We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool, Cool, Cool & so Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Ranked #28 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cool, Cool, Cool & so Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

After a transatlantic cruise we checked in the Country Inn & Suites in New Orleans. With a group of 7 people I was the one in charge of finding a place to stay while in the Crescent City. I've never had so many accolades in my life. Location was perfect, rooms where very comfy and clean and the staff helped make our stay even more enjoyable. Really can't think of a negative thing to say even to the price that didn't break the bank.
If you are going to New Orleans, try it you'll like it!

Room Tip: Rooms on the side my be a little quieter than the on we had on the front of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salty1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thanks for spreading the good news to the TripAdvisor world! Your feedback is very kind and I will make sure our entire staff is aware of your positive remarks. We do wish you the best and hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,762
    1,066
    221
    79
    54
See reviews for
805
1,251
118
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

A Hotel built from what was probably an old working building and retained some of the original features i.e. painted brick walls etc., However a very pleasant stay in a very comfortable room overlooking the main lobby.
Breakfast was vey good and included in the price.
The staff were always very courteous and helpful.
Situated within 10 minute walk of the French Quarter and the waterfront.
Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christopherbaker8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
We thank you for pointing out the great characterisitics of the unique Country Inn & Suites New Orleans French Quarter! Our hotel is a historical building and it's our goal to provide that same Country Inn & Suites feel, but with a taste of New Orleans. Thanks again and we do hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Indiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The location is ideal for accessing the French Quarter (less than 2 blocks away) but is quiet enough to let you sleep while the party continues nearby. Bus and trolley stops are very near, but the trolleys are shut down now for repairs/improvements. The aquarium, the butterfly garden, the casino, and two malls are within 5 minutes' walk.

The room was perfectly clean and had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. The two room suite layout is nice for people who don't all go to bed at the same time. There are TVs in each room, which was convenient,

The courtyard is beautiful and is a great place to enjoy the free breakfast. The pool is tiny but at least looks nice in the courtyard. There are washers and dryers available if you are staying a while. Both people we talked to at the concierge desk were knowledgeable, and friendly.

We enjoyed our stay and would recommend staying here for anyone looking for a quiet hotel near many of New Orleans' most popular attractions, but especially for families.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto,ontario,
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

my husband & I needed a 1 night stay prior to booking into our time share. We chose this hotel as it was very close by to where we were heading. We were greeted with such enthusiasm and warmth. Our room was very nice, 2 queen beds, and an excellent breakfast was included. We enjoyed drinks at the bar with John, the bartender, very nice chap. The location is ideal. Close to the French Quarter and many fine restaurants. We enjoyed Deanies, Mother's, Grand Isle, Palace cafe and Red Gravy, all with walking distance

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank o4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed in the Country Inn for 3 nights and it was excellent. Bedroom was a good size and very clean. Bed was comfortable and room service very good. It's 3 old buildings knocked into one, so is something different as it's not all on one level, and they've exposed some of the old brick work (in the room we had) and painted it which made the room different from every other hotel bedroom. It had character.

Breakfast was good - try the grits - they're disgusting!! Only criticism I have is that the bar is situated in the hallway, so having a drink there is a bit like sitting in a busy corridor - but if you like people watching, it's good.

The location was great - just across the road from the French Quarter, so really well placed for sight seeing. Short walk down to the Mississippi River with the paddle wheel boat. We were only there 3 nights, but could have done with a couple more nights to see more of what the Big Easy has to offer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colinhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just spent four days in New Orleans and it was the first stay at this hotel. The hotel has plently of space and friendly staff. The location was easy to get to by car and you are just two blocks from the French Quarter. The Concierge was awesome and the pool was heated for an evening swim! I would stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with our potential customers. It is great to see that your stay in New Orleans was enjoyable, and that you had the opportunity to enjoy our wonderful city. We hope to be able to provide a similar experience, the next time you return to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I have been to New Orleans many times both for pleasure and for numerous professional conferences over the years. This time my daughter had a conference and my husband and I went along to babysit for our grandson. My daughter picked this hotel as they are reasonably priced, just a few blocks from Canal St where her conference was held and offer a two room suite for just $30 a night more than a regular room and they offer a free breakfast. She, her husband and our grandson had a suite, we took a regular room with a king size bed down the hall. The suite had a nice size living room and she commented that they had a real crib for the room, not the playpen that some hotels provide. Our rooms were comfortable and very clean and both her suite and our standard hotel room had a refrigerator and a microwave. I opened the refrigerator expecting the usual one filled with things you had to pay for like so many hotel chains, but it was empty and ready for us to fill. The breakfasts were wonderful, with eggs, waffles, fruit salad, oatmeal, yogurt and applies and oranges. They offered tea bags and packages of cocoa for those who did not want coffee, milk or juice. The staff continuously refreshed the food. There were a lot of children staying there (the suites are a blessing for parents) but they were well behaved at breakfast because you walked in and got your food, no waiting.
The staff were very friendly and they seemed to be happy in their jobs. They cheerfully greet you, They keep fresh baked cookies at the front desk at all hours They have a bookcase of novels that the guests can borrow. When we would return from our excursions (walking distance to the aquarium and the insectorium and the children's museum and the mall, we felt like we were coming home. Next time I have a conference in New Orleans, my business partner and I will stay here,

Room Tip: If you have kids get the suite for just $30 a night more
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community. It is great to see that we were able to provide you with a quiet, relaxing atmosphere, and that we were also able to far exceed your expectations with our friendly, helpful staff as well. Hopefully we can once again provide you with the high level of service you have come to expect from us the next time you return to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#15 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 927 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,754 reviews
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Address: 315 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its home-like decor and plentiful amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, New Orleans French Quarter offers comfort and convenience in the heart of downtown New Orleans. Our historic hotel is comprised of seven 19th century buildings, giving it a charming, boutique feel that artfully blends old world charm with modern comforts. Our prime location on Magazine Street near the French Quarter places our guests close to many nearby New Orleans activities and attractions, including Bourbon Street and the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Country Inn And Suites New Orleans
Country Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing