near the French Quarter places our guests close to many nearby New Orleans activities and attractions, including Bourbon Street and the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Country Inn And Suites New Orleans
Country Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing