We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff made my stay great!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Ranked #43 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Brandon, Mississippi, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Staff made my stay great!”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Frequent New Orleans visitor; first time staying here: Being that this is a historic building, and near the French Quarter, I didn't expect a "traditional" Country Inn room. I could critique some things, but I won't... because your staff made a HUGE positive impression on me and my family! I really can't understate how courteous the staff was at this hotel. From the helpfulness of the valet (which I believe is a contract company), to the night desk clerk and breakfast attendant who both always greeted us when we passed through the lobby. (And just a note about breakfast: The fact that you can eat a good, free breakfast here offsets the cost of valet parking, which is something a lot of other hotels in this area can't say.) But the shining star was Brian, the houseman/maintenance person. I had a problem with cut in my computer cord, and asked for some electrical tape to patch it until I got home. It was an odd request, and I didn't even really think anyone would come up with a piece of electrical tape at 9 o'clock. But Brian came up, took a look at my computer and said "I can fix that." And he did. He didn't have to do that, and I didn't expect him to. But he did. And now I don't have to buy a new cord. Brian went above and beyond the call of duty, and really made me feel like he was doing it because he took pride in his work and wanted to help me as a guest of your hotel. Because of my experience here with your staff, I will recommend this hotel to friends and co-workers, because, when traveling to the French Quarter area with your family, one of the biggest concerns is safety, and I can assure anyone traveling to the French Quarter that the staff actually cares about you here. Great job, guys!!!

Room Tip: Take advantage of the free breakfast to offset the cost of valet, which is well worth the $$ when st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R0ssi_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,904
    1,197
    256
    96
    66
See reviews for
883
1,395
131
337
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
178 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Located a few blocks off the French Quarter, but very close to the trolley. Easy to hop on the trolley, and get to the French Market and Cafe Du Monde. This hotel provided a great concierge service, friendly staff. The hotel featured several buildings re-purposed into a charming place. Room was spacious and beds comfortable. Room had a mini fridge, which was nice to keep cold drinks. Valet parking available so didn't have to try and park on the street. Breakfast varied daily, which was nice to have choices.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indymacthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The rooms were very spacious and the beds very comfortable. There was ample room for the 5 of us . The location was excellent with a short walk to lot of the sites .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank RON J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley
Level Contributor
214 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This was our second stay at this hotel and again, they exceeded expectations. The room was clean and spacious, yet still had the charm of the original old building. Rooms have mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker. A really decent breakfast is served each morning, and coffee / tea is available 24/7. The location is a short walk one direction to Bourbon Street, the other direction gets you to the Riverwalk, and another direction to the Superdome. You are less than 1 mile to all the major sights and restaurants in town.

Room Tip: Ask about suite upgrades. If you have laundry, the laundry room is located on floor 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susieqa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The valet drivers (Josh & Noah) were polite and prompt at all times. The concierges were very kind and informative the entire weekend. The front desk handled every request we had with a smile and were more than helpful. Jonathan in the sales office managed our reservations (18 of them in total). He made sure we had everything we needed when we arrived and even checked on our satisfaction with the hotel and the city after we had left. We will certainly be staying at this hotel when we return to NOLA.

Room Tip: A suite overlooking Magazine Street (south side) have great views and quiet at the same time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

My husband, 10 month old daughter and I just returned from our visit to this hotel in NOLA. I chose it mainly based on the wonderful reviews on tripadvisor, plus its one of the very few hotels who will promptly answered my emails!
Great valet service, wonderful and sweet front desk staff and information desk. Big nice rooms, clean, free WIFI and a good breakfast with even coffee, snacks and fruit to go! Great location too!
I was a bit sad to leave this hotel and its friendly staff after four days.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stinsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We (me and my husband, and also my colleague) stayed in the Country Inn and Suites, French Quarter, New Orleans, during the Halloween week (Oct 27th-Nov 4th). We were there on holiday (few days) but also for work (a conference). The hotel was the ideal place to stay: a wonderful historical building, large rooms, free (and fast!) wifi connection everywhere, far enough from Decatur, Bourbon Street, Frenchmen Street, etc... if we wanted to hit bed early, but close enough if we wanted some action. The Country Inn and Suites was also very close to our conference location (Warehouse District), very close to public transport (bus stops) if we wanted to visit the Garden District, the park, the zoo, etc... All staff members were really kind, and it really felt like home staying there. As Europeans, we especially adored the wonderful breakfast buffet!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maya_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Address: 315 Magazine St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currently closed for renovation and expansion; due to reopen in late 2017. With its home-like decor and plentiful amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, New Orleans French Quarter offers comfort and convenience in the heart of downtown New Orleans. Our historic hotel is comprised of seven 19th century buildings, giving it a charming, boutique feel that artfully blends old world charm with modern comforts. Our prime location on Magazine Street near the French Quarter places our guests close to many nearby New Orleans activities and attractions, including Bourbon Street and the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Country Inn And Suites New Orleans
Country Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing