We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything you could ask for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Ranked #40 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Everything you could ask for”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2008

I recently spent time in New Orleans and during my stay, was booked at 3 different hotels (2 mega-hotels for conferences and the Country Inn & Suites on my own). Of the three places I stayed, the Country Inn & Suites came off the best.
A short walk from the French Quarter-close enough to be handy but far enough away to be blissfully quiet, even in a streetside room. I arrived early (just after noon) and the very accomodating staff put me in a room right away. And not just any room, an upgrade with a view of the 1880's vintage Exchange Building with its outside courtyard and fountain. The room overlooked Magazine Street but noise was not a problem for this person who does NOT reside in a city and is therefore not used to traffic noise.
The room was large, with high ceilings and huge windows that let in lots of light, but the blackout curtains blocked any light at night, for a peaceful sleep. The staff gives you a map to find your room, as the building is a bit convoluted, since it is several old warehouses strung together. The TV had more cable channels that I had at either of the mega-hotels I stayed at, and the cleanliness was evident everywhere. Breakfast buffet is above average for this type property and 100% more than I got at the mega-hotels, where there is a fee for everything. No fee for in room wifi here, that worked just fine.
It's less than 2 blocks to Canal Street and the edge of the French Quarter and the neighborhood felt very safe, even after dark. It's a couple of blocks from Harrah's-if you like that sort of thing, and about 4 blocks to the River. There is a small pool and lovely outside courtyard, which I didn't get to use due to the chilly weather. I'm sure it's very nice during the warmer months. Its a very interesting, convenient, clean and quiet place to stay and if they don't change, I would be happy to stay here again if I get the opportunity to return to New Orleans.

  • Liked — not a cookie cutter hotel
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mortravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,893
    1,189
    254
    94
    65
See reviews for
877
1,390
130
332
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (638)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2008

We booked this hotel for a one-night pre-cruise stay for about $150. It is charming with exposed bricks and beams. The service was good and the breakfast adequate. The bar, pool, and courtyard are nice but tiny. We walked comfortably (with children) to the waterfront and Bourbon street. There is alot of construction on other properties on the street and it will probably be a very nice street in a few more months.

  • Liked — Charming appearance
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank suzannsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2008

It's vanishingly rare nowadays to find a place that is reasonably priced, instantly comfortable, close to everything a tourist would want to see, and keeps every promise. The Country Inn & Suites New Orleans excels on each of these points.

Travelers of all types -- singles, families, seniors -- will appreciate the responsive, helpful staff; the comfort and quietude of the large rooms; the imaginative renovations which incorporate every modern convenience into a series of 19th-century warehouses, and the unbeatable location just outside the French Quarter (wise travelers seldom stay IN the Quarter: lodgings there are virtually always overpriced, undersized, and too close to the noise). Outstanding breakfast room, too, whose chicory coffee alone is worth the stay.

My only tiny quibbles were the occasional slowness of the elevators and the somewhat dim bathroom lighting. Otherwise, one cannot go wrong here.

A serious suggestion: every visitor should take the disaster tour. While the Quarter and downtown have been almost completely restored, much of the rest of the city still lays in abject ruin. Every American needs to see this -- and to ask himself what would happen if his hometown was similarly unfortunate.

  • Liked — General room comfort; location
  • Disliked — Occasionally slow elevators
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted Fry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona City, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2008

The hotel itself was nice, and the location was good, but the service was terrible. The breakfast buffet was horrible and with the exception of one member, the staff was not friendly.

The worst part of the whole experience was the valet parking. Since it was a busy time, a letter was left to ask you to call down for your car about 30 mins beforehand, which I did. However, after an hour of waiting (and watching cars clog up the whole street and never moving), i finally asked about my car. Over the course of the next 45-60 minutes i was told: your car is on the way, your car is at a different lot, your car is stuck in traffic, and what kind of car did you have. All this while people who have called down after are getting their cars.

After all of this, I received a letter in the mail postmarked 2-25-08 for a $40 fine for a traffic citation from 1-7-08. I was supposed to respond in by the hearing date of 1-22-08 to contest it, but of course i couldn't since i didn't know about it. So now I owe $80 w/ the late fee. The valet must have just removed the ticket, threw it away, and never told anyone. I have written to the New Orleans violation bureau, so we'll see if anything is done.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
4 Thank pumpkin8166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2008

I took a family trip to New Orleans and stayed at the Country Inn and Suites. All things considered, this hotel can not be beat.

The price is very reasonable, it is amazing to me how inexpensive this place is compared to how nice it is. It is architecturally interesting -- the hotel is made up of 5 renovated buildings and features very tall ceilings, exposed bricks and beams. The rooms are very large (we opted for an upgrade to a suite for $20 more a night). The beds were very comfortable and everything was very clean. It was clear that the employees care about their hotel.

At the hotel desk, they keep a constant supply of freshly baked cookies and they are wonderful. The continental breakfast in the morning is certainly above average and features freshly made waffles. The hotel also has a small shop where you can purchase convience items at normal prices (e.g. a package of tylenol for 75 cents and a water for $1). This is a nice convenience to have. The bar was small, but more than adequate. It also featured good happy hour specials. Same could be said for the pool, small but nice and more than adequate.

The hotel is located about a 5-10 minute walk to all of the areas of the French District you would want, including Bourbon St, Cafe DuMonde, the Central Grocery, the river front. It is also around the corner from Mother's Restaurant (which is a must). In the opposite direction is Emmeril's resaurant NOLA.

The area in and around the hotel is very safe and I never once questioned my safety. Actually, I was very pleasantly surprised how nice everything was in and around the hotel. Certainly very few traces of Hurricane Katrina here. (However, I do suggest a Katrina tour to see how much other parts of the city still need significant amounts of recovery).

Anyone thinking of heading down to New Orleans should definitely go. In many of the main areas a tourist would want to go, the only thing missing were the tourists. Help the city out with its recovery and take the trip!

  • Liked — Everything is within a 5-10 minute walk
  • Disliked — Everything is within a 5-10 minute walk
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Capitol_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2008

I am still at the hotel, leaving in the morning. I have had to study for graduate school papers, so the wireless internet has been a saving grace. The hotel is clean, charming, our room has gorgeous high ceilings, there is full service cable, HBO, etc. We have not had one problem. Mothers Restaurant is around the block (amazing bread pudding and Lousiana staples there). French Quarter 10 minute walk. I wish we could stay here longer, but just here on business.

  • Liked — Style of rooms
  • Disliked — Not applicable.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GoldfishNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2008

We stayed only 1 night after a cruise with Carnival. The hotel is great. It is very clean and yet has the rustic appeal of the old
business it used to be. Many of the buildings in the French Quarter are very run down do to their age. But this hotel was
completely renovated in 2004 and remains well maintained.
We had a room facing Magazine street which had 18ft ceilings and windows to match - beautiful. We were very close to
the French Quarter but in quiet area. We also felt very safe.
We ate at Cafe du Monde, Johnny Poboys, and Mothers.
All very good - only don't expect to be waited on . These are
old time diners which have become famous for their food.
Cleanliness is not a priority in this area - so go with that
in mind. Very glad we experienced New Orleans.
New Orleans is a must for every American.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and access to the French Quarter
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LilyOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#15 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#41 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Address: 315 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its home-like decor and plentiful amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, New Orleans French Quarter offers comfort and convenience in the heart of downtown New Orleans. Our historic hotel is comprised of seven 19th century buildings, giving it a charming, boutique feel that artfully blends old world charm with modern comforts. Our prime location on Magazine Street near the French Quarter places our guests close to many nearby New Orleans activities and attractions, including Bourbon Street and the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Country Inn And Suites New Orleans
Country Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing