We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Ranked #45 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2013

My family met in New Orlenas for a vacation and found this hotel a good value. It is located one and a half blocks from the French Quarter, 15 minute walk from the WWII museum and close to street car and bus stops. Rooms were clean but those on the Atrium area tended to be a little noisy. Do not get the rooms close to the elevators! We did and asked to move the next day.

Staff was very helpful both in moving from the first room and in answering any questions we had about the area. Do youself a favor and get to know John, the Bartender. Very knowlegable and friendly. Loves his town.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the Atrium
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chumash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,525)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,410 - 2,416 of 3,525 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in Nov 2012. The area was very safe, only 3 blocks to the French Quarter, 6 blocks to the WW II Museum. Lovely decor. We got a king-bed suite because of a promotion. The bedroom was small but the high ceilings make it feel fine. The sitting area looked out over the open central atrium area. The room was very clean. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was all you could ever want: hot (eggs, meat), cold cereals and pastries, oatmeal, waffles, etc. I would come back here again and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WBL01730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

My family (husband and 17 yo son) stayed 13 December to 17 December 2012. We found the hotel to be quite a handy location to walk to the different areas and also handy to the local bus stop to travel a little further afield and feel like a local. The hotel foyer is lovely although the "business centre" consists of 2 computers near the entrance. Our room was on the 5th floor and was a one bedroom suite with 2 queen beds. Not too noisy other than a loud party on the Saturday night which sounded more like women fighting next door. Rooms felt "old" and dark but large, comfortable and clean. Friendly staff. Breakfast was usual fare with nice variety.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingGumby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel from December 7 to 14, 2012, checking out on the 14th.

The hotel itself (building, decor, etc) was very nice and historic. The hotel is on the edge of the French Quarter and we chose it for it's proximity to the French Quarter as well as it's character. We had read good reviews of this hotel online.

The hotel was pretty, clean, and most of the staff were friendly and/or helpful.

However, when we got our final statement under the door the morning we were about to check out, we noticed a problem with our bill.

Luckily, we carefully read our statement because there was a parking fee added to our bill and automatically charged to our credit card. This was a red flag to us as we had FLOWN into the city and did not rent a car or have any sort of car with us.

We took our statement to the front desk where we were accused (by the clerk) of parking a car on the first night of our stay, despite having explained to her that we flew in from Canada and that we did not have a car. The only proof the hotel had that we had parked a car was a handwritten ticket from the valet.

The attitude of the front desk clerk was that we must have parked a car otherwise how would the valets have gotten our name? After arguing at length with the clerk and finally demanding to speak with the manager, then being sent back to our room to wait for a phone call, it was finally explained to us that the valet made a mistake with the list of room numbers and names of people in the rooms. The hotel refunded the parking surcharge and the manager did offer an apology. However, this apology did little to mend an already tarnished morning.

Today is January 11, 2013. My husband and I received our credit card statement. Guess what we find on the statement!? A charge from the Country Inn and Suites New Orleans for $140.40 CAD! And for what? We are not certain. We had prepaid all of our nights at this hotel before even leaving our home back in December.

We called the hotel and spoke with the front desk. After putting us on hold to investigate, the reasoning we were given for this charge was:

"There was a glitch in our system. We will refund you the amount and it will show up on your next statement."

The clerk was unable to provide a reference number in case the refund is not on our next statement. The clerk was also unable to provide a reason for the glitch or what this amount was for.

We remarked that, had we not carefully read our statement, this hotel would have made an extra $140.40CAD on us and we would have never been the wiser.

We asked the clerk: "When would the hotel have notified us of this surcharge, had we not been so vigilant?"

He responded "We have refunded the charge."

We repeated the question, he repeated his answer.

I told him that repeating the answer would not change my question.

He asked if there was anything further the hotel could do for me.

I responded that no, they could not, but they could be assured I would have something unfavourable to write about them online. And, as promised, here it is.

If you are looking to travel to New Orleans, we HIGHLY recommend the city. This particular hotel? Not so much.

Unless and until this hotel finds a way to change our minds about it, we will never stay here again, nor recommend it to anyone we know.

We feel this is a very unfortunate experience as we have often stayed with this hotel chain in the past, with very pleasant results.

It is also extremely unfortunate as this hotel has a wealth of history in its walls and would be a true gem to the area and any visiting tourists IF it was properly and HONESTLY managed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank R T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Please accept our sincere apologies your recent experience. It is our utmost goal to provide excellent customer service and we thank you for your patience and understanding. Please contact our Front Office Manager, Rober Blatt, so we can speak further regarding your concerns. We thank you again and wish to speak with you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed here on a Saturday night before New Year's and had booked two rooms. Because of the holiday weekend, the prices on this hotel, as well as others in the area were very high. Didn't feel quite like the "good deal" that others had indicated in their reviews. Our family stayed in a suite that had two queen beds and a pull out couch, and mom and dad had a king bedroom. They put us on the same floor, but due to the different type of bedrooms they were not able to put us next to each other. The suite was at the front of the hotel facing Magazine Street. We were on the 4th floor and didn't have any trouble with noise.

It is a fun hotel because of it's history and the fact that they have updated it, but have left some of the original walls. While we were there, there were always fresh cookies downstairs at the front desk. My husband took advantage of the drink special at the bar and it was fun just to sit downstairs and relax. We didn't have internet, and I heard the ladies at the front desk getting numerous calls in which they advised that they were aware there was a problem, and that they were working on it.

Check in was at 3:00. We got there a little after two and the rooms were not ready. They took our phone numbers to call us when the rooms were ready and it ended up being a little closer to 4. Check out was at noon. We asked for an extra hour later, but they advised that because they were full and would need to get housekeeping into the room they could not accomodate the request, even if we just moved into one of the rooms.

My parents appreciated the coffee they had downstairs in the evening. The breakfast was pretty good with the standard eggs, cereal, fruit and waffles etc. They kept the items filled so there were no shortages. The location is great because you can walk to most things. We used their valet parking ($28 per day) and they were fast and courteous.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank CruisingOkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I want to say bad things, just so you will stay away, and it won't be busy the next time I go. We signed up for their membership online before we went. That got us a free upgrade to a suite. This place is both beautiful and clean. Breakfast is very good every morning, and the coffee bar is available 24 hours. The gym is small, but good machines. We took a taxi to/from the airport for $33 and walked to all the French quarter places we wanted. It's far enough away from Bourbon type streets that u don't get 24 hour noise, too. I saw complaints about the view, but, you ARE in a city, so expect to see either across a street into an office building, or alley. Bed is comfy, hot water is fast, pressure is great. The conference rooms looked typical. Everyone is friendly, and there are cookies at the door.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Barbi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The hotel was clean, and the staff super friendly. While the hotel isn't exactly in the French quarter, it might as well be: it's a two minute walk away, and it's close to some amazing restaurants and places to grab a drink.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Candace S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#46 of 167 in New Orleans
1,351 reviews
Central Business District
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
#82 of 167 in New Orleans
1,337 reviews
Central Business District
International House Hotel
International House Hotel
#75 of 167 in New Orleans
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter

Address: 315 Magazine St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $119 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currently closed for renovation and expansion; due to reopen in late 2017. With its home-like decor and plentiful amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, New Orleans French Quarter offers comfort and convenience in the heart of downtown New Orleans. Our historic hotel is comprised of seven 19th century buildings, giving it a charming, boutique feel that artfully blends old world charm with modern comforts. Our prime location on Magazine Street near the French Quarter places our guests close to many nearby New Orleans activities and attractions, including Bourbon Street and the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Country Inn And Suites New Orleans
Country Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing