We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will definitely stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Ranked #43 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I have been to New Orleans many times both for pleasure and for numerous professional conferences over the years. This time my daughter had a conference and my husband and I went along to babysit for our grandson. My daughter picked this hotel as they are reasonably priced, just a few blocks from Canal St where her conference was held and offer a two room suite for just $30 a night more than a regular room and they offer a free breakfast. She, her husband and our grandson had a suite, we took a regular room with a king size bed down the hall. The suite had a nice size living room and she commented that they had a real crib for the room, not the playpen that some hotels provide. Our rooms were comfortable and very clean and both her suite and our standard hotel room had a refrigerator and a microwave. I opened the refrigerator expecting the usual one filled with things you had to pay for like so many hotel chains, but it was empty and ready for us to fill. The breakfasts were wonderful, with eggs, waffles, fruit salad, oatmeal, yogurt and applies and oranges. They offered tea bags and packages of cocoa for those who did not want coffee, milk or juice. The staff continuously refreshed the food. There were a lot of children staying there (the suites are a blessing for parents) but they were well behaved at breakfast because you walked in and got your food, no waiting.
The staff were very friendly and they seemed to be happy in their jobs. They cheerfully greet you, They keep fresh baked cookies at the front desk at all hours They have a bookcase of novels that the guests can borrow. When we would return from our excursions (walking distance to the aquarium and the insectorium and the children's museum and the mall, we felt like we were coming home. Next time I have a conference in New Orleans, my business partner and I will stay here,

Room Tip: If you have kids get the suite for just $30 a night more
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community. It is great to see that we were able to provide you with a quiet, relaxing atmosphere, and that we were also able to far exceed your expectations with our friendly, helpful staff as well. Hopefully we can once again provide you with the high level of service you have come to expect from us the next time you return to New Orleans!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,525)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,484 - 2,490 of 3,525 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2012

I avoid big hotels, this isn't actually small, but definitely feels more personal and cosy than some of those huge hotels, or chain spots.
Concierge was great, I immediately found the kind of places I like to go + some pleasant surprises.
Hotels service was great, everyone was friendly, even cleaning people.
Rooms were big, had refrigerators which I always value.
Air conditioning was perhaps a bit noisy, but not too much.
Breakfast is complimentary, and even had oatmeal porridge, which just doesn't exist usually in the breakfast menus of US hotels. But these guys had it (besides your usual flakes, bagels, yogurts, waffels, eggs, sausages and stuff like that).
Certainly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norrmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you for the wonderful words! At Country Inn & Suites, we strive to provide the best customer service and we're so excited you were impressed. We wish you safe travels and hope to see you again next time you visit New Orleans!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Country Inn & Suites New Orleans is a great hotel choice when you visit New Orleans.

The location gives you easy access to any event in town. You're close to the French Quarter, the Super Dome, the Warehouse District, and for anywhere else - your steps away from a street car.

The staff is friendly and extremely helpful. This hotel has everything you need, but costs a third of what you might expect to pay at other hotels with the same amenities. I've stayed in most of the hotels in this area and when it's my choice, this is it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cris36602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The hotel is located a block from Canal street and is within walking distance to just about everything. The suite we stayed in was large, clean and well appointed. Although not a luxury hotel it was good value. The included breakfast was tasty and all items were fresh. The staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 917BillM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This hotel is in a great location, a few blocks off of the french quarter. The staff is very nice and helpful, they also have a vallet service that has a staff above and beyond (not sure what the young mans name was who was great but I think it was Brian). We had 3 rooms our room was the smallest. The bed was literally 6 inches from the wall on the one side. I needed to exit the bed from the end of the bed not the side!!! The other rooms were not like this. The building is an old warehouse and has great charm. The breakfast was above expectations and was different everyday. They have a small bar, which we never used it closes at 11:00pm. The same thing goes with the pool, or the dipping pool (it's very small) it also closes at 11:00pm. All in all it was very nice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wifun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I booked online. The price was $102 and the upgraded me to a king suite when I arrived for the same price. Parking is valet and cost $25 (which they don't tell you until you review your receipt at check-out). The rooms were small, but had a nice and unique feel to it...exposed bricks, comfortable, high ceilings. The service was extremely professional and friendly. The bar was between $5-$14. The served appetizer food at the bar for prices under $14. The served free breakfast, which was french toast, eggs, sausage, fruit, bagel, drinks. This place is in a good downtown location, but no parking, only valet. The water in the sink and shower was extremely STICKY/DRY....very weird and I could NOT shower at all!!!! Everything else was great!!!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
Thank Mozart1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The hotel was clean, the staff was pleasant, and the breakfast was fresh and good. Tami at the front desk was friendly and helpful. The young ladies serving breakfast were nice and courteous. Our room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The valet service was good (the young man who met us at the car was very polite). I enjoted having fresh complimentary cookies and hot coffee at the front desk 24 hours a day!! The hotel is beautiful but not "fancy." The city transit bus stop is right in front of the hotel. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The concierge was friendly and informative.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DockB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter

Address: 315 Magazine St., New Orleans, LA 70130-2424
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $119 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currently closed for renovation and expansion; due to reopen in late 2017. With its home-like decor and plentiful amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, New Orleans French Quarter offers comfort and convenience in the heart of downtown New Orleans. Our historic hotel is comprised of seven 19th century buildings, giving it a charming, boutique feel that artfully blends old world charm with modern comforts. Our prime location on Magazine Street near the French Quarter places our guests close to many nearby New Orleans activities and attractions, including Bourbon Street and the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Country Inn And Suites New Orleans
Country Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing